Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 19-03-09, 04:52 PM
Sleekit Sleekit is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 274
Overclocking help

Hi, as some of you know I am having problems overclocking my computer. I've tried reading the guides but I just can't seem to do it. I have the Asus P5N-T motherboard which is reported to be terrible or overclocking (I know I should have read reviews before I bought it)

Anyway, I found the AI Overclocking function in the BIOS that overclocks your pc for you so I chose "Overclock by 15%". My boot screen shows that my CPU (now running at 3.64Ghz) and RAM have been overclocked but when I run CPU-Z it shows this:



Please note: My stock CPU runs at 3.16Ghz with a 9.5x multiplier

Please help

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K CPU @ 3.40GHz
Mobo: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
GFX: nVidia XFX 260 Black Edition
RAM: Corsair 12GB
Case: Antec P182
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB
HDD 2: Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19-03-09, 05:51 PM
Hassan Hassan is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 783
I think you need to disable "speedstep" on your bios.
__________________
A mod changed my signature because it was too big. Tutt-tutt
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-03-09, 06:13 PM
monkey7 monkey7 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,085
Enhanced C1E too iirc.
__________________






Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-03-09, 07:15 PM
Freak Freak is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 952
your bestt bet is to learn to do it manually by increaing the reference clock/fsb
__________________
Asus Sabertooth x58 | Intel i7 950 1366 | EVGA GTX 570 | Corsair cmx12gx3m3a1600c9 9-9-9-24 1600mhz 1.65v | Noctua NH-U12P | Corsair TX850 | Antec 300
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19-03-09, 09:02 PM
Sleekit Sleekit is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 274
Disabled both features (speedstep etc) and overcloked it manually but CPU-Z is still showing 2.3GHz with a 6.0x multiplier, it flutters to 3.4GHz at 9.5x for split seconds but thats about it
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K CPU @ 3.40GHz
Mobo: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
GFX: nVidia XFX 260 Black Edition
RAM: Corsair 12GB
Case: Antec P182
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB
HDD 2: Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20-03-09, 03:40 PM
sprento sprento is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bonnie Scotland
Posts: 441
Can't remember what the function is called, but it's designed to drop the multiplyer down when not in use i.e. full load. Open up a couple of power hungry apps then check cpuz and the full oc should be shown. Basically just a power saving feature in the chip.
__________________
"It ain't about how hard you hit; it's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. That's how winning is done." – Rocky Balboa
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20-03-09, 04:11 PM
zak4994 zak4994 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 3,053
What Sprento said.

It will go to full OC with 9.5x multi when it needs to.

But it will be low when its not being used fully.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:12 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.