Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 05-11-19, 10:40 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 16,201
1usmus' Custom Power Plan Boosts Zen 2's Boost Performance

AMD's Ryzen 3rd Generation processors still have some performance on the table.



Read more about 1usmus' Custom Power Plan for AMD's Zen 2 processors.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-11-19, 10:50 AM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,537
This looks very convincing, I'd love to see some gaming benches with .1% and 1% lows included - 3000 series might finally be on par there. Though I'm only guessing, but seems intuitive that switching across cores might cause some of the worse frame times AMD has experienced.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-11-19, 11:03 AM
Giggyolly Giggyolly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 178
an extra 200MHz on my 3600x would be pretty damn sweet. Lets see how this plays out lol
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-19, 01:56 AM
m2geek m2geek is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giggyolly View Post
an extra 200MHz on my 3600x would be pretty damn sweet. Lets see how this plays out lol
Literally in the same boat. Gonna have to give it a whirl tbh.
__________________
i7 7700k :: Gigabyte Z270MX-Gaming-5 :: 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 3200mhz :: Strix 1080 A8E :: Samsung 960 Evo NVMe M2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-19, 04:06 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,375
Quote:
Originally Posted by looz View Post
This looks very convincing, I'd love to see some gaming benches with .1% and 1% lows included - 3000 series might finally be on par there. Though I'm only guessing, but seems intuitive that switching across cores might cause some of the worse frame times AMD has experienced.
It's not switching cores. It's just telling windows to go to the best cores the CPU has for the better performance. It's supposed to reduce core hopping as stated
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-19, 04:20 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,537
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
It's not switching cores. It's just telling windows to go to the best cores the CPU has for the better performance. It's supposed to reduce core hopping as stated
Core hopping ie. switching the core thread is being executed on.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-19, 05:10 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,375
I know what it means, however it is telling Windows which cores to target in the first place. Not switch them during execution. I'm not sure what the confusion is
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:51 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.