Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 26-08-14, 03:05 PM
Maraio1 Maraio1 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 28
Can you do the 4790K in A Z87 Motherboard?

Hi there!
In this (http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=66368) new build advice thread, I said that I was looking to get the 4690K, but I'm now looking at the 4790K, due to the 4GHz Base and 4.4GHz Boost clock speed and that I have more money than expected due to some great GCSE results. This means that I can basically put it in my system and forget about it (or a tiny overclock if I feel brave )
So I've looked around in in TTL's video he talks about them being "Intercompatible" which sounds good, but then on a product description it says Z97 only (well not only, but doesn't say Z87)


And some people have been saying that I need to update my BIOS, but how will I do that if it won't boot?
Thanks in Advance!

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26-08-14, 03:21 PM
hmmblah's Avatar
hmmblah hmmblah is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,686
Yes it'll work with Z87, but you may need a BIOS update first. If you don't have a CPU you can use to do the update you will need to borrow one or find out what BIOS the board ships with and make sure your CPU is supported.

Any reason you are choosing Z87 over Z97?
__________________
CaseLabs Mercury S3 | AMD 3900X | ROG CH8 Impact | RTX 2080 Super | 32GB DDR4 | 1TB NVMe
Acer Predator Z35P


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26-08-14, 03:23 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 21,152
Its the same cpu basically - it will run fine you dont have to update before hand but it is advised to get it done as soon as your rig is together (if youre buying a used mobo for example)
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26-08-14, 03:27 PM
RamboOC RamboOC is offline
Suspended By Request of Police
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 994
Yes it will work, But in most cases you will need to flash a bios update first
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-08-14, 03:33 PM
Maraio1 Maraio1 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmmblah View Post
Yes it'll work with Z87, but you may need a BIOS update first. If you don't have a CPU you can use to do the update you will need to borrow one or find out what BIOS the board ships with and make sure your CPU is supported.

Any reason you are choosing Z87 over Z97?
I'm going Z87 as the MB I'm going with is the ASUS Impact VI, so how would I update or "Flash" the BIOS?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26-08-14, 03:47 PM
RamboOC RamboOC is offline
Suspended By Request of Police
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maraio1 View Post
I'm going Z87 as the MB I'm going with is the ASUS Impact VI, so how would I update or "Flash" the BIOS?
You would need to get a haswell cpu first, download latest bios file then go into bios and find ez flash utality, and select the bios file to update to, only then you will be able to use the haswell refresh cpu's
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26-08-14, 06:22 PM
Maraio1 Maraio1 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by RamboOC View Post
You would need to get a haswell cpu first, download latest bios file then go into bios and find ez flash utality, and select the bios file to update to, only then you will be able to use the haswell refresh cpu's
Well I don't want to be putting £150 onto my budget, so what would be a good Z87 replacement?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26-08-14, 07:19 PM
barnsley's Avatar
barnsley barnsley is offline
born in a.....
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 7,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maraio1 View Post
Well I don't want to be putting £150 onto my budget, so what would be a good Z87 replacement?
you could just get a haswell celeron for £30
__________________
Rig: i7 [email protected]|2x8gb HyperX Fury|Intel z97-AR|Corsair H75| 2x Nvidia 1070 founders edition|Superflower leadex 750W gold|Inwin 904| 970 EVO 500GB m.2|512GB evo 840| Crucial MX 500 500GB|ASUS MG279Q +Acer S240HL| Windows 10 pro, 8.1 pro| Kubuntu LTS
Audio: Silverstone EB01-E+EB03+DT 770 Pro 250Ω+Samson SAGOMIC
Ducky Legend (cherry red)+Zowie AM-FG
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26-08-14, 07:21 PM
Maraio1 Maraio1 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
you could just get a haswell celeron for £30
Link please?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-08-14, 07:41 PM
RamboOC RamboOC is offline
Suspended By Request of Police
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maraio1 View Post
Link please?
Here is one for £29 with free delivery & brand new
Intel Celeron G1820
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Intel-Celero...&keywords=1150

basically a haswell version of my ivy bridge cpu
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
4790k, bios, z87, z97

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:53 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.