Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-10-17, 11:28 AM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 10,561
Middle Earth: Shadow of War no longer Auto downloads the game's 4K content

The game is now under 70GB in size.



Read more on Middle Earth: Shadow of War's changing Download size.

__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-17, 01:30 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 13,422
Didn't even know this was an issue. I got it the day of release and it was only 70GB.
__________________
"I would have followed you, my Captain, my King."
- Boromir's last words.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-17, 01:39 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 10,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Didn't even know this was an issue. I got it the day of release and it was only 70GB.
That is a testament to how quickly Monolith resolved the issue. For the most part, only those who pre-loaded the game were affected.

In other news DRM is getting in the way of performance testing, locked out of the game for the next while because of too many hardware changes.
__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-17, 03:25 PM
Darkdayzzz Darkdayzzz is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by WYP View Post
That is a testament to how quickly Monolith resolved the issue. For the most part, only those who pre-loaded the game were affected.

In other news DRM is getting in the way of performance testing, locked out of the game for the next while because of too many hardware changes.
And here I am playing it on my xbox one because the windows store simply WONT run it. It "attempts" to start but then fails, not a black screen or anything just a quick popup windows that immediately vanishes (like a quick run command on windows).

So....oh well lol. I'd play it on my 50inch tv anywho and the game looks great on the xbox one anywho, but the option to play on my pc would be nice to actually work...going to i guess reinstall it tomo when i go to work.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-10-17, 06:35 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 13,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by WYP View Post
That is a testament to how quickly Monolith resolved the issue. For the most part, only those who pre-loaded the game were affected.

In other news DRM is getting in the way of performance testing, locked out of the game for the next while because of too many hardware changes.
Yes very quick indeed! I had to manually download the 4k content myself. I have this game on both PC and PS4(game share with a friend on PS) and the 4k content on PS4 was about 23GB, but the game itself was only 37GB. So it's interesting to see that the PC is at nearly twice the install size. I wonder if they removed the assets for Consoles that they didn't need?

Wow that sucks. I didn't even know the game had DRM! I don't believe the last game did either, which is interesting they never mentioned it.
__________________
"I would have followed you, my Captain, my King."
- Boromir's last words.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-10-17, 06:25 AM
Linchpin Linchpin is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Wow that sucks. I didn't even know the game had DRM! I don't believe the last game did either, which is interesting they never mentioned it.
Shadow of War uses Denuvo DRM, fat lot of good that did though. Shadow of Mordor just had the basic Steamworks DRM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-10-17, 08:00 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 13,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linchpin View Post
Shadow of War uses Denuvo DRM, fat lot of good that did though. Shadow of Mordor just had the basic Steamworks DRM.
All games have the basic steam one. Unless they go 3rd party.
Denuvo isn't bad. It helps them get some assurance, which is fine by me. People want to cheat the world, at least it prevents some of them. You can't blame them for wanting to try
__________________
"I would have followed you, my Captain, my King."
- Boromir's last words.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:24 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.