Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Off Topic > Off Topic Chat
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13091  
Old Yesterday, 03:45 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,585
Quote:
Originally Posted by Excalabur50 View Post
So my etailer did some measuring for me at my request before shipping me the Asus Crosshair 6 and just as well they did cause it turns out that you can't fit my ram and cpu cooler together on a Ryzen board (so far they are trying almost all) so they are now suggesting they change my ram to something else as any tall ram won't work which is a real bummer as I really like the look of my GSkill ram
Dude, don't change the RAM, change the cooler. You NEED good ram for that platform. Unless you can change it to some low profile B-die ram, I'd give up the cooler first. Performance first, always!

__________________
Guts: Ryzen R7 1700 / Asus CH6 Hero / 16GB G.Skill 3600CL15 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: Intel 600p 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 array / 2TB RAID0 array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads + 1 240 rad / Singularity Computers reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #13092  
Old Yesterday, 04:15 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 11,660
Send a message via Skype™ to Dicehunter
My Rift + Touch controller holder arrived all the way from Minnesota

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13093  
Old Yesterday, 06:00 PM
Kei's Avatar
Kei Kei is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: South Wales
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by g0ggles1994 View Post
Any Ryzen owners managed to break the 4GHz barrier yet? I managed to get it to POST at 4GHz with 1.375V but it refuses to start Windows.
I've managed 3.9GHz on stock voltage but that's about it
My 1920x will run 4GHz with around 1.325V quite happily. Needs plenty more volts to get all the cores stable above that point though. Stock, XFR runs 1-2 cores up to 4.2 with no issues but with voltage spikes around 1.45V. Seems much more comfortable running at 3.9GHZ with 1.25V.
__________________
Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 ⁞⁞ Ryzen TR 1920x ⁞⁞ EK Blocks + αcool XT45 rads ⁞⁞ MSi Geforce GTX 780 ⁞⁞ 32GB 8 Pack 3200C14 ⁞⁞ Enthoo Primo
⁞⁞ TX650V2 ⁞⁞ Custom Braiding ⁞⁞ Crucial M500 240GB ⁞⁞ WD Se 4TB & 1TB ⁞⁞ HP LP2475w + Dell 2408WFP ⁞⁞ MS Intellimouse ⁞⁞ Ducky Shine 5
Marantz AV7701 ⁞⁞ Tannoy SRM 10B ⁞⁞ AKG K601 ⁞⁞ Beyer DT770
Reply With Quote
  #13094  
Old Yesterday, 06:32 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kei View Post
My 1920x will run 4GHz with around 1.325V quite happily. Needs plenty more volts to get all the cores stable above that point though. Stock, XFR runs 1-2 cores up to 4.2 with no issues but with voltage spikes around 1.45V. Seems much more comfortable running at 3.9GHZ with 1.25V.
Woah, that's a nice chip. I rarely see 3.9Ghz running at 1.25V. Even 1.35V is decent for 3.9Ghz.
__________________
MSI Z97 Gaming 7 ⁞⁞ 4670K 4.5Ghz ⁞⁞ Nepton 240M ⁞⁞ ASUS Fury Strix ⁞⁞ Fury 16GB ⁞⁞ Define R4 ⁞⁞ AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung EVO 120 & 500GB ⁞⁞ WD 1TB & 3TB
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX ⁞⁞ Fidelio X2
Reply With Quote
  #13095  
Old Yesterday, 08:45 PM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryGoldfish View Post
You can't fit a Kraken X62 with a C6H and Trident Z RAM? Wow. That's a shame. That could easily be a very popular combination.
I couldn't get it to fit with the Msi Gaming M7 ACK either!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
Dude, don't change the RAM, change the cooler. You NEED good ram for that platform. Unless you can change it to some low profile B-die ram, I'd give up the cooler first. Performance first, always!
The only problem with my ram is it's 2400 and Ryzen likes faster ram so I might see about the GSkill Flair X 3200 instead as they have it in stock or they said I might have to go Corsair's LPX as it's nice and short
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
NZXT Phantom 630 White=AMD Ryzen 1700X=Asus X370 ROG Crosshair VI Hero=16gig 3200Mhz GSkill Trident RGB= MSI GTX1080 Seahawk X=NZXT Kraken X62=Asus ROG Swift=Corsair K95 RGB=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Cougar 700M=Samsung 950 Pro M.2 512GB=Corsair AX1200i=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with Aer RGB fans and RBG strip=Pioneer BDR-209D=Windows 10 Pro=Creative Soundblaster ZXR=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=Corsair MM800 RGB CE
Reply With Quote
  #13096  
Old Yesterday, 09:43 PM
Kei's Avatar
Kei Kei is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: South Wales
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryGoldfish View Post
Woah, that's a nice chip. I rarely see 3.9Ghz running at 1.25V. Even 1.35V is decent for 3.9Ghz.
I'll admit that I didn't spent a lot of time testing it at those settings to establish it really is properly stable. It was certainly stable enough to run a couple of benchmarks without crashing. Prefer running at stock settings as it runs up to 4.175 on single core stuff with XFR and all cores run at 3.7 all the time when fully loaded and the added benefit that it drops the idle voltage to 0.8V.
__________________
Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 ⁞⁞ Ryzen TR 1920x ⁞⁞ EK Blocks + αcool XT45 rads ⁞⁞ MSi Geforce GTX 780 ⁞⁞ 32GB 8 Pack 3200C14 ⁞⁞ Enthoo Primo
⁞⁞ TX650V2 ⁞⁞ Custom Braiding ⁞⁞ Crucial M500 240GB ⁞⁞ WD Se 4TB & 1TB ⁞⁞ HP LP2475w + Dell 2408WFP ⁞⁞ MS Intellimouse ⁞⁞ Ducky Shine 5
Marantz AV7701 ⁞⁞ Tannoy SRM 10B ⁞⁞ AKG K601 ⁞⁞ Beyer DT770
Reply With Quote
  #13097  
Old Today, 10:01 AM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,727
So my etailer came up with sending me the Asus ROG Crosshair VI with 16 gig of GSkill 3200mhz cs 16 RGB Ram, would have been better to get the cs 14 but they didn't have any, but as it turns out on Ryzen ram goes in from the outside of the socket to the socket so that way the cooler will sit over an empty ram slot so solves my issues and I get better speed ram than the 2400 that I had, so with some luck I should have it all next week.
Rather odd and annoying though that with any board you can't occupy all the ram slots with tall ram and an X62 or similar, so that would also rule out ram taller than Corsairs LPX!
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
NZXT Phantom 630 White=AMD Ryzen 1700X=Asus X370 ROG Crosshair VI Hero=16gig 3200Mhz GSkill Trident RGB= MSI GTX1080 Seahawk X=NZXT Kraken X62=Asus ROG Swift=Corsair K95 RGB=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Cougar 700M=Samsung 950 Pro M.2 512GB=Corsair AX1200i=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with Aer RGB fans and RBG strip=Pioneer BDR-209D=Windows 10 Pro=Creative Soundblaster ZXR=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=Corsair MM800 RGB CE
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
box, chat, offtopic, small talk, where opinions go to die

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 04:24 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.