Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Off Topic > Off Topic Chat > Rants
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 23-08-13, 11:52 AM
Ady6UK's Avatar
Ady6UK Ady6UK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Merry Old England
Posts: 114
SUB for future reference: saynoto0870.com
Saves using the 0845 option and will save you a few pennies on your phone bill

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 23-08-13, 11:54 AM
Damien c Damien c is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North West UK
Posts: 1,437
I hope you get it sorted.

I wish there was something I could do to help, but I am on the business side of Virgin and cannot touch the residential side.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 23-08-13, 12:37 PM
Yeren Yeren is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Plymouth UK
Posts: 443
I have just left virgin after being extremely patient with them.

I have had utilization issues over the last 10 months, paying for 100mb but between 6pm and 10pm i usually get between 4mb with many many disconnects between those time. Had a senior engineer come out for 1 hour period whilst this was happening and he recorded 1800 disconnects in a 1 hour period.

They told me they were needing to change the green box at end of my road (about 300metres away) which needed planning permission etc etc. so i gave them benefit of the doubt but the date keeps being moved right from March 2013 up until the Provisional date of Dec 2013 atm.

got given a "sorry" payment for last 7 months of £10p/m with numerous credits of between £5-15. my full package is supposed to cost £109 but last 4 months bills have been sub £70.

So now i have cut all ties, moved to BT, getting 10mb ALL the time waiting till oct for Infinity to be installed in the area and sky for TV got a cracking deal on a new TV package

every channel in HD
free 2TB box
free wireless box for the ondemand

all for £48 p/m for 12 months, then at the end of that no doubt i can get a better of similar deal.

The only thing i will miss is the TiVo box which is amazing, but now i get to watch F1 in HD so im a happy bugger

Morale of story if you have only just joined Virgin, get out whilst you can lol
__________________
3770k -- Asus P8Z77 V-PRO --
Corsair H100i --
16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
EVGA GTX680 Superclock Signature 2
AX760i -- 256GB Crucial M4
CoolerMaster Stryker
27" 2560x1440 Monitor

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 23-08-13, 12:42 PM
ShaunB-91 ShaunB-91 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Southport
Posts: 4,907
Seems like a good deal on Virgin. Can't get it in our area yet, don't see why not!

I just used your normal Sky 17MBish broadband, works great. Don't see the point in fibre optic unless there are loads of you using it.

Our main use is just Wi-Fi, infact not one Ethernet cable is plugged into the router atm, will connect my PC with one though! Only problem I find is if a movie is on Netflix downstairs and I'm gaming, it can affect the movie slightly.

If anyone knows of any good deals on Sky channels with Sports all in HD, let me know. I don't like paying Sky £90 a month just so I can watch WWE and have Wi-Fi lol.
__________________
All Apple Everything
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 23-08-13, 12:47 PM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,717
I know about 0870 think but didn't think 0845 listed the numbers as well. Either way I just got a call back from the original person who I spoke to on day one of setting up the transfer, basically said. You have no idea what I had to deal with lastnight please help, and she's gonna sort it and call me back.

Lesson 1: Employ helpful, english people in your fuarking call centres for the love of fuark
__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 23-08-13, 03:13 PM
Mr Finch's Avatar
Mr Finch Mr Finch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 113
Haha, The amount of time i've spent on the phone raging at VM..

I welcome you to the club! - You have a fun time ahead !
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 23-08-13, 04:10 PM
Spiderz's Avatar
Spiderz Spiderz is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Carlisle
Posts: 504
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB View Post
Lesson 1: Employ helpful, english people in your fuarking call centres for the love of fuark
Could say the same about Three mobile. 5 calls, 4 hours and 2 days to just get a PAC from them to switch my number and half the time they either had me on hold or saying they couldn't hear me on the phone. Shocking customer service.

Virgin are being a bit mean here, they keep posting flyers to the entire town I stay in, the closest fibre/cable broadband is 8 miles away. Sad thing is that if there were actually int he area they would end up with a monopoly over BT and Sky for being the fastest provider about.

Hope you get sorted out soon, never fun when ISPs decide to mess you about and cut off services for no good reason
__________________
Current Rig:
NZXT H440 White, Corsair RM550x , AMD Ryzen 5 1600 w/ Cryorig H5 Universal, MSI GTX 1660 ARMOUR OC, 1TB HDD, MSI x370 Carbon Gaming Pro motherboard, 16GB RAM, Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 23-08-13, 04:54 PM
Ghosthud1's Avatar
Ghosthud1 Ghosthud1 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Huddersfield
Posts: 2,191
The old ntl exchange got bought out by vm years ago, it's less than a mile away and i've never had a single issue. When i need to upgrade i always get a nice welsh bloke on the phone, guess im lucky! That sounds like a hellish phone call though dude, i would of definitely snapped.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 23-08-13, 05:57 PM
dalewakelin's Avatar
dalewakelin dalewakelin is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Aberdeenshire, UK
Posts: 1,582
Send a message via Skype™ to dalewakelin
Just say you will change isp if they don't get it up and running, that's what my dad did with sky and all of a sudden the internet was back the same day
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:06 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.