Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 17-12-18, 04:11 PM
NickOmega's Avatar
NickOmega NickOmega is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cannock, West Mids
Posts: 669
Quote:
Originally Posted by Excalabur50 View Post
Well according to MSI the voltages are controlled by the chip when you're in the bios and 1.4+ isn't unusual and they showed me Asus and it's 1.49v also you might have just gotten bad silicon that needs higher volts to run.
Was it ok at 1.35v if so just set it to that and from what I've seen HWinfo is the best for your voltage readings
Nah wasn't ok, it locked up on sign in.
1.375 - Booted fine. Ran OCCT ok, albeit with a lower all core speed (3.4-3.5) then locked as soon as I stopped the test. I am using HWinfo for monitoring. At this point I'm inclined to agree that I got a bad chip, but will probably be going for new Ryzen next year, but I'll also decide whether to change the mobo too.
I apologise, I've derailed your thread somewhat.

I don't agree with MSI showing Asus pushing too many volts; it's almost like they're saying "Well these are bad too" as a justification.

__________________


Ryzen 5 3600 -- Nvidia RTX 3060ti FE -- 16GB TeamGroup Dark Pro 3200mhz DDR4
MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon -- Corsair Force MP300 240GB
Seasonic Focus Gold 750 -- MetallicGear Neo Qube

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17-12-18, 08:59 PM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickOmega View Post
Nah wasn't ok, it locked up on sign in.
1.375 - Booted fine. Ran OCCT ok, albeit with a lower all core speed (3.4-3.5) then locked as soon as I stopped the test. I am using HWinfo for monitoring. At this point I'm inclined to agree that I got a bad chip, but will probably be going for new Ryzen next year, but I'll also decide whether to change the mobo too.
I apologise, I've derailed your thread somewhat.

I don't agree with MSI showing Asus pushing too many volts; it's almost like they're saying "Well these are bad too" as a justification.
Damien c is doing alright with his bios at 1.3 but everything I've been able to find, Ryzen runs higher voltages than Intel and I think speaking for myself I'm too used to Intels lower voltages and expecting the same when it's a completely different architecture.
And no I don't think you've derailed the thread it's all about what our boards are doing on auto
And MSI saying Asus are doing it too is probably a true statement as Ryzen uses more volts so I can't really fault them for that but that being said I'd like them to use 1.275-1.35 max
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
Coolermaster H500P White ARGB=AMD Ryzen 5950X=MSI Prestige X570 Creation=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3600Mhz White Dom Plats RGB= MSI RTX 3080 Gaming X Trio=Coolermaster ML360R ARGB=MSI Optix MPG341CQR=Roccat AIMO 122=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Roccat Kone AIMO White=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with RBG strip=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=MSI Agility GD60 RGB Mousepad=Chasepower Pure Sinewave UPS
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 17-12-18, 09:16 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,739
I think board partners should allow those who want to leave everything on auto to be able to set a maximum voltage target and then throttle the cpu if need be. Would be interesting for those who are more power saving worried
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 17-12-18, 09:59 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,558
You looking for info only from MSI boards and ryzen 7?
__________________
ASUS ROG Crosshair VII wifi | Ryzen 5 3600 | Custom Loop | Patriot Viper Steel 4133 @ 3600 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung 500gb nvme | Samsung 1Tb nvme | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Barracuda 1tb storage | Toshiba 1Tb HDD | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho Pro Tempered Glass | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 17-12-18, 10:16 PM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobM View Post
You looking for info only from MSI boards and ryzen 7?
No buddy all boards as I'm trying to get different manufacturers voltages whilst on auto
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
Coolermaster H500P White ARGB=AMD Ryzen 5950X=MSI Prestige X570 Creation=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3600Mhz White Dom Plats RGB= MSI RTX 3080 Gaming X Trio=Coolermaster ML360R ARGB=MSI Optix MPG341CQR=Roccat AIMO 122=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Roccat Kone AIMO White=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with RBG strip=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=MSI Agility GD60 RGB Mousepad=Chasepower Pure Sinewave UPS
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 18-12-18, 12:40 AM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Excalabur50 View Post
No buddy all boards as I'm trying to get different manufacturers voltages whilst on auto
ok mate, I will set my bios to run defaults and let you know what I get
__________________
ASUS ROG Crosshair VII wifi | Ryzen 5 3600 | Custom Loop | Patriot Viper Steel 4133 @ 3600 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung 500gb nvme | Samsung 1Tb nvme | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Barracuda 1tb storage | Toshiba 1Tb HDD | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho Pro Tempered Glass | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 18-12-18, 02:16 AM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobM View Post
ok mate, I will set my bios to run defaults and let you know what I get
Thankyou!
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
Coolermaster H500P White ARGB=AMD Ryzen 5950X=MSI Prestige X570 Creation=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3600Mhz White Dom Plats RGB= MSI RTX 3080 Gaming X Trio=Coolermaster ML360R ARGB=MSI Optix MPG341CQR=Roccat AIMO 122=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Roccat Kone AIMO White=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with RBG strip=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=MSI Agility GD60 RGB Mousepad=Chasepower Pure Sinewave UPS
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 18-12-18, 12:38 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,558
At idle I am at 1.145v and 3.4 and a cinebench the volts go up to 1.275 and cores remain 3.4 so I don't appear to get any cores boosting. (will check bios although I did set it to run defaults)
Double check of BIOS confirms I was at auto
__________________
ASUS ROG Crosshair VII wifi | Ryzen 5 3600 | Custom Loop | Patriot Viper Steel 4133 @ 3600 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung 500gb nvme | Samsung 1Tb nvme | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Barracuda 1tb storage | Toshiba 1Tb HDD | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho Pro Tempered Glass | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 18-12-18, 12:52 PM
Damien c Damien c is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North West UK
Posts: 1,624
So I just checked and set my cpu to run at 3.5Ghz across all cores using Ryzen Master and set my ram to it's proper speed of 2400Mhz.

Left all voltages on Auto and ran OCCT.

Image shows voltages that it peaked at but it was running most of the time at 1.280v whilst under full load with the occasional jump to 1.318v or 1.34v when starting OCCT.



Normally I find MSI boards to be really good with Auto volts but it looks like your isn't.
__________________
Gaming PC: AMD 3950X, 32GB Corsiar DDR4, MSI 2080Ti, WD Black 1TB NVME

Server PC: 2700x, 16GB Corsair DDR4, MSI GTX 1660Ti, Gigabyte 120Gb M.2, Crucial 240Gb SSD, WD Blue 500Gb SSD, 2x Seagate 6Tb HDD's

Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 18-12-18, 09:34 PM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,583
Thanks so much for the info this is really fantastic
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
Coolermaster H500P White ARGB=AMD Ryzen 5950X=MSI Prestige X570 Creation=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3600Mhz White Dom Plats RGB= MSI RTX 3080 Gaming X Trio=Coolermaster ML360R ARGB=MSI Optix MPG341CQR=Roccat AIMO 122=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Roccat Kone AIMO White=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with RBG strip=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=MSI Agility GD60 RGB Mousepad=Chasepower Pure Sinewave UPS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:23 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.