Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 17-08-18, 02:20 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 20,284
Palit RTX 2080 Ti and RTX 2080 GAMINGPRO GPUs pictured

Turing, Turing everywhere.



Read more about Palit's custom RTX 2080 and RTX 2080 Ti graphics cards.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17-08-18, 02:38 PM
stealth80 stealth80 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 60
I thought it was already known that the 2080 would be 8gb or 16gb? so why is this 11gb?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-08-18, 02:42 PM
Darkdayzzz Darkdayzzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by stealth80 View Post
I thought it was already known that the 2080 would be 8gb or 16gb? so why is this 11gb?
The 2080 is 8GB

The 2080ti is 11GB

Both of these are exactly the same GB as their previous gen counterparts (1080 - 8GB and the 1080ti - 11G.

Not sure where you heard they would be 8 / 16 GB....not that I would mind that I think 11GB is kinda silly, always have...but it'll be whatever it'll be.

Not like any games for a few years from now will even remotely take use of 11GB so the higher cost to put in an extra 5GB when it most likely won't even be used just seems silly.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-08-18, 02:45 PM
stealth80 stealth80 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkdayzzz View Post
The 2080 is 8GB

The 2080ti is 11GB

Both of these are exactly the same GB as their previous gen counterparts (1080 - 8GB and the 1080ti - 11G.

Not sure where you heard they would be 8 / 16 GB....not that I would mind that I think 11GB is kinda silly, always have...but it'll be whatever it'll be.

Not like any games for a few years from now will even remotely take use of 11GB so the higher cost to put in an extra 5GB when it most likely won't even be used just seems silly.
Im not convinced by all this, id be very surprised if Nvidia launch the ti alongside the vanilla, I smell photoshop
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17-08-18, 03:12 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,357
Quote:
Originally Posted by stealth80 View Post
Im not convinced by all this, id be very surprised if Nvidia launch the ti alongside the vanilla, I smell photoshop
From what I can understand they are indeed going to release a Ti soon but it won't be a full fat Ti like you were used to in the past. And they will get another round of cards out of this tech, and another Ti.
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17-08-18, 03:14 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 20,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by stealth80 View Post
Im not convinced by all this, id be very surprised if Nvidia launch the ti alongside the vanilla, I smell photoshop
That depends on how long Nvidia wants this to be on the market for. It seems likely that Turing is a TSMC 12nm architecture, if they release the Ti 8-months to a year later they would be arriving at 7nm pretty late.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17-08-18, 03:20 PM
Darkdayzzz Darkdayzzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by stealth80 View Post
Im not convinced by all this, id be very surprised if Nvidia launch the ti alongside the vanilla, I smell photoshop
The only cards "so far" confirmed to be 16GB or higher are the Quadro series

The 2080 / 2080ti box art could absolutely be photoshopped...but I doubt it. Again why would NVIDIA (aside from being a greedy corp lol) bother with 16GB GPUs when we are barely even using 8GB GPUs to their fullest potential (vram capping).

It doesn't make sense in the slightest bit. I'm not saying I have any fact behind the GB range these cards will use or have at launch as I don't know anything about that. But it likely that they will use a very similar max vram as the 1000 series cards.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17-08-18, 03:54 PM
Piskeante Piskeante is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 98
reason for 11gb and not 16 is easy.

There is not a single game using more than 10gb not even in 4K. So there is no point in selling a card with 16gb of memory that will not be used. Moreover, produce a 16gb card is more expensive than 11Gb. Price is also very important.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17-08-18, 04:14 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 20,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piskeante View Post
reason for 11gb and not 16 is easy.

There is not a single game using more than 10gb not even in 4K. So there is no point in selling a card with 16gb of memory that will not be used. Moreover, produce a 16gb card is more expensive than 11Gb. Price is also very important.
It's mostly because the big chip seems to use a 384-bit memory bus. Divide that by 32 and you get 12 chips. Use 8Gb (1G chips and you get yourself 12GB of VRAM.

If Nvidia did a Titan/XX80 Ti segmentation like last time, they cut off one of the 32-bit memory channels and are left with 11 chips, which at 1GB per chip equals 11GB.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17-08-18, 08:58 PM
TheF34RChannel's Avatar
TheF34RChannel TheF34RChannel is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by WYP View Post
That depends on how long Nvidia wants this to be on the market for. It seems likely that Turing is a TSMC 12nm architecture, if they release the Ti 8-months to a year later they would be arriving at 7nm pretty late.
If they indeed release the regular and Ti almost simultaneously, and then a second Ti down the road it'll get messy - like Intel messy. What's the point, of having one Ti now already, I ask?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 10:29 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.