Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 30-11-18, 07:50 PM
thecat666 thecat666 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 13
Any Dual pump loops

Evening all Uk time, does anyone have pictures of dual pump water cooling loops? I would really like to see pics of dual pumps with 1 cpu only loops if possible. Plus, any guides or words to follow if I wanted to make a dual pump set up, I would like to build a dual pump with separate res or 2 lol with a 360 radiator all for one cpu.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-11-18, 08:52 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,136
You can just have them next to each other in the loop if you'd like.

Res above pump-> pump1->pump2>etc
__________________
The Cost of Freedom -
"A price payed gladly, in the hopes that the free, live better."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-18, 05:18 AM
tannji tannji is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 101
I dont have much handy atm, but I have a dual pump setup running through a 9700X, 1080ti, and 2 560mm rads. I do not know what you need to know or why you want to go dual. For me, it was redundancy and the ability to run at lower rpms to keep things quieter. If a pump dies I am fine until I am able to slap in a spare. I am using the EKWB Revo Dual D5, wirth a res combo made specifically for the dual pump body.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-18, 09:46 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 4,462
While it's your choice and your money etc. But dual pump for just 1 CPU is the most absolute waste of money you can have for water cooling.

The purpose of multiple pumps is mainly to counter complex loops with alot of psi resistance, high count of fittings and rotaries, many waterblocks and/or redudancy.

I need to find the video, but I have seen one trying what you want. There was such little resistance in a basic simple loop that the MCP35x x2, managed to push the hard tubes out of their "very secure" bitspower fittings since they provide a whopping amount of head pressure at 100% pwm. The "newbie" in the video set them to max to bleed the air out of the loop. Don't think he realised how strong they were.



I use this. And even then its going through 3 radiators, 3 waterblocks and a plethora of angled fittings, yet only needs to be set at 30% pwm.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-12-18, 02:20 PM
Kaapstad's Avatar
Kaapstad Kaapstad is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Skaro visiting family
Posts: 1,911
I don't understand why people want to use two separate loops in a build.

Using a single loop is cheaper and makes far better use of the radiator space available.
__________________
OC3D Overclockers Club Member
#041

GTX 960 owner and proud of it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-12-18, 09:30 PM
thecat666 thecat666 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 13
NeverBackDown, thank you for taking the time to comment. Tannji also thanks for your comments, Warchild, cheers for that, Kaapstad thanks for your words. I am still gleaning some do’s and don’ts lol but as stated it would be my own choice but after having a good read a round, I see its not a good idea for just a cpu. I don’t play games on my pc I just download through news groups mainly and watch through a bog-standard graphics card to my rather large tv lol. I’m more into having a decent fast overclocked pc more than anything, and my next new rig I am wanting to be doing 5ghz plus either using a full custom loop which I am a bit scared of building lol but will give it a go using soft tubing or an Aio 360 rig, Mmmm just watched over an hour’s worth of petg tubing and I will probably buy some over the xmas new year and practice and if it’s any good I may change to hard tubing.
Cpu wise I will be using one of these I think, i5 9600K, i5 8600K, Socket 1151 Coffee Lake Processors or an i7-7740X which all of the cpu’s can be had from £250 and under
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-12-18, 08:11 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 4,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaapstad View Post
I don't understand why people want to use two separate loops in a build.

Using a single loop is cheaper and makes far better use of the radiator space available.
Just comes down to Aesthetics. It's been proven that the temp different under load is negligible.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-12-18, 09:17 AM
Kaapstad's Avatar
Kaapstad Kaapstad is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Skaro visiting family
Posts: 1,911
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
Just comes down to Aesthetics. It's been proven that the temp different under load is negligible.
If a can get 4 Titans and a hugely overclocked 7980XE to run using the same bathwater without effecting the temps most other setups should be able to do the same.

So yes I totally agree it is down to aesthetics.
__________________
OC3D Overclockers Club Member
#041

GTX 960 owner and proud of it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:28 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.