Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 23-08-13, 06:51 AM
Ulijin Ulijin is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 94
Help please - Rig needs psu flicked off and on to start

Hi Guys,

I've got a problem with my Rig.

Specs:
i7 3770k @ 4.5
SLI EVGA TITAN SC'd
MSI Z77 MPOWER
16GB CORSAIR VENGANCE LP
CORSAIR AX850 PSU
CORSAIR FORCE GT SSD
Switch 810
LG BLUERAY CUP HOLDER

To get it started I need to flick the switch on my PSU on and off a few times quickly and it seems to jolt it into life.

Just turning the PSU off for a while then turning it on and hitting the power button (the one on the mobo) does work. I have noticed something strange though. If I turn it off (the psu) for a while, come back and turn it on the light on the power button (on the mobo) lights up as does the blue light on the I/O panel, but when I press the mobo power button the I/O panel light goes out.

I've removed all my components to see if that'd get it working. I've tried using 2 of my ram sticks (I've 4x4MB ) and then alternating them. Nothing has worked for me.

So I suspect it's either the motherboard or the PSU. Has anyone experienced anything similar before? If so did you figure out which component had gone? Obviously I'd rather not go down the route of RMAing it part by part and spending a few months out of commission.

Many thanks,
Ulijin.

__________________
Watercooled - i7 3770k @ 4.5 - 2x SLI EVGA TITAN SC'd - MSI Z77 MPOWER - 16GB CORSAIR VENGANCE LP - CORSAIR AX850 PSU - CORSAIR FORCE GT SSD - Switch 810 - LG BLUERAY CUP HOLDER...

Rig Gallery:
http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=55766
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-08-13, 10:31 AM
jamesriley94 jamesriley94 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 5,948
If you take out the power supply, 24pin and a molex cable, you can jump-start the PSU from the 24pin like you have to if you're watercooling:
http://seasonicusa.com/RMABeta/JumpStart/JS.pdf

Connect a fan or something to the molex cable and see if the fan starts. If it doesn't, you'll know it's an issue with the power supply, if it does, maybe put the PSU in a different rig and see how it goes?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-08-13, 12:04 PM
Ulijin Ulijin is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 94
Thanks James, good suggestion! I'll try that when I get home.
__________________
Watercooled - i7 3770k @ 4.5 - 2x SLI EVGA TITAN SC'd - MSI Z77 MPOWER - 16GB CORSAIR VENGANCE LP - CORSAIR AX850 PSU - CORSAIR FORCE GT SSD - Switch 810 - LG BLUERAY CUP HOLDER...

Rig Gallery:
http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=55766
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-08-13, 01:37 PM
MicroAlex's Avatar
MicroAlex MicroAlex is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UK, London
Posts: 83
Hey.

Personally I have seen a PC that had somewhat a similar problem. If the rig is off and so is the PSU power button, after turning everything on I would get the lights for a few seconds and then all died. After pressing a few times the power button it would manage to start the PC. If I would turn of the PC for 15 min everything world repeat itself.

I did not have a second powerful enough PSU to test the rig with, so what I did was connect the second weaker PSU to 50% of components and was jump-starting the whole thing with the green and black cable just like jamesriley94 recommended. This resulted in stable operation.

After getting a new PSU all was fine. But my discovery was that the PC I got from the person had a PSU that was operating on its specified limit of power output. This happen when he replaced the GPU and the power requirement went over the PSU capabilities, so after half a year of gaming is when the issues surfaced for him.
I think your current PSU should be enough for the specs you have, but do not quote me on that, dunno how much two Titans and a 3770k would require power wise especially if overclocked.

Once again like jamesriley94 called out, first try powering a fan with the PSU and then go from there and inform us.

Hope this helps
__________________
To all of the FANS - http://microalex.deviantart.com/art/...sair-347479555
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-08-13, 02:25 PM
SparkleDJackson's Avatar
SparkleDJackson SparkleDJackson is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 1,954
http://www.extreme.outervision.com/PSUEngine

thats what i use
__________________
6900k, Evga RTX 2080 ti watercooled w/backplate
64GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3200, Rampage V Edition 10
Corsair 900D.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-08-13, 12:30 AM
Ulijin Ulijin is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 94
Thanks for the suggestions guys. I've tried bridging the PSU and it doesn't spin up the fan. Off I go to order a new one, then I'll RMA this one. Argh I hate the RMA process!
__________________
Watercooled - i7 3770k @ 4.5 - 2x SLI EVGA TITAN SC'd - MSI Z77 MPOWER - 16GB CORSAIR VENGANCE LP - CORSAIR AX850 PSU - CORSAIR FORCE GT SSD - Switch 810 - LG BLUERAY CUP HOLDER...

Rig Gallery:
http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=55766
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24-08-13, 02:44 AM
son of spanner's Avatar
son of spanner son of spanner is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: north london
Posts: 276
I know how you feel about rma im rma ing a asus mobo lol
id would have gone with a 1000 watt psu an ax850 sounds a bit low to me
going by your rig it must be pulling something like 700 watts and doing any kind of overclocking well god know how much your pulling then
its a beast
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24-08-13, 10:11 AM
jamesriley94 jamesriley94 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 5,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by son of spanner View Post
I know how you feel about rma im rma ing a asus mobo lol
id would have gone with a 1000 watt psu an ax850 sounds a bit low to me
going by your rig it must be pulling something like 700 watts and doing any kind of overclocking well god know how much your pulling then
its a beast
The AX850 should be absolutely fine for that.


I'd recommend you RMAing the PSU before buying a new one. Corsair are very quick on returns - and they'll most likely replace it with an AX860/(i).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24-08-13, 10:42 AM
UkGouki's Avatar
UkGouki UkGouki is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Swindon Wilts
Posts: 891
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesriley94 View Post
The AX850 should be absolutely fine for that.


I'd recommend you RMAing the PSU before buying a new one. Corsair are very quick on returns - and they'll most likely replace it with an AX860/(i).

this i rma'd my ram and psu with corsair they do advanced rma basically send you the new parts via a courier and he also picks up the old ones at the same time

well they did that for me then my ram was litrally a day old 1 stick of 4 was DOA but as it was a complete set they had to replace the lot...the psu i had was actually 3 years old hx750w, they replaced it with a ax760w. i sold the old rig it was in a few months ago to fund my new upgrades just wish i kept the new psu oh well..
__________________
Bitfenix shinobi Limited Germany edition. 3 spectre 120 & 2 spectre 140fans. Core i5 3570k ,msi z77a g45,8gb gskill sniper,kfa2 infinity black gtx970, samsung 840 120gb ssd, samsung F1 750gb, WD cavier black 500gb, seagate barcuda 1tb,+320gb, win 7 ultimate 64, acer 23" 3dG235H microsoft CC keyboard, logitech G500 mouse
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24-08-13, 01:11 PM
Ulijin Ulijin is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 94
Thanks for the advice guys. With both the diagnosis and RMA process.

I've already bought an AX860 so I'll wait for that. Wasteful I know but I can't go without my computer and have been burnt a few times by RMA processes so I'd rather not take the risk - although I do agree Corsair generally are very good.

Cheers,
Ulijin.
__________________
Watercooled - i7 3770k @ 4.5 - 2x SLI EVGA TITAN SC'd - MSI Z77 MPOWER - 16GB CORSAIR VENGANCE LP - CORSAIR AX850 PSU - CORSAIR FORCE GT SSD - Switch 810 - LG BLUERAY CUP HOLDER...

Rig Gallery:
http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=55766
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:52 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.