Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Cases & Power
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 08-01-14, 02:04 PM
MikeyTen4's Avatar
MikeyTen4 MikeyTen4 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 19
Safe to use on-haswell certified PSU in a haswell build?

Hi everyone

Just wondering, is there anything dangerous about using a non-haswell certified PSU with a 4770K haswell chip?

I'm RMAing a Seasonic PSU and I'm just wondering if I can safely use an older Thermaltake PSU I've got currently installed in my previous system while I'm waiting for the Seasonic replacement. I know about the C6 / C7 state thing, whereby the chip will consume more power when idling, but is that the only thing I need to be aware of?

Cheers
Mike

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-14, 02:10 PM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,717
Yes you can, but I wouldn't risk using a Thermaltake psu regardless.
__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-14, 02:29 PM
MikeyTen4's Avatar
MikeyTen4 MikeyTen4 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 19
Oh right It's like that is it!

It's a TR2 500w thing that has always been fine in my previous build, so it would certainly help with the week long RMA wait. But now you've got me thinking!

Soooo, there's no intrinsic danger anyway. Cheers, I'll think it over and let you know if my shiny new build goes up in flames

EDIT: According to Newegg it's haswell ready at least. Although Thermaltake's own page doesn't say so.

Cheers for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-14, 02:32 PM
ShaunB-91 ShaunB-91 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Southport
Posts: 4,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeyTen4 View Post
Oh right It's like that is it!

It's a TR2 500w thing that has always been fine in my previous build, so it would certainly help with the week long RMA wait. But now you've got me thinking!

Soooo, there's no intrinsic danger anyway. Cheers, I'll think it over and let you know if my shiny new build goes up in flames
Lol he just means a lot of brands aren't trusted round here, mainly OCZ and Thermaltake, or Thermaltacky as most refer to it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-14, 02:43 PM
MikeyTen4's Avatar
MikeyTen4 MikeyTen4 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaunB-91 View Post
Lol he just means a lot of brands aren't trusted round here, mainly OCZ and Thermaltake, or Thermaltacky as most refer to it.
Hahaha, well I've learnt something new at least

To be honest, if I do go ahead it's gonna feel like I've indecently assaulted my sexy new Haswell build by taking out the modular fanless seasonic that's being RMA'ed.. and then brutally slamming in the dirty non-modular Thermaltake!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-01-14, 03:30 PM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,717
patience is a virtue
__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-01-14, 07:39 PM
Permafrost's Avatar
Permafrost Permafrost is offline
Compo Whore
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Gallifrey
Posts: 2,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB View Post
Yes you can, but I wouldn't risk using a Thermaltake psu regardless.


trust me mate, don't make the same mistake that i did and use Thermaltake PSU's..
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-01-14, 11:37 AM
MikeyTen4's Avatar
MikeyTen4 MikeyTen4 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 19
Wow, haha... ok, I think I must have just had a lucky 6 years using my Thermaltake PSU! But you've done enough to scare me off hooking it up to my new machine I guess a little wait won't hurt, I just wanted to keep playing with my new toy
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-01-14, 12:26 PM
TheOuterOne's Avatar
TheOuterOne TheOuterOne is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB View Post
patience is a virtue
Sorry, I just had to link this.
http://www.patience-is-a-virtue.org/
__________________
THEOUTERBOX V1

AMD Sempron 2800+
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-01-14, 01:02 PM
MikeyTen4's Avatar
MikeyTen4 MikeyTen4 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOuterOne View Post
Sorry, I just had to link this.
http://www.patience-is-a-virtue.org/
I clicked the link, but I don't think that page is working properly...



Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
certified, haswell, psu, seasonic, thermaltake

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:01 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.