Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 23-09-16, 02:08 PM
Strechy0 Strechy0 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 52
GTX 1070 Bottled Necked from I5 2500

Hi
Was just looking at upgrading my GPU from a 560 TI to a 1070 would my current CPU I5 2500 Bottleneck it
thanks

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-09-16, 02:12 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,538
Is it overclocked?
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-09-16, 02:24 PM
Strechy0 Strechy0 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 52
nope non k version
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-09-16, 02:55 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 20,890
Bottleneck is a tricky thing. It really depends on the game etc.

I know on CEX you can get a 2500K for less than £80 now, so if you have an overclocking motherboard that might be a good bet for an upgrade.
https://uk.webuy.com/product.php?sku...A#.V-VBqfArIuU

A 2500K is still a great CPU and has decent per core CPU performance, but it is starting to show its age.

Can you post your full sytem specs? it can help us advise you on how/what to upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-09-16, 03:38 PM
Strechy0 Strechy0 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 52
Pc Specs
Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD4-B3 Motherboard
Intel I5 2500 non k
Gigabyte 560 ti SOC
G.Skill Ripjaws F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL (2x2G) DDR3 x 2
Noctua NH-U12P SE2 cooler
Corsair 650 psu
a bit old now
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-09-16, 05:28 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Strechy0 View Post
nope non k version
They still overclock
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-09-16, 05:32 PM
Strechy0 Strechy0 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 52
i didnt think u could is it worth doing on just upgrade the lot

Will i still be ok with the 1070 on this system regauradless
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23-09-16, 07:28 PM
J0s3e J0s3e is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London
Posts: 177
Send a message via ICQ to J0s3e
Wow, get urself a 1060, upgrade that ram and buy used K cpu
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23-09-16, 07:37 PM
Strechy0 Strechy0 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 52
Or i could just get all new gear
https://www.pccasegear.com/wish_lists/630544/new
any thoughts on this build
And can use my old trusty Cooler master CM 690 11 Advanced case
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23-09-16, 08:15 PM
J0s3e J0s3e is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London
Posts: 177
Send a message via ICQ to J0s3e
Don't get a K cpu with h170 chipset
And seriously, unless you have cash burning a hole in your pocket, just get 2500K, 1060 or 1070 and 8GB RAM and u're fine.
What are you using it for, anyway?
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 04:23 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.