Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 29-08-12, 01:46 PM
WooZ's Avatar
WooZ WooZ is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Latvia, Riga
Posts: 61
Can't overclock 2500K on Z77A-GD55

Hi.
I can't manually overclock 2500K on Z77A-GD55 but which OC Genie @4,2GHz all works perfectly fine.

When I try OC to 4.2GHz with 1.35 same as OC genie I can boot for first time and it is stable under 2h OCCT but after switching off system i can't even post.

All time first boot fine and stable but second time can't even post. I tried everything clear cmos, flashed bios to latest version, OC guides everything with no success.

My specs are in sign.

__________________
Processor - 2500K
Motherboard - MSI Z77A-GD55
Graphic card - Asus GTX560ti Top
Memory - Patriot Viper 3 1600MHz 8gb
Storage - Crucial M4 64gb and Seagate 320gb
Cooling - Noctua NH-D14
Power supply - Corsair GS600
Case - Fractal Design Define R3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-08-12, 01:56 PM
MadMarc's Avatar
MadMarc MadMarc is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 618
If you are happy with 4.2 GHz, just let OC Genie do the job, otherwise I'd first try with 4GHz and then go up from there, although you should easily get 4.2 on a 2500k with decent cooling
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-08-12, 02:17 PM
WooZ's Avatar
WooZ WooZ is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Latvia, Riga
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMarc View Post
If you are happy with 4.2 GHz, just let OC Genie do the job, otherwise I'd first try with 4GHz and then go up from there, although you should easily get 4.2 on a 2500k with decent cooling
At 4GHz first boot fine but second boot fail.
I even can OC to stable 5GHz max temp 75 but second boot fail and that happens with any manual OC.
__________________
Processor - 2500K
Motherboard - MSI Z77A-GD55
Graphic card - Asus GTX560ti Top
Memory - Patriot Viper 3 1600MHz 8gb
Storage - Crucial M4 64gb and Seagate 320gb
Cooling - Noctua NH-D14
Power supply - Corsair GS600
Case - Fractal Design Define R3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-08-12, 02:22 PM
yassarikhan786's Avatar
yassarikhan786 yassarikhan786 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,899
Have you disabled CPU PLL Voltage?
__________________
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3) || CPU: i7 2600k || Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 780 Ti ACX || Memory: 16GB - Mushkin Blackline 8GB + Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB || SSD's + HDD's: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS + Programs) + Caviar Black 2TB (Games + Storage) || CPU Cooling: Noctua NH-D14 || Power Supply: BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P9 750W || Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D || Monitor(s): Dell U2410 + HP w1907v

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-08-12, 02:48 PM
Josh Weston Josh Weston is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 3,520
1.35 should be enough 4.8GHz, let alone 4.2
What are you using to overclock? Are you going through the UEFI, or are you using one of the software implementations MSI give you?
Also, have you got the latest BIOS?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29-08-12, 03:05 PM
WooZ's Avatar
WooZ WooZ is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Latvia, Riga
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by yassarikhan786 View Post
Have you disabled CPU PLL Voltage?
No. But I will try. Now its working but now when I press power button it will try post then shutdown and with second try it boot to windows.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Weston View Post
1.35 should be enough 4.8GHz, let alone 4.2
What are you using to overclock? Are you going through the UEFI, or are you using one of the software implementations MSI give you?
Also, have you got the latest BIOS?
Through the UEFI.
Yes. I have 1.5 version.
__________________
Processor - 2500K
Motherboard - MSI Z77A-GD55
Graphic card - Asus GTX560ti Top
Memory - Patriot Viper 3 1600MHz 8gb
Storage - Crucial M4 64gb and Seagate 320gb
Cooling - Noctua NH-D14
Power supply - Corsair GS600
Case - Fractal Design Define R3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29-08-12, 03:19 PM
Perturabo Perturabo is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Guildford
Posts: 391
I would check that your overclock is actually applying on your first boot. Run Pi fast to check that it goes faster at 4/4.2/5 GHz. It may be that the OC just doesn't apply until the second boot for some reason, making it appear stable when it isnt.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29-08-12, 03:41 PM
Josh Weston Josh Weston is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 3,520
It may be worth reflashing your BIOS. I had some instability issues when I flashed my BIOS to the latest one, another reflash and I was sorted.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29-08-12, 04:14 PM
WooZ's Avatar
WooZ WooZ is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Latvia, Riga
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perturabo View Post
I would check that your overclock is actually applying on your first boot. Run Pi fast to check that it goes faster at 4/4.2/5 GHz. It may be that the OC just doesn't apply until the second boot for some reason, making it appear stable when it isnt.
Disabling PLL voltage I can boot with second attempt.
Super PI 8M results:
Stock speed - 1m 58.960s
OC Genie 4.2 GHz - 1m 44.100s
Manual OC 4.7GHz - 1m 33.760s
Manual OC 4.7GHz 2nd boot - 1m 33.700s

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Weston View Post
It may be worth reflashing your BIOS. I had some instability issues when I flashed my BIOS to the latest one, another reflash and I was sorted.
I already re flashed bios but I can try again.
__________________
Processor - 2500K
Motherboard - MSI Z77A-GD55
Graphic card - Asus GTX560ti Top
Memory - Patriot Viper 3 1600MHz 8gb
Storage - Crucial M4 64gb and Seagate 320gb
Cooling - Noctua NH-D14
Power supply - Corsair GS600
Case - Fractal Design Define R3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2500k, z77a-gd55

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 10:19 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.