Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-11-13, 02:57 AM
SirThorfinn SirThorfinn is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Question Looking at the R9 280x; New CPU too?

Hey, I've been thinking about getting a new GPU this holiday season because I feel I'm due. Currently I'm using dual 5770's. They have lasted me a long time and have played games great in the past but since the new consoles are coming out and games are going to be getting prettier and more demanding I thought I'd upgrade to the new 280x. Great price for what you get and I actually like what AMD has going for them. I had a few concerns however as well.

My CPU isn't anything new so I wasn't sure if it may be smart to just do an entirely new build to go along and I only have a 630 watt PSU. If I can get away with it I'd like to not have to do that though. Just curious of any bottle necks that may come up.

My current set up:
AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Overclocked to 4.1Ghz
Corsair H80 Water Cooler
16 GB of 1333 RAM
Dual Radeon 5770's in Crossfire
3 HDD's ~1.6 TB Tot.
630 Watt PSU

So do you guys think I could survive on my current build, swapping out my GPU's for a 280x and nothing else? Or should I think about upgrading more than just that? Thanks!

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-11-13, 05:40 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,295
What PSU is it? Brand and model? If it is anything decent it will do fine.

CPU could keep up with a 280x but you would see more performance increase upgrading it but not nearly to the extent of a 280x over the 5770's.

Also is your memory rated 1333mhz? Most ddr3 kits come standard as 1600mhz.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-13, 05:11 PM
SirThorfinn SirThorfinn is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
What PSU is it? Brand and model? If it is anything decent it will do fine.

CPU could keep up with a 280x but you would see more performance increase upgrading it but not nearly to the extent of a 280x over the 5770's.

Also is your memory rated 1333mhz? Most ddr3 kits come standard as 1600mhz.
It's a Xion XON-630P12N Power Supply. Came with a case I had a long time ago and never had problems with it so I kept it. And yes my memory is ddr3 and rated for 1333Mhz. It was some cheap RAM I got from Microcenter.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-13, 06:00 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 16,034
Your CPU should be fine for now. You'll definitely get more benefit from a GPU upgrade.

Can't say how long your CPU will remain good enough for gaming though.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-11-13, 09:29 PM
SirThorfinn SirThorfinn is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Watsyerproblem View Post
Your CPU should be fine for now. You'll definitely get more benefit from a GPU upgrade.

Can't say how long your CPU will remain good enough for gaming though.
Okay, cool. Thanks for the response. I just wasn't totally sure if there might be some bottle necking or not and figured you guys would know more than me, thanks. I'll probably wait on building an entirely new system when it becomes a problem
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-11-13, 04:06 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirThorfinn View Post
Okay, cool. Thanks for the response. I just wasn't totally sure if there might be some bottle necking or not and figured you guys would know more than me, thanks. I'll probably wait on building an entirely new system when it becomes a problem
I would be tempted to get a new PSU if possible. Since your psu seems to be from a lower quality brand, if it still works then keep it though.

After a GPU upgrade a CPU upgrade IMO would then make you have a complete system that is ready for any modern game.. Also an ssd would drastically make your system far more responsive.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-11-13, 01:13 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,421
Wouldn't mind betting, the biggest increase in performance you'll see, at the best price, would be to invest in a solid state drive.
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amd phenom ii, cpu, gpu, r9 280x, radeon

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 04:10 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.