Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Off Topic > Off Topic Chat
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #10281  
Old 15-10-19, 10:57 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,388
I'm tempted to build myself a NAS myself too, now that I have 10Gb at home, but I have no idea how to do it properly.

__________________
Guts: ThreadRipper 2950X / GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / 64GB TridentZ Royal 3600CL16 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU
Storage: 6TB RAID0 NVME array (ADATA SX9200 Pro 2TB x 3)
Water Cooling: HeatKiller TR4-Pro CPU block / HeatKiller IV GPU blocks / 360mm Darskide LP360 rads x 3 / Heatkiller reservoir

Reply With Quote
  #10282  
Old 15-10-19, 11:01 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
I'm tempted to build myself a NAS myself too, now that I have 10Gb at home, but I have no idea how to do it properly.
Craft computing has a Freenas setup guide on YT. It's really easy.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10283  
Old 15-10-19, 11:05 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Craft computing has a Freenas setup guide on YT. It's really easy.
I'm just having trouble justifying it to myself. I really don't have a need for it, since I'm the only person here. I don't even have a TV, so not much need for plex/media servers.
__________________
Guts: ThreadRipper 2950X / GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / 64GB TridentZ Royal 3600CL16 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU
Storage: 6TB RAID0 NVME array (ADATA SX9200 Pro 2TB x 3)
Water Cooling: HeatKiller TR4-Pro CPU block / HeatKiller IV GPU blocks / 360mm Darskide LP360 rads x 3 / Heatkiller reservoir

Reply With Quote
  #10284  
Old 15-10-19, 11:56 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,549
Well, storage redundancy is a good reason if you set up RAID. Though I much prefer something on top of Linux+LVM, for instance.
__________________
i7 8700k - 16GB - 2060 FE - 512GB 970 & 850 EVO - AKG K702
Reply With Quote
  #10285  
Old 16-10-19, 02:22 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 13,576
It hath arrived, Equipped with Samsung memory too, Not too shabby


__________________
=Origin-Steam-Uplay-XBLive - Dicehunter=

Reply With Quote
  #10286  
Old 16-10-19, 02:44 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,060
This took a while to find.......

__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10287  
Old 16-10-19, 08:10 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 13,576
Pretty impressed by the performance jump going from the 1080 Ti, Acoustics and temps are pretty damn good too, Average clocks and temps after 2 hours of gaming with zero overclock.


__________________
=Origin-Steam-Uplay-XBLive - Dicehunter=

Reply With Quote
  #10288  
Old 17-10-19, 07:30 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,621
Got this a couple of weeks back and I'm blown away at the spec and price it's just a bargain for the screen. OK there is no Free sync or G Sync but still 1440p @ 144Hz for under £300 and it's a wide curved Samsung. 100% happy with my screen.




It's the 32" Samasung CJG50
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #10289  
Old 18-10-19, 08:20 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,060
Cable for said SSD. They're £30 ffs. Thankfully the seller had one and bunged it in for £15.

__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10290  
Old 19-10-19, 05:07 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,060


Because the Cooler Master one I bought has a dud ribbon and the Phanteks looks considerably better and more robust.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:01 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.