Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Memory
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 31-03-18, 03:25 PM
b33rd0g b33rd0g is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 23
n00b ram speed question

ive got Corsair Vengeance LPX Black 2666M 2x8
is this supposed to run at 2666 mhz? bios sets it to 2133 mhz when i choose 'auto'
should i choose 'manual 2666 mhz' ?

just wanna be sure and not risk things going up in smoke

thank you

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31-03-18, 03:28 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,056
Firstly we need the exact model number. Secondly your motherboard should have XMP profiles. If it's AMD look for a AXMP or something like that.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31-03-18, 03:35 PM
b33rd0g b33rd0g is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 23
no this is a 6700 non-k system
not very familiar with xmp profiles
the model number according to dmidecode --type memory (linux command) is
CMK16GX4M2A2666C16
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31-03-18, 05:35 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,385
thats 2666 ram
All ram will run at 2133 unless you set the XMP profile in bios
Check you BIOS for the setting
__________________
ASUS Prime x370 Pro | Ryzen 5 1600 | Antec 240 AIO | Corsair Vengance RGB 3000 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31-03-18, 05:47 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,056
Yup simple XMP on that one
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31-03-18, 05:48 PM
b33rd0g b33rd0g is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 23
isnt xmp some form of overclocking? does that mean the cpu will be overclocked as well? this system is housed in a tiny node202 case and not really suitable for overclocking

thanks for your help!

ps sorry im so clueless about these things in the intel world. things were so much easier back in the athlon and FX days - and hopefully in my ryzen future as well
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31-03-18, 05:52 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by b33rd0g View Post
isnt xmp some form of overclocking? does that mean the cpu will be overclocked as well? this system is housed in a tiny node202 case and not really suitable for overclocking

thanks for your help!
No, it's more of an auto detect memory setting it gets from the RAM itself.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31-03-18, 06:08 PM
b33rd0g b33rd0g is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 23
thanks
did the xmp thing and answered 'no' when it asked something about overclocking the cpu. it now says 2666 mhz a couple of places but it also still says 2133 mhz in one place
oh well, seems to have gone well i guess
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31-03-18, 06:42 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,056
open CPUZ. Go to memory at the top (the tab) and look at your DRAM frequency. For 2666 it should say 1333. This is because it is DDR, so double data rate.



Is mine. I am running 8gb 2133 on this rig.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 31-03-18, 07:02 PM
b33rd0g b33rd0g is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 23
thanks
as im on linux and not in the mood to boot the gaming only os i dont have cpu-z, but i found something else that reports:
*-bank:0
description: DIMM DDR4 Synchronous 2667 MHz (0,4 ns)
product: CMK16GX4M2A2666C16
vendor: Corsair
physical id: 0
serial: 00000000
slot: DIMM_A1
size: 8GiB
width: 64 bits
clock: 2667MHz (0.4ns)
*-bank:1
description: DIMM DDR4 Synchronous 2667 MHz (0,4 ns)
product: CMK16GX4M2A2666C16
vendor: Corsair
physical id: 1
serial: 00000000
slot: DIMM_B1
size: 8GiB
width: 64 bits
clock: 2667MHz (0.4ns)


so i guess all is well
thanks for your help
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:47 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.