Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 14-04-16, 08:05 PM
Blade Runner's Avatar
Blade Runner Blade Runner is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 304
Question BSOD Critical Process Died

I am having trouble with my main rig, in the last week I have been getting random BSOD with the error saying "Critical Process Died"

I have done all the usual checks, memory, drives and reinstalled windows but I am still getting it and also some other random faults like the Ethernet just disconnecting for a short time and then reconnecting on its own.

I have looked in the AI suite and it showed a reading of about 2.85v on the 3.3v rail, I checked this in the BIOS and it is showing similarly low on the 3.3v rail.

I have also had a problem with Power Surges on BOOT which I had to change the setting in the BIOS to ignore to let the pc boot up.

Does anyone know if this low voltage would be likely to cause the critical process died errors?

Any help much appreciated.

PS. I have also run "sfc /scannow several times and get the message that it has found errors but cant repair all of them.

I am not sure how significant this is because I ran the same on my SP4 it shows the same message and it is running fine.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-04-16, 10:03 PM
Davva2004's Avatar
Davva2004 Davva2004 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Nottingham UK
Posts: 1,158
What is the stop error code, and what have you found out about it already?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-04-16, 10:12 PM
Blade Runner's Avatar
Blade Runner Blade Runner is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davva2004 View Post
What is the stop error code, and what have you found out about it already?
I have not kept the scrap of paper that I had it written down on but when I did enter it in google it suggested that it was hardware related.

When it happens again I will write it down and post it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-04-16, 08:44 AM
Kushiro Kushiro is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,188
All the cables and components snug? Same thing with stock settings etc?
__________________
i7 5930k 4.7Ghz ~1.34v - Asus X99 Deluxe - G.Skill 32GB 2800mhz 4x8GB - NZXT Switch 810 White Edition - 3x EVGA Geforce GTX 980Ti - 2x Samsung 850 2TB - Corsair AX1500i

Watercooling - custom
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-04-16, 12:04 PM
Blade Runner's Avatar
Blade Runner Blade Runner is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kushiro View Post
All the cables and components snug? Same thing with stock settings etc?
Everything is set to stock now and I haven't had it for a couple of days.

I need to check the RAM seating although the windows test said it was okay but doing this is a big job which means a partial drain of the loop.

I was kinda hoping that it was the PSU giving the low 3.3V rail output that was causing it so I could just RMA the PSU? Is 2.8V on that rail not a problem?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-04-16, 01:20 PM
BigDaddyKong's Avatar
BigDaddyKong BigDaddyKong is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,086
Use the online DISM command for the repair. Also, Asus AI Suite was always trouble for me at times. You might uninstall it if it starts happening again.
__________________
AMD R7 1800X-Asus Crosshair VI Hero-16GB GSkill 3200mhz-Corsair HX850-H110i-MSI 1070-Coolermast H500-Windows 10 Pro-Dell U3011-Dell 2007FP
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-04-16, 10:20 PM
Kushiro Kushiro is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,188
Never use those programs. Nothing but an annoyance. Has imporved a bit over the years it would seem.
__________________
i7 5930k 4.7Ghz ~1.34v - Asus X99 Deluxe - G.Skill 32GB 2800mhz 4x8GB - NZXT Switch 810 White Edition - 3x EVGA Geforce GTX 980Ti - 2x Samsung 850 2TB - Corsair AX1500i

Watercooling - custom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 09:03 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.