Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 02-10-13, 11:46 AM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,717
What brand is the psu fella

__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-10-13, 11:48 AM
TheHaloBuild TheHaloBuild is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Oh it's Cooler Master. They are pretty good so I think it will be allright
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-10-13, 12:01 PM
notcool notcool is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 320
Yea that 850 is more than enough.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-10-13, 12:24 PM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,717
It can depend which ones, but it should be alright..
__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-10-13, 01:20 PM
notcool notcool is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 320
If it's an 80+ gold as he says it should be one of their premium range ones, rather than the more budget lines they do.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-10-13, 01:25 PM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by notcool View Post
If it's an 80+ gold as he says it should be one of their premium range ones, rather than the more budget lines they do.
I'm sorry but you obviously don't know a lot about PSU's fella.
__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-10-13, 01:32 PM
TheHaloBuild TheHaloBuild is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
I took a look at ageing in time along with the power requirement of two GTX 680's on a PSU calculator, seems it will be enough for now. However if I need to upgrade to 1000W later for any reason I'll definitely do it.

I'll order the 680 and if I need another PSU I'll just get another Cooler Master.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-10-13, 02:03 PM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,717
and 850/860 w psu is more than enough for two 680's don't waste your money on a 1kw psu.

FYI: If you do get another PSU, don't bother with coolermaster, get a corsair
__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-10-13, 04:13 PM
Damien c Damien c is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North West UK
Posts: 1,433
I was debating getting rid of my 680's and going for 2 780's but I have decided to wait as at the moment, nothing that I play is pushing my cards really.

If I want to record then I can record at 60fps quite easily without dropping the detail settings in games.

I think at the moment, unless you are going for resolutions above 1080p then sticking with a 680 and getting a 2nd one and running sli is a wise choice, rather than spending around £1000 on gpu's when you really don't need to just yet.

I am waiting for Maxwell before I think of upgrading my cards, and that is why I have bought waterblocks for them.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-10-13, 09:35 PM
TheHaloBuild TheHaloBuild is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien c View Post
I was debating getting rid of my 680's and going for 2 780's but I have decided to wait as at the moment, nothing that I play is pushing my cards really.

If I want to record then I can record at 60fps quite easily without dropping the detail settings in games.

I think at the moment, unless you are going for resolutions above 1080p then sticking with a 680 and getting a 2nd one and running sli is a wise choice, rather than spending around £1000 on gpu's when you really don't need to just yet.

I am waiting for Maxwell before I think of upgrading my cards, and that is why I have bought waterblocks for them.
Thanks for chiming in. Another 680 definitely seems like the wiser choice so I've ordered one and it should be arriving on friday. I think I'll need to upgrade my cpu at the time I get the next graphics cards, so I'll probably get another mobo when the time comes so maybe in a year and a half or 2 years. Maybe by that time intel will stop using cheap thermal paste in the cpu ... maybe

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB View Post
and 850/860 w psu is more than enough for two 680's don't waste your money on a 1kw psu.

FYI: If you do get another PSU, don't bother with coolermaster, get a corsair
I'd only really get another PSU if I upgraded my mobo, I might not even need another one then if power draw if less on some new cpu's however I don't see that happening.

Also thanks for the suggestion about Corsair PSU's, I've never really looked into them before however when I'm buying my next PSU (whenever that happens to be) I'll definitely have a look at some Corsair gear.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
680, 780, gtx, recording, sli

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:34 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.