Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Cases & Power
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 03-09-12, 11:45 AM
Sharni117 Sharni117 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Smile Will my PSU be enough?

Hello everyone

Id like to ask if my PSU Wattage will be enough for my configuration.

CPU: i7-3770k
RAM: G.Skill 8GB 2133Mhz
GPU: Asus GTX 690
SSD: OCZ Vertex 4 128GB
HDD: WD Black 1TB
Cooling: Corsair H100
Case: HAF-X 942 (4 Fans)

PSU: Corsair TX850...

I will be overclocking my CPU and GPU to the max capabilities, I was just wondering if 850W will be enough or if I am cutting it too close?

THANK YOU

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-09-12, 11:54 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is online now
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,942
Your GPU should be ok with a 690 but I wouldnt overclock it tbf
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-09-12, 12:34 PM
SnW's Avatar
SnW SnW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,931
That is indeed going to be close mate !
__________________
sig update v1.1.

The Iron is the best antidepressant I have ever found. There is no better way to fight weakness than with strength. Once the mind and body have been awakened to their true potential, it’s impossible to turn back.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-09-12, 01:17 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Your GPU should be ok with a 690 but I wouldnt overclock it tbf
If the TX is any good, I would.

Thinking 350-450 on the card when I attempt to kill it, I'd like to think the rest of the rig *wouldn't* demand more than 400-500.

Not a recommendation btw, just saying I would.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-09-12, 01:50 PM
Ru5ty_t00l's Avatar
Ru5ty_t00l Ru5ty_t00l is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: underneath u
Posts: 720
once u spend a little fortune on this build go for a 1000W psu in order to be safe.
__________________


I'm a player Not a payer
I'm a Greek not a geek
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-09-12, 02:14 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is online now
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,942
850w is fine for a 690...... Ive already said that. My test rig with a 690 on maxichat didnt even touch 800w.
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-09-12, 03:05 PM
Aurus_OC Aurus_OC is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 734
850W is plenty for a 690 tbh. A friend of mine runs an i7 and a 680 on 500W bronze power supply. All overclocked that rig pulls a maximum of 360W from the wall.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-09-12, 03:35 PM
seumasbeathan seumasbeathan is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Isle Of Lewis
Posts: 3,488
As everyone has said, 850w is more than enough but don't overclock to much
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-09-12, 10:15 AM
Sharni117 Sharni117 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks for the advice everyone

Much Appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-09-12, 10:28 AM
seumasbeathan seumasbeathan is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Isle Of Lewis
Posts: 3,488
No problem We are always here to help
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power supply, psu

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:16 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.