Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Memory
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-07-18, 05:01 AM
demonking's Avatar
demonking demonking is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 572
Dummy ram

So this just came up on my news feed
https://www.pcgamer.com/gigabytes-16gb-memory-kit-comes-with-dummy-rgb-modules-for-those-empty-slots/

Thought this was a pretty good idea. I don't personally like rgb lighting but I can see the appeal for this. I only have 2 dimms filled and if I could afford to I'd fill the other 2, this is a good idea for those that can't afford or don't need to spend a fortune on more ram but don't want empty dimms.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-07-18, 05:09 AM
scubasteve scubasteve is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 173
i like that good idea , same here only got 2 dimms filled would of been nice if all were, if they make just pure white ones i will be all over them if not then the corsair v pro will be my next stop
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-07-18, 02:22 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 8,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by demonking View Post
So this just came up on my news feed
https://www.pcgamer.com/gigabytes-16...e-empty-slots/

Thought this was a pretty good idea. I don't personally like rgb lighting but I can see the appeal for this. I only have 2 dimms filled and if I could afford to I'd fill the other 2, this is a good idea for those that can't afford or don't need to spend a fortune on more ram but don't want empty dimms.
I can see this not getting abused "NOT" How long before people are RMA'ing or selling the dummies as legit modules.
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-07-18, 03:01 PM
demonking's Avatar
demonking demonking is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 572
I think that the dummys are blank pcbs, probably printed completely differently to the actual working dimms as they have no chips on board.
Im sure someone at gigabyte must have thought of this if not then stupid them
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-07-18, 03:25 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 8,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by demonking View Post
I think that the dummys are blank pcbs, probably printed completely differently to the actual working dimms as they have no chips on board.
Im sure someone at gigabyte must have thought of this if not then stupid them
Mmm yeah I guess. But still, buy 2 kits and return the blanks or try to sell them on. You just know it's going to happen.
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-07-18, 05:03 PM
Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
Arne Saknussemm Arne Saknussemm is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 96
From so-dimm to no-dimm...and straight onto e-bay
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 04:50 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.