Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 19-06-17, 04:29 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,900
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gothmoth View Post
that is the thing. most reviews are not going very deep.

i can´t get a real idea about how stable a board is from a test that only lasts 2 days.

i am never first to buy something, i can wait and let things mature.
but in case of the ryzen build it did not really help.

or maybe i had to wait longer....

i am now in my 40s... 10-15 years back i did not mind to spend days to fix a problem on a new system, to work it out.

btw: please don´t mention VISTA... that was nearly as bad as win98 SE.

today i want my systems to run rock solid so i can spend my time working on the PC (3D creation, video creation, a bit of coding).
Forums like OCN are the best place to find those kind of results in my opinion. Reviewers don't have the time to test components in the way that consumers would actually use them. User reviews on the forums are where I personally look to for more thorough analysis' that's spread over a reasonable expanse of time. Reviews from guys like TTL and Guru3D will largely be positive for a motherboard, but go to the forums and you might see a different story. It's not the reviewers fault for not being able to spot an odd anomaly that only crops up after a while or is not a widespread issue.

I mean no offense by this, but in general I only read benchmark scores from reviewers because that's the main segment that I can't do myself. I rarely ever watch or read entire reviews. They're often the same and offer the same perspective as I would have already had or had already seen shared by others. I feel like most of TTL's motherboard and GPU reviews could be condensed as they are basically the same at this point, with the odd exception. If there are any anomalies then they could be discussed, but other than that I think it's pointless. In fact, big reviewers like Guru3D and TechPowerUp repeatedly copy/paste the same paragraphs for their reviews.

Many reviewers are just people who are given expensive components rather than buying them. That's it. They're not special. Guys like Anand might be an exception as he doesn't just have years of experience but actually has a degree in computer engineering. That's not to suggest that Tom or whoever else doesn't because I don't know, but if I had the money I would buy every component and test it all just for fun. Would that make me special? No, not particularly. You might want to take my word more seriously than if I had less experience, but ultimately somebody else could quite easily come to the same conclusion without spending millions on hardware.

It's the same thing with famous musicians and the gear they use. Manufacturers praise these musicians claiming that they know 'tone' better than others and build them specialised equipment. But the truth is, I know 'tone' just as well as they do. In fact, I care more about it more than some of them do because they're more busy playing to thousands of people and earning a fortune. So the main difference is, they play better than I do and were in the right place at the right time. However, these musicians don't have exclusive rights to their craft. Anyone can come along and challenge them. I know musicians who are far better than the average 10,000 seat gigger. But their mum is an alcoholic and he was never given the opportunity to show the world his mastery. So only a few thousand on YouTube have ever seen it and will ever see it.

And there are other examples of this problem spanning multiple areas. Sports and fitness is a prime example.

__________________
MSI Z97 Gaming 7 ⁞⁞ 4670K 4.5Ghz ⁞⁞ Nepton 240M ⁞⁞ ASUS Fury Strix ⁞⁞ Fury 16GB ⁞⁞ Define R4 ⁞⁞ AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung EVO 120 & 500GB ⁞⁞ WD 1TB & 3TB
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX ⁞⁞ Fidelio X2
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 19-06-17, 09:44 PM
Gothmoth Gothmoth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 125
what chipset temps do you have with this board?

the rig i build for my friend has 60-65 grad celsius on idle, if i believe what software tells me.
i think that is a bit high for chipset temps ... not?

but i guess this is a wrong measurement.

i manually measured the VRM with a probe and that is ~50 grad celsius under load.
normaly the hottest part of a mobo beside the CPU right?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-07-17, 01:57 PM
Gothmoth Gothmoth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 125
can someon give advice for RAM with this board?

i decided to buy an asus rog strix x370 + ryzen 1700 cpu.

i am not a gamer i need this PC for rendering (3d with blender and video editing).

i need 32 GB ram and i would really like to have 2x16GB ( not 4x8GB ).
because this ram maybe goes into another system in the future and then i want to update to 64 GB.

i also would like to buy g.skill as i get good deals on them.

so what g.skill RAM 2x16 GB would run good with this mainboard?

is 3000 or 3200 ram speed possible with 2x16GB?
in the QVL there is not a single 2x16 GB kit running at 3200 mentioned.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-07-17, 02:06 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,384
Ive not got any 16GB modules here - have you downloaded the QVL list from the Asus website?
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-07-17, 02:06 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,900
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gothmoth View Post
can someon give advice for RAM with this board?

i decided to buy an asus rog strix x370 + ryzen 1700 cpu.

i am not a gamer i need this PC for rendering (3d with blender and video editing).

i need 32 GB ram and i would really like to have 2x16GB ( not 4x8GB ).
because this ram maybe goes into another system in the future and then i want to update to 64 GB.

i also would like to buy g.skill as i get good deals on them.

so what g.skill RAM 2x16 GB would run good with this mainboard?

is 3000 or 3200 ram speed possible with 2x16GB?
in the QVL there is not a single 2x16 GB kit running at 3200 mentioned.
Maybe a kit like this:

https://www.alternate.co.uk/G-Skill/...oduct/1230514?

Good timings, good speed, 2x16GB, G.Skill Trident Z. According to AMD, the F4-3000C14D-32GTZR kit is reported to work.
__________________
MSI Z97 Gaming 7 ⁞⁞ 4670K 4.5Ghz ⁞⁞ Nepton 240M ⁞⁞ ASUS Fury Strix ⁞⁞ Fury 16GB ⁞⁞ Define R4 ⁞⁞ AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung EVO 120 & 500GB ⁞⁞ WD 1TB & 3TB
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX ⁞⁞ Fidelio X2
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-07-17, 02:35 PM
Gothmoth Gothmoth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Ive not got any 16GB modules here - have you downloaded the QVL list from the Asus website?
yes, the only mentioned 3200 32GB kits are 4x8GB.

Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-07-17, 03:25 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,384
If 4x8 is on the list then at least you know its 100%

I cant try and 16GB modules here to try and help sadly
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-07-17, 10:42 AM
Gothmoth Gothmoth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 125
is it possible to use a speed of 3200 with 4 modules on AM4? i think i saw a picture that said when you use 4 modules you are limited to 2133 or even less.
i know you can use 2 dimms with higher speeds now on AM4. but would that not mean that i still have more problems to get 4 dimms to run at 3200?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-07-17, 11:39 AM
Gothmoth Gothmoth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 125
if you indulge me another question. i never cared much about memory with my intel boards... i just bought the second fastest g.skill and be done with it. but i guess with amd i have to take a little more care. and i have to learn some things to make a good decision. what does this mean: these rams are qualified for 3000 but the SPD say 2133 and the DOCP 2666? i don´t get what this means.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-07-17, 12:21 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,900
SPD is the default memory speed for Ryzen as a platform. 2133Mhz is guaranteed to work with all RAM that is rated for that speed. DOCP is essentially the same as Intel's XMP profile. It is the overclocked frequency the RAM is rated for.
__________________
MSI Z97 Gaming 7 ⁞⁞ 4670K 4.5Ghz ⁞⁞ Nepton 240M ⁞⁞ ASUS Fury Strix ⁞⁞ Fury 16GB ⁞⁞ Define R4 ⁞⁞ AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung EVO 120 & 500GB ⁞⁞ WD 1TB & 3TB
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX ⁞⁞ Fidelio X2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:01 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.