Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 13-01-13, 09:09 PM
tabby051 tabby051 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 24
MSI GTX 670 PE OC Issues, Help!

Hello, I just got my MSI GTX 670 PE OC this saturday replacing my 570.

Specs:

Asus P8P67 Rev 3 (standard P67) Bios updated with 3602
Windows 8 64bit
12GB Corsair Vengeance RAM
600W Coolermaster Gold

Any other specs just ask

Problem; Flickering almost like the refresh rate is screwing up, I hooked the gpu up by HDMI to my TV (Toshiba 46" Plasma) as I don't have my monitor at the moment (getting replaced). I have tried all settings in terms of resoultions and refresh rates (60hz-24hz etc).

I have tried another TV and same thing happens and when using my gtx 570 it works perfectly fine with no flickering. I don't have an option of trying a different motherboard.

So it comes down to if anyone knows how to fix this problem and if it's worth updating the BIOS on the card to this: http://uk.msi.com/product/vga/N670-P...tml#/?div=BIOS. Or will this risk me bricking the card which after all having it only 2 days isn't what I would like to do.

Please help before I RMA it and it turns out it's fine and I get charged for it.

__________________
Thus I refute thee
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-01-13, 01:39 AM
bluethunder bluethunder is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 65
Have you tried creating a custom resolution?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-01-13, 01:41 AM
OcSurfer's Avatar
OcSurfer OcSurfer is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Essex
Posts: 617
My 670 does it crazy on far cry and then nothing on other game, i think its to do with some of the DX11 settings, fiddle about with it and you should get a happy balance
__________________
Project Arc
i5 4670k, Gigabyte Z87MX-D3H, 2x Sapphire 7850 2gb, Kingston 8gb Hyperx Beast 2133mhz, 2x 120gb Kingston HyperX Raid0, Modded Fractal Arc Midi, 750w Fractal Integra.


Upcoming Custom Parvum build!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-01-13, 01:44 AM
tabby051 tabby051 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 24
I posted on other forums including MSI and basically I have tried every available option you can think of then it just started RSOD on me not even allowing me to sort out anything, luckily I have my GTX 570 still which still works like a dream, I'm going to RMA the card and get a refund since I'm very stressed over all this and just can't be bothered anymore to try and solve something when it just won't work like it should, thanks for trying to help though, appreciated
__________________
Thus I refute thee
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-01-13, 08:12 AM
B1G_WH1T3 B1G_WH1T3 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: South Africa
Posts: 8
Hmm very weird.

I have the same model as you, I'm running 2x 22" LED's and then on HDMI I have either a 37" lcd tv or my 40 " 3d tv both running via hdmi no problems what so ever, you may of gotten a bad batch/card.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:49 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.