Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Project Logs
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 19-09-14, 01:49 PM
Kei's Avatar
Kei Kei is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: South Wales
Posts: 339
Budget storage server

Decided I wanted to build a server/nas to help with backups etc so I've cobbled together all of my spare parts and collected a few freebies across the last few months. Here's how it looks at present:

Gigabyte MA-790FXT-UD5P
AMD Phenom II X4 955
Corsair Dominator 4GB 1600
Nvidia Quadro FX3500
LSI MegaRaid SAS 8888ELP
Delta 825W PSU
Belkin USB 3.0 card
Prolimatech Megahalems
Coolermaster CM690-II

Hard drive wise, at present I have a load of different disks ranging from 500GB to 1TB. (8x 500GB, 2x 640GB and a 1TB ) I reckon 8x 2TB drives on the HBA in RAID 5 (maybe 6) should suffice for main storage. (may start out with 4 due to cost and expand later) I can then use the 4x 500GB seagate constellation ES2 drives I already have in a RAID 10 array using the onboard sata for the OS giving 1TB mirrored, which should fit within the non EFI constraints for bootup. I'll need to get two ICYBOX backplanes that fit 3x 3.5" drives into 2x 5.25" bays. I'm hoping to use ubuntu server 14.04 on it too, not sure on the file system type yet though.



Trying to keep it reasonably neat, though i imagine cable chaos will ensue once I have all 12 disks fitted.



My old phenom II x4 955 which I bought back in 2008 and ran at 3.7GHz right up until january this year has a new lease of life. I will probably drop the clocks back down and see how low i can drop the voltage. (being an old C2 stepping it liked lots of volts) Get the feeling it'll be overkill for the intended purpose.


An HP branded LSI MegaRAID 8888ELP 8 port SAS HBA and an nvidia quadro FX3500. (again probably too powerful for the purpose)


Tried the PSU in the phanteks and it doesn't fit either. (even though the bolt locations are ATX, the physical size is WTX and is significantly bigger than ATX. Nicely made supply though.


Unfortunately upon testing, I have not been able to get any life from it, just powers on and sits there gpu fan spinning full tilt. Tried some basic bits like resetting the cmos, trying one memory module at a time and no drives connected, but no luck. So far I've found that the GPU, RAID card and memory is all still working perfectly. That leaves the psu, motherboard and processor. Though the motherboard, processor and ram were all working happily together before which leaves me with major doubts about the psu. I'll need to pull the psu out of the other pc to test tonight. If it is where the fault lies, I'll have to buy a new psu. (I have a sneaking suspicion that WTX pinout differs from ATX)

__________________
Motherboard: Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 || CPU: AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1920x || Graphics Card: MSi Geforce GTX 780 OC ||
Memory: 32GB 8 Pack Pro 3200C14 || Storage: Crucial M500 240GB + WD Se 4TB + Se 1TB + Black 1TB + Constellation ES.2 750GB ||
Cooling: EK Supremacy EVO TR4 + EK FC TITAN + 480 + 240 αcool XT45 rads + XSPC D5 + Photon 270 || PSU: Corsair TX650V2 ||
Case: Phanteks Enthoo Primo || Sound: Marantz AV7701 + InterM R300 + Tannoy SRM-10B || Monitor(s): Dell U2408WFP + HP LP2475w
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20-09-14, 10:52 PM
Kei's Avatar
Kei Kei is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: South Wales
Posts: 339
Swapped out the PSU for one out of the backup pc and it now works as it should so a new psu is on the cards. A low power unit should be perfect but will need to be efficient. Looking at a superflower golden green 450/550W unit for that.

I'm also looking at what fans to get as airflow will need to be high as the raid controller produces a lot of heat. I've been considering either high rpm eloops or the new Silverstone SST-FQ121 FQ gentle typhoon copies. Since there are 7 spaces to fill, I'm preferring the silverstones as they are cheaper. I have a 38mm thick matsua which i may use either as an intake or exhaust, though I believe that it is very high rpm.

