Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Rig Gallery
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 19-03-17, 08:11 PM
BigDaddyKong's Avatar
BigDaddyKong BigDaddyKong is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 849
Ryzen 1800X Back to Simplicity

I started with custom water back on my 3770K because AIO's did not do what I wanted. After 4 years of upgrades part swaps and tinkering, this is what I had.





With things like an Aquaero 6 fan controller, built in flow meters, temp probes, and other novelties I had picked up along the way it became a nightmare. The rear of the case was a fight to keep closed. Water tubing almost kinked off in places. So it was time to clear out the mess and get back to basics.

Here's Ryzen





I decided to stay with the 900D I was already using,along with the XSPC 360mm rad and dual D5 bay res and Corsair HX 1000 power supply.





I did end up going with Gskill Trident Z 3200mhz CAS 14 memory.

While doing battle with disassembly, I received this battle scar.



Should I go on Twitter and start a go fund me because I need a specialist, because I might become septic

By the time I was done, this is how it turned out.



I installed a fill port on the top of the bay res. I installed a drain port on the CPU block. I don't know how well you can make out the ball valve coming off a 90 below the block in port. I also used 45's on the rad. The back fitting had to be dropped down with a T fitting with a plug in the end to get clearance for the fan. Later I can add a temperature plug going to the mobo if I want. I even deleted the BR drive. I did not get picks of the back of the case. But all the wiring is tight and neat. The rear of the case went on without a bit of fuss. Before it was bulging, and a general fight to keep it on. The new loop was so simple to fill and get the air out of in less than 2 minutes.

I will admit, mobo fan control is no where near the level of having an Aquaero fan controller. I do miss it, but I am adjusting. The level of control is just ridiculous with an Aquaero.

With less tubing, the pumps are super quiet now. I did notice, I had lost some of the rubber feet on two the case legs. I could not figure out why I was getting such echos on my desk setup when I moved it in here. Once I figure it out, and slipped a couple old mouse pads under it, super quiet now. There are no platter drives in this system. Only 2 ssd's for a boot drive and software drive.

The only other things I want to do is replace the rear fan, get an internal USB hub and eventually replace the HX1000. It's starting to get long in the tooth at about 8 years old.

__________________
AMD R7 1800X-Asus Crosshair VI Hero-16GB GSkill 3200mhz-Corsair HX1000-XSPC Raystorm Copper Edition-Dual D5 Pumps-Corsair Force 3 SSD-Sapphire Fury X2-Corsair 900D-Windows 10 Pro-Dell U3011-Dell 2007FP
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19-03-17, 08:58 PM
Reloaded2's Avatar
Reloaded2 Reloaded2 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 468
I'm loving it (nice to see a new AMD build). I think if you used hardline (acrylic) red tubing and custom extensions for the GPU, 8pin and 24 pin with grips it will make it look better with little effort Also why are the gpu cards slanted (it just might be the photo though)?


Anyways its an awesome look nevertheless.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-03-17, 09:11 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 9,376
Nice to see a new AMD Rig.

Have you been able to overclock your CPU yet? I would be interested in hearing what your thermals and voltages are like.
__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-03-17, 09:59 PM
Tolemac's Avatar
Tolemac Tolemac is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Bonkersville.UK
Posts: 2,091
I'm Looking forward into seeing how well Ryzen evolves over time good stuff buddy
__________________

Build Log: http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=72241

STEAM ID: http://steamcommunity.com/id/Tolemac/

“If you knew the magnificence of the three, six and nine, you would have a key to the universe.” – Nikola Tesla
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19-03-17, 10:59 PM
BigDaddyKong's Avatar
BigDaddyKong BigDaddyKong is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 849
I could use hard line in the future with not too much trouble.

The GPU's are straight, just an optical illusion. Won't do PSU extensions, I will custom sleeve or buy colored cables when I get a PSU. No sense in adding extra resistance to the PSU.
__________________
AMD R7 1800X-Asus Crosshair VI Hero-16GB GSkill 3200mhz-Corsair HX1000-XSPC Raystorm Copper Edition-Dual D5 Pumps-Corsair Force 3 SSD-Sapphire Fury X2-Corsair 900D-Windows 10 Pro-Dell U3011-Dell 2007FP
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20-03-17, 10:44 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 6,488
I'm totally and utterly sick of hardline, so kudos for using flex. It's been done to death and back.

It also makes life a serious pain. With hard line for example you absolutely must drain the loop to change a CPU. With flex you just undo the cpu block, move it out of the way etc etc.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Manners cost nothing, but a lack of them will cost you everything.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20-03-17, 12:47 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 2,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
I'm totally and utterly sick of hardline, so kudos for using flex. It's been done to death and back.

It also makes life a serious pain. With hard line for example you absolutely must drain the loop to change a CPU. With flex you just undo the cpu block, move it out of the way etc etc.
Not a big problem with draining a loop if you have a proper drain port. You just drain, unpop the two tubs on the cpu block and replace.

My builds these days are hard tube for the visible parts and flexi for all the background noise and hidden goings on. It's a nice blend
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20-03-17, 12:56 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 6,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
Not a big problem with draining a loop if you have a proper drain port. You just drain, unpop the two tubs on the cpu block and replace.

My builds these days are hard tube for the visible parts and flexi for all the background noise and hidden goings on. It's a nice blend
It is when it costs you £20 to fill the loop. Draining a rig is a messy PITA.

All of my fave builds over the past few months have used soft tubing. I just think it looks far more organic than hard line.





^example.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Manners cost nothing, but a lack of them will cost you everything.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20-03-17, 08:09 PM
BigDaddyKong's Avatar
BigDaddyKong BigDaddyKong is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 849
Thank you.
__________________
AMD R7 1800X-Asus Crosshair VI Hero-16GB GSkill 3200mhz-Corsair HX1000-XSPC Raystorm Copper Edition-Dual D5 Pumps-Corsair Force 3 SSD-Sapphire Fury X2-Corsair 900D-Windows 10 Pro-Dell U3011-Dell 2007FP
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20-03-17, 10:51 PM
Chrazey's Avatar
Chrazey Chrazey is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
It is when it costs you £20 to fill the loop. Draining a rig is a messy PITA.

All of my fave builds over the past few months have used soft tubing. I just think it looks far more organic than hard line.





^example.
You got a link for them or so? Maybe you could PM me?... Cause I'm starting to eye ball them
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 03:25 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.