Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Cooling - Other
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #21  
Old 06-01-17, 01:15 AM
King of Old Old School King of Old Old School is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kong View Post
Just imagine if Nvidia or AMD started charging you for driver updates after two years. The internet would burn down lol.
Ok the thing is some people would give AMD a pass on that and moan about Nvidia doing it.

Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-01-17, 09:21 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 3,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kong View Post
Just imagine if Nvidia or AMD started charging you for driver updates after two years. The internet would burn down lol.
yep its the same principle. Imagine they started asking for a license for cards 2 years or older. I guarantee they would end up in court. But it seems since watercooling is a niche market, it will go ignored.

Nope. Aquacomputer lost a customer here. And I think they will lose many more. How can they expect us to pay a yearly fee to keep using the aquaaero 6XT for example when they haven't produced any new models? How is that justified "lets just update our software and charge them anyway. We dont need a 2018 model for them"
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-01-17, 02:24 PM
BigDaddyKong's Avatar
BigDaddyKong BigDaddyKong is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 939
I looked at the slide, and seen 6 Pro owns can have the free upgrade to 2017. So I installed it and it would not work. Went back to look, there is a small note, only for people that have run it for 90 days or less. The XT model gets a no run time limit upgrade to 2017.
__________________
AMD R7 1800X-Asus Crosshair VI Hero-16GB GSkill 3200mhz-Corsair HX1000-XSPC Raystorm Copper Edition-Dual D5 Pumps-Corsair Force 3 SSD-Sapphire Fury X2-Corsair 900D-Windows 10 Pro-Dell U3011-Dell 2007FP
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 30-10-17, 09:36 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,066
I was doing some digging on the best way to control my fans and came across the Aquaero 5 and 6 LT and a thread here so here's me doing some bumping.

I'm looking for is a fan controller that allows my fans to be spinning at 500-600 RPM at idle, 800-900 RPM under gaming load (registered via the GPU and not the CPU as Ryzen keeps jumping the temperatures up and down) and 1200 RPM under stress testing load (registered via whatever component is the hottest). It has been remarkably hard to do this all at once, but this review snippet here has me interested in the Aquaero LT range:
Quote:
Basically fan speed is now controlled by whichever of my CPU, GPU1 or GPU2 is highest (created a virtual temp sensor that is an amalgamation of those three system sensors and set highest one as what fan control works on).
When i'm gaming, if Aquaero could see the GPU as the hottest source, I could set my system fans to ramp up to 800-900 RPM. But if the CPU becomes the hotter source, such as when I'm stress testing, benchmarking, or playing a CPU-intensive game—the 'hottest' doesn't necessarily have to be the hottest but what I set as a threshold —Aquaero could switch to the CPU and use that as its source. This means that depending on which part of my computer is under stress, the fans will adjust. Can the Aquaero LT do this?

Also, I'm using 4-pin PWM fans. Does that mean I have to invest the extra in the 6 LT over the 5 LT which only has one 4-pin fan header? I would like my rear exhaust, CPU fan, bottom two intakes and front two intakes all to be separate. So that would be four channels, all PWM. I assume the 6 LT will be necessary for that purpose?

Finally, is the 6 LT overkill for my use case?
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 30-10-17, 10:45 PM
BigDaddyKong's Avatar
BigDaddyKong BigDaddyKong is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 939
You will need to run a program like Aida64 or HWinfo to monitor GPU temps if you don't want to setup temp probes. You can set curves based off that. You can pick different sources for different fans if you like. The low speed is going to be dependent on the fan you have. My Corsair PWM fans won't go less than 750rpm.

I would probably get the 6LT. It could be more versatile in the future. Also, I am not sure but it might let you upgrade to a newer version of Aquasuite. The software you run to create your fan profiles.
__________________
AMD R7 1800X-Asus Crosshair VI Hero-16GB GSkill 3200mhz-Corsair HX1000-XSPC Raystorm Copper Edition-Dual D5 Pumps-Corsair Force 3 SSD-Sapphire Fury X2-Corsair 900D-Windows 10 Pro-Dell U3011-Dell 2007FP
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 31-10-17, 08:38 AM
Korreborg's Avatar
Korreborg Korreborg is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Viborg - Denmark
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryGoldfish View Post
Finally, is the 6 LT overkill for my use case?
I would say yes, but so is the 5 But they get the job done.
The 6 LT has digital control. I read that the 5 LT can get quite hot when running fans at low rpm, the digital control fixes this, so i went with the 6 LT.