Last of all, I discovered that the SAS-SATA cable that came with the card is a reverse breakout cable and therefore doesn't work for my intended purpose. (doesn't even detect drives when plugged in)
__________________
Motherboard: Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 || CPU: AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1920x || Graphics Card: MSi Geforce GTX 780 OC ||
Memory: 32GB 8 Pack Pro 3200C14 || Storage: Crucial M500 240GB + WD Se 4TB + Se 1TB + Black 1TB + Constellation ES.2 750GB ||
Cooling: EK Supremacy EVO TR4 + EK FC TITAN + 480 + 240 αcool XT45 rads + XSPC D5 + Photon 270 || PSU: Corsair TX650V2 ||
Case: Phanteks Enthoo Primo || Sound: Marantz AV7701 + InterM R300 + Tannoy SRM-10B || Monitor(s): Dell U2408WFP + HP LP2475w
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-09-14, 11:24 AM
Kei's Avatar
Kei Kei is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: South Wales
Posts: 339
Ordered the necessary parts on sunday. It'll be arriving in dribs & drabs this week.

This is the full spec now:

Phenom II X4 955
Gigabyte MA-790FXT-UD5P
4GB Corsair dominator 1600
LSI megaRAID 8888ELP HBA
Nvidia quadro FX3500 (looks to be the equivalent of a 7900GS)
4x 2TB WD Se drives (will expand to 8 further down the road, £800 on disks is a bit much, still deciding between RAID 5 or 6)
4x 500GB Seagate Constellation ES2 (RAID 10 for OS)
2x LSI CBL-SFF8087OCF-06M forward breakout cables
2x ICYBOX 553SK SAS/SATA backplanes (allows for 6 disks to be fitted into the 5.25" bays)
1x Noctua NF-F12 IndustrialPPC 3000RPM PWM (for the cpu cooler)
5x Scythe Kama Flow2 1900RPM Fan - 120mm (I'm hoping they are basically the same as the old S-flex series)
1x NMB-MAT 4715KL-04W-B40 120x38mm fan (ridiculously loud even at 7 volts)
1x Yate Loon D14BH-12 140x25mm fan (liberated from my TX650 psu)
550W Superflower Golden Green HX PSU
__________________
Motherboard: Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 || CPU: AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1920x || Graphics Card: MSi Geforce GTX 780 OC ||
Memory: 32GB 8 Pack Pro 3200C14 || Storage: Crucial M500 240GB + WD Se 4TB + Se 1TB + Black 1TB + Constellation ES.2 750GB ||
Cooling: EK Supremacy EVO TR4 + EK FC TITAN + 480 + 240 αcool XT45 rads + XSPC D5 + Photon 270 || PSU: Corsair TX650V2 ||
Case: Phanteks Enthoo Primo || Sound: Marantz AV7701 + InterM R300 + Tannoy SRM-10B || Monitor(s): Dell U2408WFP + HP LP2475w
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-09-14, 10:41 PM
Kei's Avatar
Kei Kei is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: South Wales
Posts: 339
Bits from ocuk arrived this afternoon.


Finally starting to resemble a server. Not sure whether to have the side panel fan pull air in or blow it out.



