Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Cases & Power
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 25-01-13, 01:14 PM
shadow.nl13 shadow.nl13 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 16
1 keyboard and mouse to 2 PC/Macs?

hi guys,

I couldn't seem to find a peripheral section on the forum, if one exist can just point in the right direction.

Question: how do i use one keyboard and mouse with two computers (1 PC & Mac) without using a hardware switch (if possible)?
  • I do not plan on using both computers at the same time (happy with one monitor).
  • keyboard is a k90 and may be getting a razer naga epic.
  • hardware and software solutions welcomed

At the very least is there a way i can get the keyboard shared between the computers?
May find another work around for the mouse.

Thanks guys.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-01-13, 01:19 PM
yassarikhan786's Avatar
yassarikhan786 yassarikhan786 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,899
Try this:

http://synergy-foss.org/
__________________
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3) || CPU: i7 2600k || Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 780 Ti ACX || Memory: 16GB - Mushkin Blackline 8GB + Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB || SSD's + HDD's: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS + Programs) + Caviar Black 2TB (Games + Storage) || CPU Cooling: Noctua NH-D14 || Power Supply: BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P9 750W || Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D || Monitor(s): Dell U2410 + HP w1907v

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-01-13, 01:29 PM
shadow.nl13 shadow.nl13 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by yassarikhan786 View Post
That would require both computers to be on at the same time since it is shared over the network and i only have one monitor.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-01-13, 01:31 PM
yassarikhan786's Avatar
yassarikhan786 yassarikhan786 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,899
Ah, I guess you're right. I'm not familiar with the Mac OS, but if it was two Windows PC's you could have used the Remote Desktop Service.

Do you want to access the Mac from your PC (I'm assuming you do)?
__________________
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3) || CPU: i7 2600k || Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 780 Ti ACX || Memory: 16GB - Mushkin Blackline 8GB + Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB || SSD's + HDD's: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS + Programs) + Caviar Black 2TB (Games + Storage) || CPU Cooling: Noctua NH-D14 || Power Supply: BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P9 750W || Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D || Monitor(s): Dell U2410 + HP w1907v

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-01-13, 01:35 PM
shadow.nl13 shadow.nl13 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by yassarikhan786 View Post
Ah, I guess you're right. I'm not familiar with the Mac OS, but if it was two Windows PC's you could have used the Remote Desktop Service.

Do you want to access the Mac from your PC (I'm assuming you do)?
Actually i don't.
i want them completely interdependent from one another, besides the keyboard and mouse sharing

My PC is for gaming,
while i use my Mac mini for work.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-01-13, 01:39 PM
yassarikhan786's Avatar
yassarikhan786 yassarikhan786 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,899
Well the only option you have without a KVM switch is a Remote Desktop capability.

How about this?: http://www.trickyways.com/2010/06/ho...s-mac-from-pc/
__________________
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3) || CPU: i7 2600k || Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 780 Ti ACX || Memory: 16GB - Mushkin Blackline 8GB + Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB || SSD's + HDD's: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS + Programs) + Caviar Black 2TB (Games + Storage) || CPU Cooling: Noctua NH-D14 || Power Supply: BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P9 750W || Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D || Monitor(s): Dell U2410 + HP w1907v

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25-01-13, 01:47 PM
shadow.nl13 shadow.nl13 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by yassarikhan786 View Post
Well the only option you have without a KVM switch is a Remote Desktop capability.

How about this?: http://www.trickyways.com/2010/06/ho...s-mac-from-pc/
but again doesn't that require both computers to be on at the same time?

are there any good automatic KMV out there?
or something similar which is only USB, since my monitor has dual inputs and i wouldn't use the video?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25-01-13, 01:54 PM
yassarikhan786's Avatar
yassarikhan786 yassarikhan786 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,899
Yes it does. I understand what you mean now lol. I don't have much experience with KVM switches so I'm not sure if they allow sharing of peripherals whilst one of the machines is off.
__________________
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3) || CPU: i7 2600k || Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 780 Ti ACX || Memory: 16GB - Mushkin Blackline 8GB + Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB || SSD's + HDD's: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS + Programs) + Caviar Black 2TB (Games + Storage) || CPU Cooling: Noctua NH-D14 || Power Supply: BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P9 750W || Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D || Monitor(s): Dell U2410 + HP w1907v

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25-01-13, 02:10 PM
shadow.nl13 shadow.nl13 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by yassarikhan786 View Post
Yes it does. I understand what you mean now lol. I don't have much experience with KVM switches so I'm not sure if they allow sharing of peripherals whilst one of the machines is off.
no problem and thanks for trying.

i would have thought there would be something out there as simple as some sort of usb switch would work since i don't want to use both computers at the same time. i'm struggling to find something like that though
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
keyboard, mouse, multiple, peripheral, switch

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:20 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.