Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 29-03-18, 10:11 AM
TuN TuN is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
Angry 8600k + AsRock z370 Extreme 4 @ 4.8 Ghz

Hello.

I'm trying to overclock my 8600k to 4.8 Ghz with mentioned board.
Note that I'm using Scythe Mugen 5 Rev.B air cooler, which should be more than sufficient.

Right now, the workers are stopping in prime95 for some reason, I have the voltage set to 1.36v, which should be way higher than needed, and apparently I'm doing something wrong, and wanted to ask you guys here before I raise the voltage.
RAM is on XMP @ 3.2 Ghz.

I've noticed that the voltage drops to 1.216 during stress tests, which could be the reason for stability issues, but I have no idea what's causing it, since I've set the voltage to "Fixed" at 1.36v

Cpu Ratio: 48
CPU Cache Ratio: 40
Minimum CPU Cache Ratio: 40

Intel SpeedStep Technology: Disabled
Intel Turbo Boost Technology: Enabled
Intel Speed Shift Technology: Disabled

AVX Ratio Offset: 3
CPU Load Line Calibration: Level 4
VT-d: Disabled
BCLK Spread Spectrum: Disabled
CPU C States Support: Disabled
Long Duration Power Limit: max
Short Duration Power Limit: max
CPU Core Current Limit: max

Other things are set to default.

EDIT: OCCT on CPU:Linpack crashed after 15minutes, probably because 1.216v was too low.
I've set LLC to Level 1 and applied 1.25v to CPU, testing again

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-03-18, 10:44 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 13,389
I have not worked with many ASRock motherboards in the past, but how high can you turn load-line calibration?

1.36 sounds very high for Coffee Lake, I would see what I could get at around 1.3, though that will require you to settle this LLC issue first.

Are you running on the board's latest BIOS?
__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-03-18, 10:47 AM
TuN TuN is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
Yes I have updated the BIOS straight away to the latest one.

Apparently setting the LLC to level 1 has helped as well. ( there are maximum of 5 levels of LLC to set )

I've put 1.25v on CPU now, OCCT doesn't seem to be having issues, while prime95 still stops a random worker. Temps are 78 - 81 degrees C.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-03-18, 11:20 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 13,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by TuN View Post
Yes I have updated the BIOS straight away to the latest one.

Apparently setting the LLC to level 1 has helped as well. ( there are maximum of 5 levels of LLC to set )

I've put 1.25v on CPU now, OCCT doesn't seem to be having issues, while prime95 still stops a random worker. Temps are 78 - 81 degrees C.
So is the CPU staying at 1.25v under load now? Which version of prime95 are you using? (some versions are a lot heavier than others, depending on what AVX modes they use).
__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-03-18, 11:24 AM
TuN TuN is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
I'm using 26.6 version ( non AVX one ).
I don't like the current temps, 80 seems quite high, especially because the GPU is in idle, which would add up for sure ( plus it'll be even more in the summer ). Would prefer it to be below 75, but even now it seems that the voltage is too low, since the prime95 workers are still crashing.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29-03-18, 11:31 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 13,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by TuN View Post
I'm using 26.6 version ( non AVX one ).
I don't like the current temps, 80 seems quite high, especially because the GPU is in idle, which would add up for sure ( plus it'll be even more in the summer ). Would prefer it to be below 75, but even now it seems that the voltage is too low, since the prime95 workers are still crashing.
You may need to try 4.7GHz then, which is still a pretty good clock speed under air TBH.
__________________
One of these days I'll change my name to Mark Bench
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29-03-18, 11:38 AM
TuN TuN is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
Doing it right now.
Clock at 4.7 Ghz, voltage at 1.23v, temps 10 minutes in are 72 on lowest core, 74 on highest core, so that's the temps I like to see. The computer is gonna be bottlenecked by 1060 anyway so it's kinda pointless to push the CPU cooler to it's limits anyway

EDIT: prime has finally passed 15 min stress test without a worker stopping, so I'll keep it like this.

Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-04-18, 06:39 AM
mutantaxe mutantaxe is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 88
there are 2 overclocking forums...one for graphics and the other for CPU's etc

It confused me because I couldnt find my post at first. Anyway have the K6 Gaming model and its comfortable at 5.00 MHz with temps in the 60's max but I have AIO . Still so many settings that confuse the hell out of me , Only have the LLC set to 2

want to give it a good workout so looking at Prime95 ..edit, just tried latest version and BSOD after 15 seconds

am running at 1.3 volts


Where did you get your CPU cache ratio from ? Saw somewhere it mentionsed that it should be the same as your overclock ?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20-04-18, 12:35 PM
Ady6UK's Avatar
Ady6UK Ady6UK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Merry Old England
Posts: 113
https://youtu.be/yg1rMGkCxDY

This might give you a few pointers.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:45 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.