Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 30-10-14, 09:38 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,709
Water level keeps dropping, yet no leaks

Ok this is driving me bonkers. I only got into WCing 1 year ago, and for the most part I've been leak free. One of my rads developed a tiny leak not long ago (TFC Admiral). Known issue, got a set of replacement end tanks from my awesome local retailer, installed those without issue. I pulled the rad out of my loop without fully draining the loop though (since my loop is a bit complex, and I'm lazy). One of the connections to the rad has a QDC on it, so I just popped that off, then ripped off the other hose and drained the rad into a bowl, then plugged the open tube with a stopper. Removed rad, replaced end tanks, and shoved it back into the loop.

I topped off the loop, and after many air bubbles, things were back to normal, or so I thought. The water level kept dropping, and I kept telling myself it was just air working itself out of the loop. I checked for leaks many times (and still do), but I can't see a drop of leakage anywhere. Yet the water level has been dropping steadily. I fixed the rad almost 2 weeks ago, so any air bubbles should have been worked out by now (tube res is bubble free).

So either I'm going crazy, or I have the ninja assassin of water leaks. I can't find it anywhere. My pedestal *is* a bit tricky to see into, but I can tell there's no water beneath the pedestal rads, nor on the rad fittings.

WTF?

__________________
Games: Ryzen 5950X on GB Aorus Master X570 / Asus TUF 6900XT / 32GB TridentZ Neo 3600CL16 (16GB x 2) / custom loop
Workstation: Threadripper 2950x on GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / Zotac 2080ti / 32GB TridentZ 3200CL14 (8GB x 4) / custom loop
Home Theatre: Ryzen 3900X on Asus C7H X470 / Radeon VII / 16GB G.Skill 3600CL15 (8GB x 2)
/ custom loop
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-10-14, 09:49 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,703
Do you have a picture of your rig? or a diagram of the loop...
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-10-14, 10:24 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,709
I have some pics, but the loop is a bit nuts, because major noob. I never post pics here just because it's embarrassing, but I'll try to lay this out starting with the front (don't laugh):


The loop runs backwards, kinda. There's an EX360 rad in the top above the mobo. The dual D5 top pushes up the tube on the far right into the TFC Admiral 360 on top, PSU side, which looks like this (old pic, loop wasn't done):




The TFC runs into the pedestal via a QDC, into the 360 Monsta below it, which runs across the pedestal to the 2nd 360 Monsta, connected noobishly and painfully like this:



After the 2nd Monsta, a fairly long loopy tube connects via QDC to another piece of tube going up behind the power supply, into the EX360 atop the mobo. In the middle pic, you can see the QDC dangling below the PSU, and that long tube that runs diagonally across the pedestal. Plus you can see a tiny piece of the tube above the PSU.

Every connection seems dry, although I can't really see well into the pedestal. I get a partial view, and I can get my girlie little hands in there to feel them, and it all seems dry.
__________________
Games: Ryzen 5950X on GB Aorus Master X570 / Asus TUF 6900XT / 32GB TridentZ Neo 3600CL16 (16GB x 2) / custom loop
Workstation: Threadripper 2950x on GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / Zotac 2080ti / 32GB TridentZ 3200CL14 (8GB x 4) / custom loop
Home Theatre: Ryzen 3900X on Asus C7H X470 / Radeon VII / 16GB G.Skill 3600CL15 (8GB x 2)
/ custom loop
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-10-14, 10:30 PM
SeekaX SeekaX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
I have some pics, but the loop is a bit nuts, because major noob. I never post pics here just because it's embarrassing, but I'll try to lay this out starting with the front (don't laugh):


The loop runs backwards, kinda. There's an EX360 rad in the top above the mobo. The dual D5 top pushes up the tube on the far right into the TFC Admiral 360 on top, PSU side, which looks like this (old pic, loop wasn't done):




The TFC runs into the pedestal via a QDC, into the 360 Monsta below it, which runs across the pedestal to the 2nd 360 Monsta, connected noobishly and painfully like this:



After the 2nd Monsta, a fairly long loopy tube connects via QDC to another piece of tube going up behind the power supply, into the EX360 atop the mobo. In the middle pic, you can see the QDC dangling below the PSU, and that long tube that runs diagonally across the pedestal. Plus you can see a tiny piece of the tube above the PSU.

Every connection seems dry, although I can't really see well into the pedestal. I get a partial view, and I can get my girlie little hands in there to feel them, and it all seems dry.
Oh lord. Why did you buy two different GPU blocks, why two D5s and what is up with that mess in the back? There are unconnected tubes, where do those go?
Are those three monsta 360mm rads + one 30mm 360mm rad? What the hell dude, one monsta would suffice for that setup lol. Well, it explains the two D5s.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-10-14, 10:40 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,709
Like I said bud, noob. All it takes is one noob getting into WCing and getting an unexpected back pay check, and that's what you get.

