Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 22-04-16, 07:33 AM
Daiyus's Avatar
Daiyus Daiyus is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 673
Question Custom Loop: Does flow order matter?

I'm currently building a PC that isn't initially going to be liquid cooled, however I may want to in the future so my brain is already whirring on how to do it. The case is an FTZ01. I think I've got a good idea of how to do it using Quick Releases to make sure the lid and GPU bracket can be removed and re-installed easily but it means that the pump won't be pulling directly from the reservoir as I want to mount the reservoir externally. The flow would be:

Reservoir - 120mm Radiator - CPU Block - Pump - 240mm Radiator - GPU Block - Reservoir

Will that cause any problems?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22-04-16, 08:54 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 21,174
Ideally you want res - pump but after that it really doesnt matter
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22-04-16, 09:01 AM
Daiyus's Avatar
Daiyus Daiyus is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 673
Thanks for the advice. I was originally thinking of mounting the reservoir on the lid, but I could mount it on the GPU/ODD end of the case instead. That way I could run the flow as:

Reservoir - Pump - CPU Block] - Quick Release - [120mm Radiator] - Quick Release - [GPU Block] - Quick Release - [240mm Radiator - Reservoir

The only difficult run would be the 120mm rad to the GPU block. If I used an XSPC Photon 270 Reservoir I think it'd look really good with the aluminium fascia of the FTZ01 as it's a glass tube with a black aluminium bracket, and that LED tube would give it a nice glow.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-04-16, 09:12 AM
JR23 JR23 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3,215
Provided you can bleed it and the pump remains free from air the order of the loop is not important, a reservoir is not even necessary however it does make it much easier to remove any air. If your pump does not directly follow the reservoir then just pay attention to get as much coolant as possible into the loop before turning the pump on. Fill slowly to mitigate getting air trapped and keep moving it around.

Mounting components externally just seems like conceding defeat to me even more so in smaller form factors. If your going to have QDC's and external elements why not just use a pump/res combination on the outside?

JR
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22-04-16, 09:19 AM
Daiyus's Avatar
Daiyus Daiyus is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by JR23 View Post
Provided you can bleed it and the pump remains free from air the order of the loop is not important, a reservoir is not even necessary however it does make it much easier to remove any air. If your pump does not directly follow the reservoir then just pay attention to get as much coolant as possible into the loop before turning the pump on. Fill slowly to mitigate getting air trapped and keep moving it around.

Mounting components externally just seems like conceding defeat to me even more so in smaller form factors. If your going to have QDC's and external elements why not just use a pump/res combination on the outside?

JR
You make some good points. I'll explain my thinking so you can point out the fallacies; that way I learn.

I figured that having an external reservoir would allow me to keep an eye on coolant levels as the FTZ01 doesn't have a window and I don't particularly want to have to open the case every week or so to check (if I used a small reservoir/pump combo), plus I thought it would make the build look more interesting. While I love the understated "street sleeper" look I figure if I'm going to liquid cool I might as well show it off.

The idea of not including the pump directly on the external reservoir was two fold; pumps aren't generally that pretty and I thought that having the pump inside might reduce the noise output of the system slightly.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-05-16, 10:03 PM
Dave2017 Dave2017 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11
dont forget to put a drain at the bottom of the loop/case,the d5 pumps are quiet to begin with
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:36 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.