Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 02-06-13, 05:50 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,987
Why is your SSD not your boot drive?

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-06-13, 05:57 PM
InnocentDemonz InnocentDemonz is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 12
i did get crystal disk and I'm doing them now, my d drive is just taking a while, and my SSD is my boot drive, i just checked if everything worked. il post picture as soon as the D drive is done
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-06-13, 06:04 PM
mikeyc33's Avatar
mikeyc33 mikeyc33 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Bristol , UK
Posts: 76
You should have re-installed Windows 7 on your primary SSD with sata controllers in bios set to AHCI this not only gives you optimum performance from your SSD but also allows it to read/write files at its full potential giving less chance of error when accessing any file with a high amount of data i.e games
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-06-13, 06:05 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyc33 View Post
You should have re-installed Windows 7 on your primary SSD with sata controllers in bios set to AHCI this not only gives you optimum performance from your SSD but also allows it to read/write files at its full potential giving less chance of error when accessing any file with a high amount of data i.e games
Don't forget the numerous way to optimize windows for a ssd.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-06-13, 06:24 PM
InnocentDemonz InnocentDemonz is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 12
is there no way you can change it now or am i just stuck with it, oh here are the results on CrystalDiskMark the fist one is my SSD nd the second one is my 2tb hard drive, i havent done my 750 gb one because im just using that as a back up.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SSD2.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	19.8 KB
ID:	6007   Click image for larger version

Name:	Hard drive.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	19.9 KB
ID:	6008  
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-06-13, 06:40 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,987
those writes are extremely low...
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-06-13, 06:41 PM
InnocentDemonz InnocentDemonz is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 12
i know any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-06-13, 06:54 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,987
Is AHCI enabled? It most likely is but just making sure. Also is trim enabled? What specs are the ssd?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-06-13, 06:58 PM
InnocentDemonz InnocentDemonz is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 12
Up to 550MB/s Sequential Read
Up to 520MB/s Sequential Write
Up to 50,000 IOPS 4k Random Read
Up to 60,000 IOPS 4k Random Write

but how do i check if there enabled?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-06-13, 07:04 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,987
You are getting below your advertised speeds.. which model/brand do you have?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
angry birds, help needed, not working, steam

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:03 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.