Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Cases & Power

Old 08-11-12, 09:41 AM
OC3D Elite

Learning how to case mod - help

Hi all ~

Basically, I've bought a cheap £30 unbranded case to learn a little about how to cut and mod cases, but the side panels are extremly flexible. I only have acess to a drill and a jigsaw, and was wondering two things :

1) Is it safe/easy to cut a case with very flexible side panels?

2) What would be the easiest way to put a window in this thing with only a jigsaw and a drill?

I'm a complete noob at this, so it would also be helpful to drop me some suggestions as to what/where to get doble sides tape and acrylic

[OFFICIAL] OC3D Overclockers Club Member [#025]
Old 08-11-12, 10:18 AM
OC3D Crew

Quote:
Originally Posted by iBeInspire View Post
Hi all ~

Basically, I've bought a cheap £30 unbranded case to learn a little about how to cut and mod cases, but the side panels are extremly flexible. I only have acess to a drill and a jigsaw, and was wondering two things :

1) Is it safe/easy to cut a case with very flexible side panels?

2) What would be the easiest way to put a window in this thing with only a jigsaw and a drill?

I'm a complete noob at this, so it would also be helpful to drop me some suggestions as to what/where to get doble sides tape and acrylic

use 10mm double sided foam tape. about £2 on ebay. same place for acrylic.

as to the cutting. im still unskilled at that one. last one i did i found it very hard to make a clean cut,

i cheated with mine, i used a smoked acrylic, made the cut, and put the acrylic on the outside of the panel. hiding my botched cuts.

then i changed my system to a case with a window already in!!
Old 08-11-12, 11:21 AM
OC3D Crew

You can get double sided tape and foam tape from arts and hobby stores.