I didn't intentionally buy 2 GPU blocks. I started with one (obviously), but my GPU was non-reference. When I bought it, WCing was not the plan. When it became the plan, I bought a 2nd GPU, and noobishly assumed GPU blocks had standard ports on them. Dumb, but I didn't know better. Once I realized my mistake, I didn't have the $$$ to fix it properly.

4 rads total, 3 different brands. My system is everything OC3D guys hate, mismatching everything. 1 XSPC EX360, 1 TFC Admiral 360, 2 Monsta 360s, and 2 D5's running full blast all the time.

The back mess is because there's no neat way to have all the crap! Sure there are NEATER ways, but there's just so much crap. Working on a plan for that though.
__________________
Games: Ryzen 5950X on GB Aorus Master X570 / Asus TUF 6900XT / 32GB TridentZ Neo 3600CL16 (16GB x 2) / custom loop
Workstation: Threadripper 2950x on GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / Zotac 2080ti / 32GB TridentZ 3200CL14 (8GB x 4) / custom loop
Home Theatre: Ryzen 3900X on Asus C7H X470 / Radeon VII / 16GB G.Skill 3600CL15 (8GB x 2)
/ custom loop
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30-10-14, 10:47 PM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,037
Okay i understand the need for silence when watercooling and using multiple rads to lower fan speeds, but 4 radiators is on the extreme level of overkill, but anyway that doesnt adress the issue you seem to be having. If i had to guess its that the loop isnt completely free of air yet, bubbles might be gone but that doesnt mean it is filled up all the way.

The radiators on the floor are on their side and they can keep a lot of air in that way and due to them slowly filling up because of the water pressure it may seem like you have a leak. I cant think of anything else really.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30-10-14, 10:53 PM
Greenback's Avatar
Greenback Greenback is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,437
with all those rads I'm betting if you haven't found any water leaks then it's air still in the loop, Start the loop up and move the case side to side back and forth, keep an ear out for the sound of trickling water
__________________
CASE: NZXT H440 white
CPU: RYZEN7 3700x, H100i GTX
MB: Gigabyte x570
RAM: 2x 8GB CORSAIR VENGENCE LED
GPU: Gigabyte white 2070
OS: CRUCIAL MX100 250GB
PSU: Corsair Rm850x
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30-10-14, 11:04 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,709
I've done all the shaking stuff (well, rocking it around on its casters), cycled down to 1 pump, back to 2, since I have kill switches for those, etc. I used to hear a slight gurgling every now and then, but not lately, so I was assuming the air was out.

EDIT: I just heard it gurgling again, so maybe there is some air left. I sure hope so!

As for the rads, yeah, massive overkill. That's the thing with Case Labs though. Why even buy one if you're not going to stuff it with rads? It's stupid to have 480mm of rad per cooled component, but it sure keeps the system cool.
__________________
Games: Ryzen 5950X on GB Aorus Master X570 / Asus TUF 6900XT / 32GB TridentZ Neo 3600CL16 (16GB x 2) / custom loop
Workstation: Threadripper 2950x on GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / Zotac 2080ti / 32GB TridentZ 3200CL14 (8GB x 4) / custom loop
Home Theatre: Ryzen 3900X on Asus C7H X470 / Radeon VII / 16GB G.Skill 3600CL15 (8GB x 2)
/ custom loop
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30-10-14, 11:11 PM
JR23 JR23 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3,215
Like you I did all of the shaking and leaning, got all of the bubbles out and then even took my rig for a 2 hour car journey and I still heard the occasional gurgle. I've probably lost about a quarter inch of coolant from my res since I thought all of the air was gone and I only have two rads. It's been over a month now and it's been through a lot of hot/cold cycles and it seems to have properly settled. None of the coolant has escaped

JR
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30-10-14, 11:14 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,709
That's good to know JR, thanks! The leaky rad experience I had with that TFC rad has me paranoid.

Thanks for the input gents!
__________________
Games: Ryzen 5950X on GB Aorus Master X570 / Asus TUF 6900XT / 32GB TridentZ Neo 3600CL16 (16GB x 2) / custom loop
Workstation: Threadripper 2950x on GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / Zotac 2080ti / 32GB TridentZ 3200CL14 (8GB x 4) / custom loop
Home Theatre: Ryzen 3900X on Asus C7H X470 / Radeon VII / 16GB G.Skill 3600CL15 (8GB x 2)
/ custom loop
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:19 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.