Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 17-05-21, 10:50 PM
NugentS NugentS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 181
New Computer - Multiple monitors

All,

I have a new computer on the way - slowly, waiting for parts.
AMD Based with an Nvidia 3080 (I hope)

I run three monitors, and am considering a 4th. I use one monitor for games and two monitors for other stuff. I want the best performance I can get for games but not so fussy about the other two/three monitors

The motherboard has:
PCIeX16_1 X8/X16: Main GPU
PCIeX16_2 X8 : Nothing
PCIeX16_3 X4 : 10Gb NIC
PCIeX1_1 : Maybe extra USB Ports - maybe or eSATA Ports
PCIeX1_2 : Nothing

I definitely have 2 spare slots

I have noticed that on my current rig with 2K monitors and a 2060 games are worse on the main monitor than my old rig at parents house on a 980Ti on twin 1K monitors, with one being used for games so I am considering taking a small hit on the main GPU and putting second card in to run the extra monitors, leaving the primary GPU to run the main monitor only. Monitors 2&3 are 2K. This is not SLI - this is different cards for different monitors. I am not interested in spreading games across more than one monitor (s a combined monitor)

Has anyone had any success with this sort of setup and what might work well, either as a PCIeX16 (X8) card) or even a PCIeX1 GPU. Hardware I can fit, just a bit concerned about different drivers conflicting.

Obviously I would test with one GPU first to see if things are OK. Note that the primary monitor is also being replaced with a 4K monitor (assuming that ever arrives)

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-05-21, 01:21 AM
KingNosser KingNosser is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Essex UK
Posts: 552
I'd say get the card when and if you can and test first before getting a 2nd.

My 6800XT copes with 1 1080p 1 2k and 2k VR can't add more but i don't notice anything bad so adding a 4th on a 3080 with enough ports you might find works fine
__________________
https://forum.overclock3d.net/attachments/signaturepics/sigpic20429_1.gif
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-05-21, 11:44 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 7,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by NugentS View Post
All,

I have a new computer on the way - slowly, waiting for parts.
AMD Based with an Nvidia 3080 (I hope)

I run three monitors, and am considering a 4th. I use one monitor for games and two monitors for other stuff. I want the best performance I can get for games but not so fussy about the other two/three monitors

The motherboard has:
PCIeX16_1 X8/X16: Main GPU
PCIeX16_2 X8 : Nothing
PCIeX16_3 X4 : 10Gb NIC
PCIeX1_1 : Maybe extra USB Ports - maybe or eSATA Ports
PCIeX1_2 : Nothing

I definitely have 2 spare slots

I have noticed that on my current rig with 2K monitors and a 2060 games are worse on the main monitor than my old rig at parents house on a 980Ti on twin 1K monitors, with one being used for games so I am considering taking a small hit on the main GPU and putting second card in to run the extra monitors, leaving the primary GPU to run the main monitor only. Monitors 2&3 are 2K. This is not SLI - this is different cards for different monitors. I am not interested in spreading games across more than one monitor (s a combined monitor)

Has anyone had any success with this sort of setup and what might work well, either as a PCIeX16 (X8) card) or even a PCIeX1 GPU. Hardware I can fit, just a bit concerned about different drivers conflicting.

Obviously I would test with one GPU first to see if things are OK. Note that the primary monitor is also being replaced with a 4K monitor (assuming that ever arrives)
You will also see performance change if the monitors have different refresh rates since the GPU has to optimise both and are not in sync. Its minor, but its still visible if you run rivatuner and look at the clocks etc.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-05-21, 04:25 PM
Diablo Diablo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,540
Yep - I run this sort of set up on my big rig. I have 3 (2 @ 4K 144/120Hz, 1 @ 1200P 60Hz) monitors on the 3090, with the other 4 (3 @ 1200P and 1 @ 4K) on the second card. I needed lots of displayport inputs so got a quadro p620 to run them - result is less load on the main card.

For me the main thing was number of ports available - however I also tested this with 6 screens using a 1030GT as the second card (so you don't need a quadro).

Basically the good news is virtually any card will manage the other monitors so even old cards scalpers don't like will work. One additional tip - try to get an Nvidia card so you can run the driver updates as one process.
__________________

Threadripper 3990X 4.2GHz - EK Supreme EVO - Asus - ZIIE - 128GB 3000Hz RAM - 3090 AlphaCool Block, EK Venom Backplate block - Asus RAID STRIX - Tower - FireCuda 520 1TB - Dual Loop - Windows 10 Workstation
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-05-21, 09:41 PM
NugentS NugentS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 181
Any suggestion for a suitable card?
Or can I use a 1X to 16X riser and plug a short 16X card in (at 1X speeds obviously)

I guess @Diablo with his 1030GT either used the second 16X slot at 8X, or was using a HEDT CPU with more lanes or a 1X slot with a riser which is apparently a thing)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26-05-21, 09:38 AM
Diablo Diablo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,540
I think I was using the 3rd or 4th X16 :P

I have used an X4 electrically (x16 size) slot with no issue; but I think even an X1 would work. I know you can get an X1 compatible 710, but I would suggest getting an X1 to X16 riser so you can swap cards in and out should you need to.

I am not sure what the performance would be like - but there is a Youtube example of this


As you are using it as a display adapter (like you would in the 90s!) I think you should be fine. The alternative is to get an M.2 to PCIex4 adapter, then a PCIex4 to X16 riser (I did this on my work laptop and it was fine).
__________________

Threadripper 3990X 4.2GHz - EK Supreme EVO - Asus - ZIIE - 128GB 3000Hz RAM - 3090 AlphaCool Block, EK Venom Backplate block - Asus RAID STRIX - Tower - FireCuda 520 1TB - Dual Loop - Windows 10 Workstation
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 10:37 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.