Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Project Logs
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 14-10-11, 07:26 PM
Sileo Sileo is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 21
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition

Motherboard: Asus M5A99X EVO

RAM: Corsair Vengeance Black 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz

Graphic Card: EVGA 1280MB GeForce GTX 570 Superclocked

HDD: 750GB Western Digital Caviar Green SATA III

ODD: SAMSUNG SH-S222AB/BEBE

Case: Corsair Carbide 400R

PSU: Antec TruePower New 650W

Total Price: £679.06

Click my profile to see my current rig for comparison.

So what do you guys think?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-10-11, 05:12 PM
wassupdoc's Avatar
wassupdoc wassupdoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 1,481
Looks good but if you want to save money, you could get the top of the range black edition phenom dual core processor then unlock it to 4 cores with your motherboard. Also two EVGA GTX460 1Gb superclocked cards would destroy one of their gtx 570s for the same price, but try and get the rear exhaust ones if you can (unless you have decent airflow)



In the picture bear in mind that these are the stock cards, with the superclocked edition they will be faster XD
__________________
Professional 3D-Printing Nerd
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-10-11, 05:28 PM
wassupdoc's Avatar
wassupdoc wassupdoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 1,481
Just had a look at the case too, looks pretty sweet
__________________
Professional 3D-Printing Nerd
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-10-11, 06:02 PM
S_I_N's Avatar
S_I_N S_I_N is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by wassupdoc View Post

Looks good but if you want to save money, you could get the top of the range black edition phenom dual core processor then unlock it to 4 cores with your motherboard. Also two EVGA GTX460 1Gb superclocked cards would destroy one of their gtx 570s for the same price, but try and get the rear exhaust ones if you can (unless you have decent airflow)

In the picture bear in mind that these are the stock cards, with the superclocked edition they will be faster XD
whatchootalkinboutwillis????? hahaha just chiming in with my 2P get the 570 best bang for buck around and sli later if needed. And if planning sli in future you'll need more juice from a psu go 850watt min on another note as well if the Green is ur only hdd (no ssd) then I'd go Black there awesome drives
__________________


Intel 7700K
Aorus Z270 Gaming K7
2x8GB GSKILL Trident Z 3200MHz
Intel SSD6 256Gb x2 in Raid 0
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
EVGA GTX1080 FTW2 iCX Heat Killer IV block
Custom water Cooled Hardware Labs GTS360/240
ThermalTake Grand RGB 1000w PSU
Corsair Crystal 570X

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-10-11, 06:04 PM
yassarikhan786's Avatar
yassarikhan786 yassarikhan786 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,931
on the WD Caviar Black drives .
__________________
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3) || CPU: i7 2600k || Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 780 Ti ACX || Memory: 16GB - Mushkin Blackline 8GB + Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB || SSD's + HDD's: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS + Programs) + Caviar Black 2TB (Games + Storage) || CPU Cooling: Noctua NH-D14 || Power Supply: BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P9 750W || Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D || Monitor(s): Dell U2410 + Dell U3818DW

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-10-11, 06:42 PM
Paulie Paulie is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 92
I'd spend the extra £35 quid or so and get a 1090T istead of the 955. Also if you ever thinking of going sli in the future your choice of board doesnt support it, gd80 I think is the closest sli board for price
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-10-11, 07:16 PM
Sileo Sileo is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 21
I have looked at caviar blacks and the 1090T but I can't fit them in on my budget, I am buying this with birthday and Christmas money as well as some cash I got for my GCSE results and money from the rig I'm going to sell lol, can't really go any higher than what I am at now but I am looking to see if there is something I can drop and replace with something as good but cheaper I'm thinking maybe about getting a non modular psu (maybe lower wattage) I am going to get SLI in the future (oh and @Paulie my board does support it, I'm pretty sure it does anyway) so I will get a new card plus psu then and swap the 955 with the 1090T not sure I can though, really want to though those six cores are on my mind lol.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15-10-11, 07:18 PM
yassarikhan786's Avatar
yassarikhan786 yassarikhan786 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,931
What about a 500GB Western Digital Black?
__________________
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3) || CPU: i7 2600k || Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 780 Ti ACX || Memory: 16GB - Mushkin Blackline 8GB + Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB || SSD's + HDD's: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS + Programs) + Caviar Black 2TB (Games + Storage) || CPU Cooling: Noctua NH-D14 || Power Supply: BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P9 750W || Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D || Monitor(s): Dell U2410 + Dell U3818DW

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15-10-11, 07:22 PM
Sileo Sileo is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by yassarikhan786 View Post

What about a 500GB Western Digital Black?
If I swap to a non modular psu I can get it but hopefully I am picking all this up tomorrow and the 500GB is out of stock and I cba waiting lol, I will probably get one in the future though.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16-10-11, 11:24 AM
wassupdoc's Avatar
wassupdoc wassupdoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 1,481
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sileo View Post

If I swap to a non modular psu I can get it but hopefully I am picking all this up tomorrow and the 500GB is out of stock and I cba waiting lol, I will probably get one in the future though.
Jonny, ignore whoever said your psu isn't powerful enough, I doubt they know anything about rails and wattage, 500W is plenty with a decent rail, like your power supply has. And your board does support Sli, it's one of it's main features, but i agree about the hdd
__________________
Professional 3D-Printing Nerd
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:49 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.