Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
View Poll Results: Which is best
Exact same model without the improvements of later revisions 2 28.57%
Same brand / model but with the improvements (OpenGL4.1 vs 4.2 etc) 2 28.57%
Any 7970 as cheap as possible (XFX HD7970 Double Dissipation (FX-797A-TDFC)) saving €70,- 2 28.57%
Different brand with better specs 1 14.29%
Voters: 7. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 14-01-13, 04:09 PM
Cloudie Cloudie is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 39
Crossfire different models / brands (HD 7970)

Hello everyone,

I've been looking at adding another HD 7970 to get some crossfire action going (Watercooled)! Now my concern is choosing which one to add to my current rig. Right now I have an early edition sapphire HD 7970 with a link provided below.

Current GPU (11197-06-40G):http://www.sapphiretech.com/presenta...pid=1515&leg=0

---

Loads of editions: http://www.sapphiretech.com/presenta...01&lid=1&leg=0


Right now I'm having a hard time choosing which one to get. Normally I'd pick the exact same version, but I'm wondering about the improvements added in the newer versions and the cheaper prices of other brands...


1. Exact same model without the improvements of later revisions
2. Same brand / model but with the improvements (OpenGL4.1 vs 4.2 etc)
3. Any 7970 as cheap as possible (XFX HD7970 Double Dissipation (FX-797A-TDFC)) saving €70,-
4. Different brand with better specs

The idea would be to OC both of the cards to where it's possible. Does mixing different brand/version have an impact on preformance or is it recommended to get the latest revision possible?

__________________
Intel i7 3770k @ 4.5Ghz / 1.25 vCore | Asus Maximus V Gene | 8GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2400mhz C10 | Sapphire HD 7970 | MSI 7970 | 120GB Crucial M4 SSD | 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3 | Corsair AX 750| Corsair 600t |

Liquid Cooled with Alphacool ST30 360mm | Alphacool Monsta 360mm | Swiftech MCP35X | CPU / GPU EK CSQ full water blocks | Bitspower Blacksparkle fittings
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-01-13, 05:41 PM
barkinos98 barkinos98 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Turkey, land of high taxes
Posts: 43
well, there is no difference between the reference models, except brands. if you get a different design than reference model, you need to check to see if there is a waterblock for it. cheapest bet would be to check coolingconfigurator.*something* to see. all 7970 would work as long as it is 7970. the DD one had a revision change, and the board changed, so if you get one with 2 DVI ports, its the new one and no one makes full cover blocks for it. any card with 1 DVI port is based on the reference design, meaning it works with any standard 7970 waterblock.

hope this helps!
__________________
MacBook Pro Baseline 13" Early 2011
Asus MX239H
Infinity HCS1& Onkyo TX-DS474
Logitech G19& Cyborg R.A.T. 7 Contagion
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-01-13, 09:43 PM
Cloudie Cloudie is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 39
Alright.. cheers mate! So your idea would be go geat a cheap reference model for the second cpu (like the xfx)?
The sapphire does have a dual bios even though everything else seems exactly the same. Is there any difference in overclock potential on the xfx (like I see at some places) or just the exact same gpu with a different sign/cooler
__________________
Intel i7 3770k @ 4.5Ghz / 1.25 vCore | Asus Maximus V Gene | 8GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2400mhz C10 | Sapphire HD 7970 | MSI 7970 | 120GB Crucial M4 SSD | 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3 | Corsair AX 750| Corsair 600t |

Liquid Cooled with Alphacool ST30 360mm | Alphacool Monsta 360mm | Swiftech MCP35X | CPU / GPU EK CSQ full water blocks | Bitspower Blacksparkle fittings
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-01-13, 10:23 PM
barkinos98 barkinos98 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Turkey, land of high taxes
Posts: 43
no problem, and yes, getting a cheap reference gpu would be way easier on your side. about the overclock, its all up to your luck, some are golden but some are just impossible (not literally) to overclock. but, i see your card is reference too, so keep in mind that mostly any card with 1 DVI slot=reference models. XFX has 2 revisions of the same card, and the one with 2DVI has a different layout which creates problems, EK made a press release type of thing for that.
__________________
MacBook Pro Baseline 13" Early 2011
Asus MX239H
Infinity HCS1& Onkyo TX-DS474
Logitech G19& Cyborg R.A.T. 7 Contagion
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-01-13, 12:28 AM
seumasbeathan seumasbeathan is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Isle Of Lewis
Posts: 3,488
With crossfire it really doesn't matter what brand it is or anything, in fact you can even crossfire some different cards, but I would still go for the same card for one reason, it looks much better
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-01-13, 03:21 PM
dugdiamond's Avatar
dugdiamond dugdiamond is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Under a rock
Posts: 4,690
amd vs nvidia

nvidia in sli = they have to be the same card
amd in xfire = they can be different brands, but must have the same specs

(note: custom firmwares (bioses) can be flashed to some GPU cards to fix this issue)
__________________
Prepare for the worst. Assume losing. Then... if the opposite occurs... BONUS!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-01-13, 10:12 PM
PittPyro's Avatar
PittPyro PittPyro is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pittsburgh,USA
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugdiamond View Post
amd vs nvidia

nvidia in sli = they have to be the same card
amd in xfire = they can be different brands, but must have the same specs

(note: custom firmwares (bioses) can be flashed to some GPU cards to fix this issue)

Wow thanks for the info Dug...I did not know that about nvidia cards. I always just thought that the cards just had to be the same chip and memory config....I was unaware that they also had to be the same manufacture.
Never came across that situation in any of the builds I have done as I always just used two of the same cards from the start. I never started with one and later upgraded.
Always nice to learn new things and useful too
Thanks
__________________
I5 2500k (4.6ghz)/EVGA z68 FTW/8gigs Ripjaw X 2133/two MSI GTX560TI 2gd5 in SLI(1000MHz)/Kingwin Lazer 1000w PSU/Antec p280/Corsair Hydro h80/ 3dmark 11 score P9569



PC pic
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:51 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.