Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #31  
Old 28-05-11, 05:00 PM
Awoozl Awoozl is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 28
Hmm it still freezes, no BSOD though. That happened only after I installed Skype though.

Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 28-05-11, 05:07 PM
Awoozl Awoozl is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 28
And now I got the same BSOD again -.-

Disabled the onboard sound again. Seems to be working for now.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 29-05-11, 10:45 AM
Awoozl Awoozl is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 28
Or not... Same crashing continues. This time I disabled both the onboard soundcard and LAN, now it gets stuck on the windows loading screen. Once again switched the SSD to the old rig and it loads up fine.

I'm starting to think the mobo is broken. If it was the memory, I think it woulda crashed during the 2h I managed to run Prime95 for. Any other opinions?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 29-05-11, 06:23 PM
SmoulderingCircuits SmoulderingCircuits is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,655
Quote:
Originally Posted by Awoozl View Post

Or not... Same crashing continues. This time I disabled both the onboard soundcard and LAN, now it gets stuck on the windows loading screen. Once again switched the SSD to the old rig and it loads up fine.

I'm starting to think the mobo is broken. If it was the memory, I think it woulda crashed during the 2h I managed to run Prime95 for. Any other opinions?
I think it's your SSD - or maybe it's the SATA on the motherboard? A dodgy northbridge perhaps
__________________


Subroutine
Lubuntu 12.10 | 2880x1024 | AMD E-350

Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 29-05-11, 06:54 PM
Awoozl Awoozl is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 28
It's not the SSD. As I've said the SSD works on another PC, and the HDD from the other PC crashes on the new one as well.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 29-05-11, 06:55 PM
SmoulderingCircuits SmoulderingCircuits is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,655
Quote:
Originally Posted by Awoozl View Post

It's not the SSD. As I've said the SSD works on another PC, and the HDD from the other PC crashes on the new one as well.
Then my vote is with yours on a faulty motherboard
__________________


Subroutine
Lubuntu 12.10 | 2880x1024 | AMD E-350

Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 30-05-11, 11:47 AM
Awoozl Awoozl is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 28
RMA'd the mobo. Back to waiting <.<
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 30-05-11, 12:05 PM
SmoulderingCircuits SmoulderingCircuits is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,655
Quote:
Originally Posted by Awoozl View Post

RMA'd the mobo. Back to waiting <.<
Tell me about it
__________________


Subroutine
Lubuntu 12.10 | 2880x1024 | AMD E-350

Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 31-05-11, 12:41 PM
Penzo Penzo is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugdiamond View Post

he cannot do memtest86 cos he cannot get into windows

i think it is your SSD

have you tried changing from IDE to ACPI in BIOS?
For your information, memtest86 does not require an OS to function
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.