I use my 6 LT to run 2 ML120 and 2 ML140, controlled by water temp.
And then my D5 pump set fixed at 2000rpm
Right now the ML140s is at 397rpm, and the ML120s are at 456rpm.

@BigDaddyKong, have you tried to set a Start Boost Power? And then setting the fans lower than 750rpm???
__________________
[I7-4790K @ 4.5Ghz][ASUS Z87I-PRO][EVGA 1080TI FE][Kingston HyperX 16GB 2400MHz][Corsair 250D][Corsair AX860i]
[Samsung 850 PRO 128][Crucial MX100 512GB][WD 2TB][ASUS PG278QR][Logitech G510s and G502][Steelseries Wireless H]
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 31-10-17, 10:20 AM
BigDaddyKong's Avatar
BigDaddyKong BigDaddyKong is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 939
Yes I have have. They just will not run lower.
__________________
AMD R7 1800X-Asus Crosshair VI Hero-16GB GSkill 3200mhz-Corsair HX1000-XSPC Raystorm Copper Edition-Dual D5 Pumps-Corsair Force 3 SSD-Sapphire Fury X2-Corsair 900D-Windows 10 Pro-Dell U3011-Dell 2007FP
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 31-10-17, 10:46 AM
Korreborg's Avatar
Korreborg Korreborg is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Viborg - Denmark
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDaddyKong View Post
Yes I have have. They just will not run lower.
Fan settings?
Click image for larger version

Name:	Aquareo Fan settings.JPG
Views:	10
Size:	29.9 KB
ID:	12148
__________________
[I7-4790K @ 4.5Ghz][ASUS Z87I-PRO][EVGA 1080TI FE][Kingston HyperX 16GB 2400MHz][Corsair 250D][Corsair AX860i]
[Samsung 850 PRO 128][Crucial MX100 512GB][WD 2TB][ASUS PG278QR][Logitech G510s and G502][Steelseries Wireless H]
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 31-10-17, 10:54 AM
BigDaddyKong's Avatar
BigDaddyKong BigDaddyKong is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 939
I don't have it up and running right now. Going to tear down and reinstall over Thanksgiving break in a couple of weeks.
__________________
AMD R7 1800X-Asus Crosshair VI Hero-16GB GSkill 3200mhz-Corsair HX1000-XSPC Raystorm Copper Edition-Dual D5 Pumps-Corsair Force 3 SSD-Sapphire Fury X2-Corsair 900D-Windows 10 Pro-Dell U3011-Dell 2007FP
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-11-17, 08:17 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,066
Can any Aquaero users answer this question:

Can you set fan speeds to a constant voltage using profiles?

What I'd like to do is manually set fan speeds and have them remain static. This will eliminate the need to use temperature probes or worry about setting up PWM curves based on components temperatures that tend to fluctuate. What I'd like to do is this:

Say for instance I'm going to play a game that I know is stressful on the CPU as well as the GPU, Aquasuite could load up with Windows and I could have a profile that I'd select that has the fans set to individually preassigned voltages. I'd then play my game with the fans set to a constant speed that doesn't fluctuate. If I were playing a game that heated the GPU up more, I could have another profile set for that.

Then when I finish playing the game, I could open Aquasuite again and quickly select a 'silent' profile for idle usage. That way I have full control over each fan myself, without letting Windows or my motherboard BIOS ramp the fans up and down. The same applies to when I'm benchmarking, stress testing, overclocking, that kind of thing.

So essentially, I want Aquasuite to offer quickly accessible profiles that can be changed within a few seconds that set the fans to individually preassigned voltages, using the Aquaero as more of an automated 'manual' DC fan controller, almost like a console in a recording studio.
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 12:14 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.