Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Forum Teams > [OC3D] Benchmark Team
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 28-03-13, 04:13 PM
alienware alienware is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoob View Post
Extreme HD seems to lock you to 1080p though, I run a 1200p monitor...those extra 120 pixels make ALL the difference lol.

Scoob.
Oh sorry mate I see what you mean now.. Yeah when I originally ran it it set the resolution to native which is what my TV takes and it's something oddball like 1790x1020 due to overscan or underscan? something like that..

Running at 1080p locked using Extreme HD lost me about 350 points..

The reason I said to use Extreme HD was so that we could compare the results accurately to see how certain cards in certain situs perform

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 28-03-13, 04:26 PM
Scoob's Avatar
Scoob Scoob is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 1,005
Happy to do a run at 1080p, however as mentioned earlier, I noticed that my score is slightly worse than 1200p...still, I've updated the drivers since so maybe that's changed.

To be fair, I'd expect minimal differences between 670's and 680's in most things.

I will do a 1080p run of valley & edit this post...

Edit: Ok, just did a run at 1080p with the "Extreme HD" preset.

FPS: 89.0
Score: 3722
Min FPS: 37.2
Max FPS: 164.0

Looks like the driver update has fixed the ealier anomaly. Nice.

Scoob.
__________________
Intel 2500k @ 4.6 | ASUS P8Z68-V Pro | 4x 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM @ 1600 | 2x EVGA GTX 680 2gb | 2x Kingston SSD-Now 120gb (RAID 0) + Corsair Neutron GTX 240gb + Samsung Spinpoint 1tb | CM 690 II Lite case | Corsair AX860i PSU | LG 24" LCD display @ 1920x1200 | Windows 10 Pro. 64

Custom Loop: EK Supreme HF Black Acetal CPU Block | 2x Alphacool NexXxoS ATXP Black Brushed Stainless Steel GPU blocks | External Phobya 1080 rad in Bench Edition Chassis | Alphacool D5 Pump + high-flow top | EK Adv. Cylinder Reservoir | Phobya G-Silent 180mm fans (shrouded) | Phobya External 90w PSU
.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 28-03-13, 05:22 PM
alienware alienware is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to alienware
Which driver did you change to?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 28-03-13, 05:27 PM
Scoob's Avatar
Scoob Scoob is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 1,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Which driver did you change to?
I was on one of the Betas, but updated to 314.22 WHQL the other day. I cannot remember exactly which driver I was on when I notice the 1080/1200p anomaly though.

Scoob.
__________________
Intel 2500k @ 4.6 | ASUS P8Z68-V Pro | 4x 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM @ 1600 | 2x EVGA GTX 680 2gb | 2x Kingston SSD-Now 120gb (RAID 0) + Corsair Neutron GTX 240gb + Samsung Spinpoint 1tb | CM 690 II Lite case | Corsair AX860i PSU | LG 24" LCD display @ 1920x1200 | Windows 10 Pro. 64

Custom Loop: EK Supreme HF Black Acetal CPU Block | 2x Alphacool NexXxoS ATXP Black Brushed Stainless Steel GPU blocks | External Phobya 1080 rad in Bench Edition Chassis | Alphacool D5 Pump + high-flow top | EK Adv. Cylinder Reservoir | Phobya G-Silent 180mm fans (shrouded) | Phobya External 90w PSU
.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 28-03-13, 06:24 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,492
Just thought I'd chip in with my 7950 results

3770k @ 4.7
7950 @ 1100 / 1575 / 1200mv
4gb cheapo ram

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 28-03-13, 10:51 PM
alienware alienware is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to alienware
Good result that. Sadly I can't overclock my cards as one of them doesn't like it.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 28-03-13, 10:55 PM
Scoob's Avatar
Scoob Scoob is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 1,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Good result that. Sadly I can't overclock my cards as one of them doesn't like it.
That's a shame. Best I managed was 1230mhz on the core of each of my 680's - I run them at 1200 though so they're not at their absolute limit. I was more impressed by the 7ghz vRam! Not tried to push that further.

