Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-11-15, 12:40 AM
Chubza Chubza is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Gosport
Posts: 3
Send a message via Skype™ to Chubza
Problems with my new build.

Hi everyone, ill try keep this short.

I just upgraded my rig to skylake as I was still running ivy bridge. New specs are:

Intel i5 6600k
ROG Maximus Hero
16gb Corsair LPX RAM at 2666mhz
Corsair h100iGTX
Palit 960 SuperJetStream.
Samsung 850 evo M.2 SSD
Corsair rm 750w PSU

I already had the GPU and PSU running on my previous build and everything was fine, however since upgrading to skylake all of my newer games seem to be unplayable.

I can play older titles like AC Brotherhood fine but even going as far back as tomb raider I'm getting awful frame drops. First noticed it playing Phantom Pain and now the problem has persisted and ruined my Fallout 4 launch day.

I can play for maybe 30 minutes at 60fps, all games optimised by Geforce experience, after that the fps counter reads on average 45 but seems like its less than 20. The audio and video goes extremely choppy and renders most games unplayable now. I have checked my temps and everything is cool and no thermal throttling. I put my cpu back to stock and never overclocked my GPU anyway.

The M.2 is running in pcie mode but that uses the bottom x4 slot anyway so shouldnt affect it. I tried running these games on medium settings and it still happens.

Any help would be massively appreciated.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-15, 05:33 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,193
First off, are GPU drivers updated? Secondly, BIOS the latest version?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-15, 05:39 AM
Chubza Chubza is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Gosport
Posts: 3
Send a message via Skype™ to Chubza
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
First off, are GPU drivers updated? Secondly, BIOS the latest version?
I have the most recent "game ready driver" I made sure I got this for fallout 4. Havn't checked bios but i'll do that now. I just had a good hour and a half of gaming before it started acting strangely. FPS reads at 55 but is playing like its at 20 again. Checked temps and everything is well below 50 degrees.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-15, 05:56 AM
Master&Puppet's Avatar
Master&Puppet Master&Puppet is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: London
Posts: 2,058
Have you checked your gpu and CPU usage? Id start by seeing if everything is working up as it should do and if they are find out what is working flat out and causing an issue.

Personally I recommend hwinfo 64
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-15, 06:02 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,193
If not you could try to uninstall and reinstall the GPU drivers the advanced way to rule that out if no BIOS updates were found. It's possible that upgrading to Skylake with the same drivers messed it up somehow.

You should check your monitoring software to see if the GPU usage is at or near 100%, if it's not it's either driver related or hardware related. Should also make sure no overclocks are enabled to ensure it's not unstable or anything for the purpose of ruling out one more thing.

edit: M&P beat me to it
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-15, 06:17 AM
Chubza Chubza is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Gosport
Posts: 3
Send a message via Skype™ to Chubza
Didn't OC my gpu and ive set my cpu to stock. Monitoring software is showing things are pretty normal, gpu winding up to pretty much bang on 100% with decent temps and cpu hovering between 35 and 40 from what i can see. Did the motherboard bios update and launched MGS 5 (which was completely unplayable from massive frame hopping) and that stuck at 59 fps. As I said with fallout though, the issue comes after a fair amount of gameplay so difficult to do definitive tests. The thing thats getting me confused is all the hardware appears to be solid and working with the monitoring software even when the frame drops are occuring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
6600k, gtx960, new build, skylake

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:05 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.