Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 30-09-18, 01:13 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,624
It's a Spectre patch, so I was correct. These patches close off junctions in the CPU and make them function differently, so I would imagine that is why they make OCs unstable.

__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18-10-18, 01:15 AM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,542
Bit of a bump but yeah after reinstalling a new windows 10 it turned out the newly tweaked microcode released a while back shaved 400mhz of my OC on my i7 6800k, did some research and managed to find a somewhat tricky solution but works fine, replaced a Dll without the microcode stuff and my oc was back.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:28 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.