Still, even at stock a pair of 670's is pretty potent!

Scoob.
__________________
Intel 2500k @ 4.6 | ASUS P8Z68-V Pro | 4x 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM @ 1600 | 2x EVGA GTX 680 2gb | 2x Kingston SSD-Now 120gb (RAID 0) + Corsair Neutron GTX 240gb + Samsung Spinpoint 1tb | CM 690 II Lite case | Corsair AX860i PSU | LG 24" LCD display @ 1920x1200 | Windows 10 Pro. 64

Custom Loop: EK Supreme HF Black Acetal CPU Block | 2x Alphacool NexXxoS ATXP Black Brushed Stainless Steel GPU blocks | External Phobya 1080 rad in Bench Edition Chassis | Alphacool D5 Pump + high-flow top | EK Adv. Cylinder Reservoir | Phobya G-Silent 180mm fans (shrouded) | Phobya External 90w PSU
.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 28-03-13, 10:59 PM
alienware alienware is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to alienware
I had 1250 out of the first card I bought easily. The second one was used on Amazon and was probably returned as it doesn't overclock very well at all. We're talking 60 mhz if you're lucky.

Normally I would return it but there's not much point in SLI on air. It just adds to the temps which are pretty wild as it is. Without overclocking they remain under 72c.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 29-03-13, 12:02 PM
Scoob's Avatar
Scoob Scoob is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 1,005
I get how frustrating that might be though. My original Palit GTX 570 (reference) was the best of the 570's I had. Lower vCore, higher clocks as well as cooler and quieter. The 2nd hand Inno3d I bought couldn't really keep up, so I ran both at 800 or there abouts when the Palit could do 930 happily. Ironically it was the Palit that died when I had a compression fitting fail.

Normally I'd go for the 470/570/670 rather than the '80 card due to the value for money aspect, they usually offer 90% of the performance for 2/3rds of the price. This time round however the 680 was only £40 more expensive than the 680 (for the EVGA's I wanted) so I treated myself to the more expensive card.

Do you think you'll water cool? Possibly your weaker 670 will be happier running a little cooler?

Edit: Here's an interesting result. I just ran Valley at Extreme HD on my old EVGA GTX 570 @ 850. It's now sat in my Media PC (Q6700 @ Stock) and my scores were just under half that of my two 680's. In lots of tests I saw prior to getting my 680's ONE 670 usually scored the same as my two 570's. Amazed how well the old single 570 is scoring really.

Scoob.
__________________
Intel 2500k @ 4.6 | ASUS P8Z68-V Pro | 4x 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 RAM @ 1600 | 2x EVGA GTX 680 2gb | 2x Kingston SSD-Now 120gb (RAID 0) + Corsair Neutron GTX 240gb + Samsung Spinpoint 1tb | CM 690 II Lite case | Corsair AX860i PSU | LG 24" LCD display @ 1920x1200 | Windows 10 Pro. 64

Custom Loop: EK Supreme HF Black Acetal CPU Block | 2x Alphacool NexXxoS ATXP Black Brushed Stainless Steel GPU blocks | External Phobya 1080 rad in Bench Edition Chassis | Alphacool D5 Pump + high-flow top | EK Adv. Cylinder Reservoir | Phobya G-Silent 180mm fans (shrouded) | Phobya External 90w PSU
.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 29-03-13, 03:20 PM
alienware alienware is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to alienware
I'm not planning on water no. The case would more than likely accommodate it if I wanted to (all be it messy) but there's not much point. I have really good custom cooled cards and the top one gets to around 72c when being pushed really hard.

I'm not a fan of water cooling because I have terrible OCD and I'd be forever worried it was going to leak

Not made easier by having a AIO cooler leak on me and ruin a GPU and board.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:45 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.