Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 30-11-13, 04:01 PM
panzerschreckGER panzerschreckGER is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Thanks!

Thanks for your suggestions, guys! I finally decided on going with the SSD's as data storage and got a 7990! I also changed the PSU for a 600W bequiet Straight Power (non-modular)!

I guess a build-log will follow soon

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30-11-13, 04:22 PM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
With a dual-GPU card like the 7990 you're going to need some more power than that tbh. A good quality 750 Watt unit should do.

AMD website:
Quote:
- 750W (or greater) power supply with two 150W 8-pin PCI Express power connectors recommended
- 1000W (or greater) power supply with four 150W 8-pin PCI Express power connectors recommended for AMD CrossFire™ technology in dual mode.

NOTE: Minimum recommended system power supply wattage is based on the specific graphics card and the typical power requirements of other system components. Your system may require more or less power. OEM and other pre-assembled PCs may have different power requirements.
A Corsair AX760 would be perfect, but it doesn't *need* to be. As long as the PSU is a maximum of 160mm long and of good quality.
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30-11-13, 05:45 PM
panzerschreckGER panzerschreckGER is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Thanks!

Oh, thanks for the heads-up!
I'm going to get an AXi760 then It matches with the H100i and also works with Corsair Link, which is a nice additional feature!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 30-11-13, 05:49 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,195
Better off with a regular ax760 tbh. Corsair Link isn't worth the additional money for a PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 30-11-13, 05:59 PM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 7,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Better off with a regular ax760 tbh. Corsair Link isn't worth the additional money for a PSU.
Agreed.
The regular AX760 is also a rebranded Seasonic unit where the AXi series have a different OEM iirc.
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
graphics card, high value, itx, ssd, video editing

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:21 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.