I've tried to keep the cables reasonably tidy. No cables are tied in yet as I need to wait until I have the other parts that I'm waiting for. I reckon the SAS cables are going to be a nightmare to keep neat.
__________________
Motherboard: Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 || CPU: AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1920x || Graphics Card: MSi Geforce GTX 780 OC ||
Memory: 32GB 8 Pack Pro 3200C14 || Storage: Crucial M500 240GB + WD Se 4TB + Se 1TB + Black 1TB + Constellation ES.2 750GB ||
Cooling: EK Supremacy EVO TR4 + EK FC TITAN + 480 + 240 αcool XT45 rads + XSPC D5 + Photon 270 || PSU: Corsair TX650V2 ||
Case: Phanteks Enthoo Primo || Sound: Marantz AV7701 + InterM R300 + Tannoy SRM-10B || Monitor(s): Dell U2408WFP + HP LP2475w
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-09-14, 02:18 AM
Kleptobot's Avatar
Kleptobot Kleptobot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 182
quick question, why do you have a gfx card in the system? if its just a server couldn't you just ssh into it for admin stuff?
__________________
delided 3570k (watercooled)
hd7970 (watercooled)
8GB Gskill XM
3*140 SR1 Rad
all stuffed in an FD arc midi
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-09-14, 07:05 AM
YouWhat's Avatar
YouWhat YouWhat is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: ›>« βα™ªη§ ζΔνε »<‹
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kleptobot View Post
quick question, why do you have a gfx card in the system? if its just a server couldn't you just ssh into it for admin stuff?
Why will be because the motherboard has no onboard graphics, so booting the machine will be a problem without it.
__________________
Intel i7 4790K | Asus ROG Maximus VII Hero | 2 x Asus ROG Striker Platinum 4GB GTX 760 in SLI
16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro @ 2400 | Corsair RM 850 | Corsair H100i | Corsair Obsidian 750D
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24-09-14, 08:10 AM
Kei's Avatar
Kei Kei is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: South Wales
Posts: 339
Pretty much as above. In any case, until I've actually installed the OS I wouldn't be able to remote in. According to the technical data the maximum power consumption is 80W which doesn't sound too bad considering it'll be at idle 90% of the time.
__________________
Motherboard: Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 || CPU: AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1920x || Graphics Card: MSi Geforce GTX 780 OC ||
Memory: 32GB 8 Pack Pro 3200C14 || Storage: Crucial M500 240GB + WD Se 4TB + Se 1TB + Black 1TB + Constellation ES.2 750GB ||
Cooling: EK Supremacy EVO TR4 + EK FC TITAN + 480 + 240 αcool XT45 rads + XSPC D5 + Photon 270 || PSU: Corsair TX650V2 ||
Case: Phanteks Enthoo Primo || Sound: Marantz AV7701 + InterM R300 + Tannoy SRM-10B || Monitor(s): Dell U2408WFP + HP LP2475w
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24-09-14, 08:20 AM
Kushiro Kushiro is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,193
wait what, all that will only sip on 80W of power. How is that possible? Sorry if this is a stupid question, its just that I have no experience with this sort of thing.
__________________
i7 5930k 4.7Ghz ~1.34v - Asus X99 Deluxe - G.Skill 32GB 2800mhz 4x8GB - NZXT Switch 810 White Edition - 3x EVGA Geforce GTX 980Ti - 2x Samsung 850 2TB - Corsair AX1500i

Watercooling - custom
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24-09-14, 11:00 AM
Kei's Avatar
Kei Kei is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: South Wales
Posts: 339
I wish the whole lot would manage 80W, that's just the quadro gpu max consumption. The phenom II is a 125W cpu on it's own. Though I'm going to try and reduce that by dropping the clock speed and voltage.

Here's a rough idea on max power consumption:

Phenom II - 125W
Quadro 3500 - 80W
Motherboard - 70-75W (estimated)
LSI 8888elp - 19.2W
Seagate Constellation ES 500GB - 6.5W (each) (26W for 4)
WD Se 2TB - 7.3W (each) (58.4W for 8)
Scythe fans - 4.5W (each) (22.5W for 5)
Noctua fan - 3.6W
NMB-mat fan - 11W
Yate loon d14bh-12 - 9W
USB 3.0 card - 5W (estimated)

Total - 435W Maximum.

At idle this should be significantly lower.
__________________
Motherboard: Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 || CPU: AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1920x || Graphics Card: MSi Geforce GTX 780 OC ||
Memory: 32GB 8 Pack Pro 3200C14 || Storage: Crucial M500 240GB + WD Se 4TB + Se 1TB + Black 1TB + Constellation ES.2 750GB ||
Cooling: EK Supremacy EVO TR4 + EK FC TITAN + 480 + 240 αcool XT45 rads + XSPC D5 + Photon 270 || PSU: Corsair TX650V2 ||
Case: Phanteks Enthoo Primo || Sound: Marantz AV7701 + InterM R300 + Tannoy SRM-10B || Monitor(s): Dell U2408WFP + HP LP2475w
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24-09-14, 01:38 PM
Kushiro Kushiro is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,193
ok makes way more sense, I was thinking 80W for that entire system would be nuts.

Why not get a more efficient cpu like a celeron with onboard graphics? could get one for about $50 and would only consume something like 30W
__________________
i7 5930k 4.7Ghz ~1.34v - Asus X99 Deluxe - G.Skill 32GB 2800mhz 4x8GB - NZXT Switch 810 White Edition - 3x EVGA Geforce GTX 980Ti - 2x Samsung 850 2TB - Corsair AX1500i

Watercooling - custom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:43 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.