Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Screens and Displays
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 28-07-19, 02:54 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,740
Weird screen issue

Hey guys,

So for some time now I've experienced a rather odd behaviour happening to my system. Now, at first I thought it was the monitor itself, but as it has happened more and I started finding (what appears to be temporary solutions to the problem), is that it's the GPU itself.

What happens is that I at random times, the monitor flickers to black, back and forth. And when it does this, sometimes the actual screen in Windows gets moved to the side a bit, creating a small bar on the far left side and also sort of "cutting" the image in the center.

I've attached an photo that I took of this issue, where you can see the small vertical bar on the far left.

The, what has later occured to be just a temporary fix, is that I sometimes juggle my monitor a bit, which will make it flicker again and it bounces back to normal. Or I have to open Nvidia Control Panel and switch from 144Hz to 120Hz, and then back to 144Hz. This fixes it as well.

I also later on thought maybe it was an outdated driver that caused this and that a newer released one may had a fix for this... So I downloaded the latest, when I had done a new reinstall a week ago or so, when got my new 3700X and the issue still persists.

So now I'm out of ideas here etc and now turning to you guys, if you may have experienced this or similar, and perhaps knows what the issue is...
Is my GPU perhaps going?...

Thanks,
Dawelio
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Weird screen glitch (2).jpg
Views:	12
Size:	60.9 KB
ID:	12669  

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28-07-19, 08:27 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,365
do you have more than 1 screen?

this usually happens when you plug in a second monitor. A lose connection can cause mayhem. Happens at work alot.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28-07-19, 09:38 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,740
No, I only use a single monitor. A Dell S2716DG for information.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28-07-19, 10:01 PM
Davva2004's Avatar
Davva2004 Davva2004 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Nottingham UK
Posts: 1,155
If physically moving your monitor fixes it, then it's either an internal fault with the monitor or a bad cable. Swap the cable out first as it's the cheaper fix, but if that doesn't work then you're looking at a replacement.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-07-19, 01:51 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,599
Im gonna say bad cable too, you've a line out of sync. Try reseating the cable or a different on.
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:43 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.