Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > OS & Apps
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 15-11-14, 09:07 AM
lAnimal's Avatar
lAnimal lAnimal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Offaly, Ireland
Posts: 205
Windows 8.1 and my mouse

So getting home, and just wanting to relax and play some LoL, when I have to get a computer update (which I always say no to) and then about 30 minutes later I'm on the windows 8 sign in screen, only now my mouse isn't working. Windows 8.1 just won't work with my mouse, and only my mouse. It's a kensington mouse in a box (http://www.kensington.com/us/us/4487...4%A2-wired-usb), and yes, I do want to get a new one.
It appears as both a mouse and a keyboard (the 2 HID devices), and although my keyboard works perfectly, it doesn't show in devices.
Here is the mouse plugged in: http://gyazo.com/f802ab52151d82c289566467328c5381
And not: http://gyazo.com/2ba17621daee6cd99e97f436d6315efa

I'd like to do a pc refresh to get back to windows 8, but it's now letting me (the whole insert media thing but no option to contiue), and when I used the command promt method the customrefresh.wim took up over 300gb, not giving me enough space to refresh.
I can't find online drivers for this thing, so any help on getting my mouse to work? It'd be greatly appreciated

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-11-14, 09:11 AM
YouWhat's Avatar
YouWhat YouWhat is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: ›>« βα™ªη§ ζΔνε »<‹
Posts: 689
Quote:
Originally Posted by lAnimal View Post
So getting home, and just wanting to relax and play some LoL, when I have to get a computer update (which I always say no to) and then about 30 minutes later I'm on the windows 8 sign in screen, only now my mouse isn't working. Windows 8.1 just won't work with my mouse, and only my mouse. It's a kensington mouse in a box (http://www.kensington.com/us/us/4487...4%A2-wired-usb), and yes, I do want to get a new one.
It appears as both a mouse and a keyboard (the 2 HID devices), and although my keyboard works perfectly, it doesn't show in devices.
Here is the mouse plugged in: http://gyazo.com/f802ab52151d82c289566467328c5381
And not: http://gyazo.com/2ba17621daee6cd99e97f436d6315efa

I'd like to do a pc refresh to get back to windows 8, but it's now letting me (the whole insert media thing but no option to contiue), and when I used the command promt method the customrefresh.wim took up over 300gb, not giving me enough space to refresh.
I can't find online drivers for this thing, so any help on getting my mouse to work? It'd be greatly appreciated
Have you tried the USB dongle thing in a different USB port?
__________________
Intel i7 4790K | Asus ROG Maximus VII Hero | 2 x Asus ROG Striker Platinum 4GB GTX 760 in SLI
16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro @ 2400 | Corsair RM 850 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Obsidian 750D
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-11-14, 09:20 AM
Tripp's Avatar
Tripp Tripp is offline
too many shrooms
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: mersyside
Posts: 3,711
Have you downloaded the usb motherboard drivers?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-11-14, 10:04 AM
lAnimal's Avatar
lAnimal lAnimal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Offaly, Ireland
Posts: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by YouWhat View Post
Have you tried the USB dongle thing in a different USB port?
Every single one, mouse just doesn't work, it had power and installs drivers, and I can see the cursor, but it won't move.

Quote:
Have you downloaded the usb motherboard drivers?
Will the disk for my motherboard have it? It's the z87- g41 PC Mate.
And it's only this mouse, everything else works like a charm.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-11-14, 10:12 AM
Tripp's Avatar
Tripp Tripp is offline
too many shrooms
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: mersyside
Posts: 3,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by lAnimal View Post
Every single one, mouse just doesn't work, it had power and installs drivers, and I can see the cursor, but it won't move.


Will the disk for my motherboard have it? It's the z87- g41 PC Mate.
And it's only this mouse, everything else works like a charm.
Always get them off the manufacturers website for the latest drivers mate
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-11-14, 10:14 AM
YouWhat's Avatar
YouWhat YouWhat is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: ›>« βα™ªη§ ζΔνε »<‹
Posts: 689
Quote:
Originally Posted by lAnimal View Post
Every single one, mouse just doesn't work, it had power and installs drivers, and I can see the cursor, but it won't move.


Will the disk for my motherboard have it? It's the z87- g41 PC Mate.
And it's only this mouse, everything else works like a charm.
Have you tried re-pairing the device and dongle (if you can as some don't have feature to)
__________________
Intel i7 4790K | Asus ROG Maximus VII Hero | 2 x Asus ROG Striker Platinum 4GB GTX 760 in SLI
16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro @ 2400 | Corsair RM 850 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Obsidian 750D
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 10:18 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.