Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #21  
Old 11-08-17, 01:05 PM
BigDaddyKong's Avatar
BigDaddyKong BigDaddyKong is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 951
I just wish it was on the Hero

__________________
AMD R7 1800X-Asus Crosshair VI Hero-16GB GSkill 3200mhz-Corsair HX1000-XSPC Raystorm Copper Edition-Dual D5 Pumps-Corsair Force 3 SSD-Sapphire Fury X2-Corsair 900D-Windows 10 Pro-Dell U3011-Dell 2007FP
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-09-17, 03:07 PM
Domt5chord Domt5chord is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 4
I have bought this board - the first time one of the screws would not come loose no matte what I did - and I needed to get to the M.2 slot. The second board would not post - no power to the components.

I am honestly afraid I'm doing something wrong - even though I've built many computers in the past. Has anyone else here gone through multiple motherboards of the same type until they got one that worked? Especially in the ROG series that is supposed to be built really well?

Tom?

What do you think?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-09-17, 03:20 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Domt5chord View Post
I have bought this board - the first time one of the screws would not come loose no matte what I did - and I needed to get to the M.2 slot. The second board would not post - no power to the components.

I am honestly afraid I'm doing something wrong - even though I've built many computers in the past. Has anyone else here gone through multiple motherboards of the same type until they got one that worked? Especially in the ROG series that is supposed to be built really well?

Tom?

What do you think?

I cant really say without being there dude. Screws wise it should have come off.

Lack of posting / starting is normally some kind of config issue
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-09-17, 11:32 PM
Domt5chord Domt5chord is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 4
Well...

I know the PS is good
I know the CPU is good
I know the M.2 is good (That third screw would not come out on the first board - stripped the head of the screw trying to get it out)
I know the cooling is good
I know the Video Card is good

I just swapped the Extreme for the Hero.

I value your opinion as a reviewer over almost anyone else's

Which is why I asked.

New board gets here tomorrow. Can I keep you updated?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-09-17, 07:57 AM
JLR JLR is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Wales
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Domt5chord View Post
Well...

I know the PS is good
I know the CPU is good
I know the M.2 is good (That third screw would not come out on the first board - stripped the head of the screw trying to get it out)
I know the cooling is good
I know the Video Card is good

I just swapped the Extreme for the Hero.

I value your opinion as a reviewer over almost anyone else's

Which is why I asked.

New board gets here tomorrow. Can I keep you updated?
Could have just been a dodgy board in the batch mate.

Years ago I bought a Gigabyte board that wouldn't post, ended up sending 5 of them back with the exact same problem.

I put an Asus board in and it posted straight away, sometimes its luck of the draw.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-09-17, 09:03 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Domt5chord View Post

New board gets here tomorrow. Can I keep you updated?

Ill do my best to keep an eye open..... Im always mega busy, more testing and reviews means less forum time sadly
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-09-17, 04:57 PM
Domt5chord Domt5chord is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 4
Got the new board - this one is not "dodgy" at all...got it into the rig, everything is booted up and I'm good to go.

I trust your reviews over almost anybody else - thanks Tom!
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 22-09-17, 04:14 AM
Domt5chord Domt5chord is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 4
Tom,

I am having a heckuva time getting my ram overclocked - any suggestions? Won't go past 2133
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-12-17, 01:13 PM
XPredator XPredator is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 10
My next mobo for sure. Just sold my old rig, Sabertooth X99 + 6800K, a usb nightmare...going for this one plus a 1700, next year for rysen 2! Thx for your review TTL, i've been active on YT channel for YEARS now, but not much in here! Cheers from Brazil my dear!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 09:33 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.