Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 07-07-18, 10:49 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugdiamond View Post
I cannot understand how a power outage could damage any electrical appliance.

i mean... from source... through a lanson fuse on your meter, through your junction/fuse box (with trips), through the fuse in your plug, through the PSU and then to your GPU.

c'mon... seriously!!!!
Then you have obviously never lived in rural USA.

What about when some guy crashes into a pole shorting both wires together? You're not thinking about worst case scenarios. When you have everything to extremes like they do (especially weather) anything can happen.

My mother in law had a freak lightning bolt hit her TV (through the window !) Which fried her TV and VCR.

__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-07-18, 06:42 PM
hmmblah's Avatar
hmmblah hmmblah is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,407
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
I've had power outages damage things, but only in the USA. Power going out over there was extremely common, due to their insistence of putting power cables on poles. Either some one would crash into one drunk or what not or the weather would have them down. And there was usually a surge when it came back on and no surge protector on earth could protect computer equipment. I ended up using a UPS, which switched to backup and gave me about 30 mins of up time to finish any work I was doing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Then you have obviously never lived in rural USA.

What about when some guy crashes into a pole shorting both wires together? You're not thinking about worst case scenarios. When you have everything to extremes like they do (especially weather) anything can happen.

My mother in law had a freak lightning bolt hit her TV (through the window !) Which fried her TV and VCR.
I guess it depends where you live because it's not common for the power to be out where I'm at. There are some areas of the country with very poor infrastructure, sure, but not everywhere is like that. It's a big country after all. There are no poles in my neighborhood, everything is buried, but in older sections of town and where we need to cross large distances there are poles. It wouldn't be economical at all to bury all electric lines, we're simply too big and sparse in between population centers. We don't seem to have many pole seeking drunks either, but when it does happen the poles usually win.
__________________
CaseLabs Mercury S3 | i7 4790k | Maximus VII Impact | GTX1080 | 16GB DDR3 | 512GB NVMe
Acer Predator Z35P | Corsair K70 LUX RGB Cherry MX Brown | Corsair Scimitar Black MMO Gaming Mouse


Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 15-08-18, 01:58 PM
reactor_au reactor_au is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Land of the Billabong
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by uacole View Post
I had a power outage last night and my Asus 1080 ti is no longer working. My computer was plugged into a belkin surge protector.The monitor told me no input detected. SO, I put another graphics card into my comp and it worked. Is it possible for only the gpu to be fried in a power outage? Is there any way to get the gpu working again or it?

Here is the kicker I watercooled the GPU so I feel my warranty is void with asus. I fear belkin, who wants me to send them my surge protector, is going to tell me the surge protector worked as intended. Any advise would be appreciated.

Also in light of this I bought a ups which I should have bought a long time ago...
Hopefully you bought a chubby online ups and not a cheap fall over one. The former always supplies power from the battery while the latter switches to battery only when the feed drops below a set limit. I could never justify the cost of a proper good ups so never bothered, house hold insurance was sufficient.

At least your 1080ti is still ok, I've had similar ghost in the machine experiences in the past solved by unplugging for a few minutes, not sure if it's a POST sort of check or a power protection feature than needs to be cleared fully.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gpu, graphic card

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:32 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.