Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 30-11-13, 01:29 PM
Noob's Avatar
Noob Noob is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
i5-2500K overclock help

hey guys, looking for some help!

Yesterday I started following the Gigabyte overclocking video from this website, followed it step by step, for around 30 minutes. I got to the first overclock, and lost all video. then had to reset the bios, video came back but windows wasn't starting up, it was going into start up repair, as always that didn't fix anything. so I had to do a fresh install, which is all set up now.
after installing all drivers I take a look on CPU-Z and the voltage on the CPU is jumping from around 0.970 to 1.200, and core speed is jumping from 1500MHz to 3300MHz, this wasn't happening before I reset the bios.

I'm not really sure why I lost video or the ssd crashed.
any help would be amazing. thanks.
I would love to get this rig up to 4.00GHz

running on...
Intel i5-2500K
not sure what the cooler is called but it's good enough for overclocking
Z77-D3H Mobo
8gb DDR3. 1600MHz (i think)
Radeon HD 6950 2gb
OCZ 120GB SSD with AHCI enabled in the bios.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-11-13, 01:53 PM
cooperman's Avatar
cooperman cooperman is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: UK/west-mids
Posts: 812
When you reset the bios i am gessing all the power saving options have been enabled.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 2600,Patriot Viper 4 16GB 2x 8GB 3200 Ghz,Gigabyte B450M DS3H,Patriot BURST 480GB SSD x2, MSI 5700, Aerocool White Aero One Mini Eclipse, seasonic m12ii 620w,Deepcool gammaxx 400 v2.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-11-13, 03:02 PM
Noob's Avatar
Noob Noob is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooperman View Post
When you reset the bios i am gessing all the power saving options have been enabled.
thanks for the reply, thought it might be the power saving options.
I've been looking at my RAM and the speed is 800MHz, when following the instructions of the overclocking video in the Bios i set it to 1333MHz, could this be the problem for video loss?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bios, cpu voltage, lost video, overclocking

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:12 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.