Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 16-04-14, 10:24 AM
H3M4NZ H3M4NZ is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Barnsley, UK
Posts: 16
Send a message via Skype™ to H3M4NZ
Red face Haswell Mobo Upgrade from Micro ATX Haswell

Hi guys - I'm completely new here but watched a lot of TTL on YouTube and read the forums a lot too!

I would say my knowledge on computing in general is at a high level but have always bought motherboard bundles when building systems to save myself from making boo boos when choosing CPUs and motherboards.

So my question to you all is:

I bought a bundle for my Plex server, but being the idiot I am bought an micro ATX board (gigabyte ga-h81m-d2v) and an i3 Processor (4340 haswell). I'm happy with everything apart from the board. It only has 4 SATA connections and I have need for more. Looked at buying PCI-e x1 RAID card and the one I bought wont work properly. So now I have made myself appear a complete N00B, I want to upgrade my motherboard to one I have found on Overclockers.co.uk

Asus Z87-K Intel Z87 - http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...=5&subcat=2574

It is the right price and as far as I am aware the right socket so my existing CPU will fit (hopefully)

What I want to know is if I change the mobo over to the new ASUS k, will I have to reinstall my OS (server 2k8 enterprise) or will I be able to boot into the OS and install mobo drivers.

I honestly appreciate any help you can give me and apologise if I have excluded anything important or posted in wrong area etc

Thanks again guys.

Ben

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-04-14, 12:06 PM
lAnimal's Avatar
lAnimal lAnimal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Offaly, Ireland
Posts: 205
Yes, it will fit. z87 is haswell so anything haswell will fit it (which your cpu is )
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-04-14, 12:07 PM
H3M4NZ H3M4NZ is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Barnsley, UK
Posts: 16
Send a message via Skype™ to H3M4NZ
Thanks! Just ordered it, do you know if I will need to reinstall OS?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-04-14, 12:37 PM
Josh Weston Josh Weston is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 3,520
Indeed you should.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-04-14, 12:38 PM
H3M4NZ H3M4NZ is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Barnsley, UK
Posts: 16
Send a message via Skype™ to H3M4NZ
Cheers, just wanted to make sure.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-04-14, 01:38 PM
lAnimal's Avatar
lAnimal lAnimal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Offaly, Ireland
Posts: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by H3M4NZ View Post
Thanks! Just ordered it, do you know if I will need to reinstall OS?
I've been wondering that myself, but that mobo looks really good, I'm jealous
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29-06-14, 06:53 PM
H3M4NZ H3M4NZ is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Barnsley, UK
Posts: 16
Send a message via Skype™ to H3M4NZ
Just to let you know, got it and didn't need to re-install. Just installed drivers (even on server 2008) worked a dream

Probably not the best thing to leave the old drivers - but as my old computing lecturer used to say "it works dunnit" haha
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
atx, cpu, haswell, micro, motherboard

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:29 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.