Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 24-04-20, 03:05 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,539
Robs First Watercooling Loop

So, I am almost at the point where I have the required bits and bobs to make my first custom loop.
This is all being done on an extremely tight budget.
My checklist:
  • CPU block - EK Supremacy EVO £33.30
  • Rad - 240 slim copper - £8.50
  • Reservoir - EK 240
  • Pump - EK DDC
  • Pump top - EK £45.00 pump/top/res combo and drain valve
  • Tubing - ClearFlex 60 Tubing 12.7/9.5mm (3/8"ID) 2 meters (dispatched) £3.60
  • Fittings - Monsoon 13/10mm Fittings Six Pack Blue (dispatched) £14.40
Total spend so far £104.80

I think this is all I need, and hope 2 meters tubing is enough.
I plan at some point to upgrade the rad to/or add a 360 at some point I know 6 fittings is keeping things tight but that all they had in Blue.
Will be putting this into the Entho Pro TG, as SWMBO let me spend a small bit at OCUK who did a cracking £50 deal

Wish list:
  • 360 Rad
  • Graphics card worth cooling
  • Temp gauge
  • Hardline fittings
  • PETG or glass tube
  • Maybe some rgb goodness

__________________
ASUS ROG Crosshair VII wifi | Ryzen 5 3600 | Custom Loop | Patriot Viper Steel 4133 @ 3600 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung 500gb nvme | Samsung 1Tb nvme | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Barracuda 1tb storage | Toshiba 1Tb HDD | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho Pro Tempered Glass | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-04-20, 03:09 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,233
Don't forget to clean the loop (rads and everything else) with white vinegar. Distilled. Yes, it stinks, but it's far safer than using Mayhems acid. Then flush it all out with distilled water, and put on a warm source (I put mine in the boiler cupboard) and let it dry.

You will be amazed what comes out. Especially on used parts.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-04-20, 04:10 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 6,402
What you have is enough. But any tight angles and you will have to use excess tubing length to compensate for the arching angles which could be countered with rotaries. That said, your tubing might kink at tight angles so careful. 2 meter is plenty for you though since you arent cooling a GPU.

Your DDC might be a little noisy, but if its PWM you can run it at just 30% and its still efficient, as well as quiet enough. I have 2 of them and noise wise I prefer the D5, but for pressure and restriction, you cant compete with DDC.

Personally I just flushed my rads with Water. It is a little frowned upon but I use coolants with biocide etc plus did the same as Alien with rapid drying. In my case I used my GF blow dryer on maximum heat. It is very important you get the flux out of the new rads, or you will experience a blockage on your first test loop.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-04-20, 04:54 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,539
the rad is 2nd hand but will flush, just realised I will need a coolant lol so will peruse some this evening.
Will be stripping the cpu block down also to give it a good clean.
__________________
ASUS ROG Crosshair VII wifi | Ryzen 5 3600 | Custom Loop | Patriot Viper Steel 4133 @ 3600 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung 500gb nvme | Samsung 1Tb nvme | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Barracuda 1tb storage | Toshiba 1Tb HDD | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho Pro Tempered Glass | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-04-20, 05:03 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,233
At one point I built a cleaning station out of a bottle and a £8 pump.



All you had to do was loop in what you wanted to clean, leave it to run with your choice of cleaner (water, vinegar mix etc) and empty it down the sink when it stopped changing.

Sadly I don't have room for anything like that any more. The pumps are cheap though.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SC600-132...IAAOSwIAJcI3GC

And proven to be bloody good. Sure they don't look great but the bearings are all ceramic and the motor is powerful and heavy. Great way to clean without wrecking your good stuff. Sadly they have doubled in price, but still a good investment
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-04-20, 05:26 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,233
https://www.overclockers.co.uk/water...hs-000-wc.html

They may come in useful also.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30-04-20, 07:45 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,539
Well I got all the parts needed, even managed to persuade wifey to let me get a new case and got Enthoo Pro tempered glass for a sweet £50.

So now I am sat here looking at my rig and scared to death to actually do it lol.
__________________
ASUS ROG Crosshair VII wifi | Ryzen 5 3600 | Custom Loop | Patriot Viper Steel 4133 @ 3600 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung 500gb nvme | Samsung 1Tb nvme | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Barracuda 1tb storage | Toshiba 1Tb HDD | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho Pro Tempered Glass | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30-04-20, 07:54 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,233
Just remember never to start the PC up to test a loop.

IE, just connect the pump and run it around the hardware with the rig off. So just the pump powered up, and wrap paper towels like this.



That way if you have a leak it can't go anywhere, the paper towels will suck it up immediately.

Leave the loop to run for a few hours before you power on the rig. Other than that really there's nothing to worry about. Just make sure the fittings are done up tight enough. Some are easy, some require the loss of skin. But just make sure they are sealed. It may take more force than you expect tbh.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30-04-20, 09:15 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,539
cheers buddy
__________________
ASUS ROG Crosshair VII wifi | Ryzen 5 3600 | Custom Loop | Patriot Viper Steel 4133 @ 3600 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung 500gb nvme | Samsung 1Tb nvme | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Barracuda 1tb storage | Toshiba 1Tb HDD | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho Pro Tempered Glass | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30-04-20, 09:20 PM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,419
Good luck with it buddy!
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
Coolermaster H500P White ARGB=AMD Ryzen 3700X=MSI MPG X570 Gaming Pro Carbon WiFi=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3600Mhz White Dom Plats RGB= Sapphire RX5700XT Nitro Plus=Coolermaster ML360R ARGB=MSI Optix MPG341CQR=MSI GK80 Vigor=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Roccat AIMO White=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with RBG strip=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=Razer Firefly RGB CE
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:36 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.