Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 14-01-14, 01:58 PM
Hails13's Avatar
Hails13 Hails13 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 35
Multi monitor build

Hi all,

I have the task of building a flight simulator for my air cadet squadron, we are looking at probably 5 or 6 monitors (1920x1080).
Budget is not too much of an issue as we can fund-raise but keeping the price down a bit will make life easier.

The sim will be running FSX with a few add-ons (REX4, ORBX England, add-on aircraft)

I'm looking at an i7 4770, though it is a little pricey so if anyone has any experience running FSX on an 8 core AMD CPU then I would like to hear it.

In terms of graphics cards I'm thinking that crossfire/sli will be the route to go down. This is really where I want some advice as I run 2 monitors on a gtx760 (previously a 5770) but usually I only game on one. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what card(s) would be best. (I'm thinking probably AMD for ease and cost of multi monitors (possibly a pair of 7970s?))

Thanks for any help

__________________

NEUTRON: i5 3570k @4.5GHz, Asus z77 m-itx board, GTX 760 Windforce, CM 550W PSU, CM Hyper 212+ Cooler...All squeezed into a modded white Bitfenix Prodigy
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook - i5 3317U, HD4000 Graphics, 32GB SSD mated with a 500GB HDD
http://80000ftandclimbing.blogspot.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-01-14, 02:32 PM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is offline
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,216
The issue is with FSX is that it is a bit too old to run well on AMD cpus due to core usage. Go for an i5, you can get a non k one as you won't be overclocking. I'm pretty sure its not too graphically intensive either so a couple of 670s should be fine. Its had alot of patches since release that probably fixed the gpu/cpu usage issues. They've stopped patching it a while ago so I'm not too sure that AMD stuff will work well with this game, hence the nvidia/intel recommendations.
__________________
Rig: i7 [email protected]|2x8gb HyperX Fury|Intel z97-AR|Corsair H75| 2x Nvidia 1070 founders edition|Superflower leadex 750W gold|Inwin 904| 970 EVO 500GB m.2|512GB evo 840| Crucial MX 500 500GB|ASUS MG279Q +Acer S240HL| Windows 10 pro, 8.1 pro| Kubuntu LTS
Audio: Silverstone EB01-E+EB03+DT 770 Pro 250Ω+Samson SAGOMIC
Ducky Legend (cherry red)+Zowie AM-FG
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-01-14, 02:45 PM
Hails13's Avatar
Hails13 Hails13 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 35
Thanks Barnsley,

I run FSX on my home rig and with add-ons it uses all of my overclocked i5 (all cores at 100%) which is why I was thinking i7 but I shall bear that in mind.

As for graphics I shall have a play with my 760 on 2 monitors and see how well it holds up.
__________________

NEUTRON: i5 3570k @4.5GHz, Asus z77 m-itx board, GTX 760 Windforce, CM 550W PSU, CM Hyper 212+ Cooler...All squeezed into a modded white Bitfenix Prodigy
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook - i5 3317U, HD4000 Graphics, 32GB SSD mated with a 500GB HDD
http://80000ftandclimbing.blogspot.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-01-14, 02:49 PM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is offline
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hails13 View Post
Thanks Barnsley,

I run FSX on my home rig and with add-ons it uses all of my overclocked i5 (all cores at 100%) which is why I was thinking i7 but I shall bear that in mind.

As for graphics I shall have a play with my 760 on 2 monitors and see how well it holds up.
That is weird, I can't find much about core usage online ( my experience of FSX was on a core 2 duo) but I'd be suprised if it can use more than 4 cores. If it can then you probably should get a 8350, although the performance increase won't be that much better. if it only uses 5 I'd almost be tempted to go for a 6350...
__________________
Rig: i7 [email protected]|2x8gb HyperX Fury|Intel z97-AR|Corsair H75| 2x Nvidia 1070 founders edition|Superflower leadex 750W gold|Inwin 904| 970 EVO 500GB m.2|512GB evo 840| Crucial MX 500 500GB|ASUS MG279Q +Acer S240HL| Windows 10 pro, 8.1 pro| Kubuntu LTS
Audio: Silverstone EB01-E+EB03+DT 770 Pro 250Ω+Samson SAGOMIC
Ducky Legend (cherry red)+Zowie AM-FG
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-01-14, 03:26 PM
Hails13's Avatar
Hails13 Hails13 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 35
After playing for a bit an i5 is probably enough, it may well just be the amount i have going on in the background usually and the 760 is easily handling both monitors. That said my i5 is far from standard when it comes to clock speeds and an oc isn't really an option

760 seems to be able to handle 2 monitors nicely, I hooked up an old monitor that I have which is 1280x1024 so nvidia surround had everything running in 3840x1024 which looked weird and the frames were definatly lower, a 4gb card may help as i only have a 2gb card.

The other option is 6 monitors from 1 card though i don't think it's a good idea
__________________

NEUTRON: i5 3570k @4.5GHz, Asus z77 m-itx board, GTX 760 Windforce, CM 550W PSU, CM Hyper 212+ Cooler...All squeezed into a modded white Bitfenix Prodigy
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 14z Ultrabook - i5 3317U, HD4000 Graphics, 32GB SSD mated with a 500GB HDD
http://80000ftandclimbing.blogspot.co.uk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
crossfire, flight sim, graphics cards, multiple

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.