Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Storage Mediums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 21-05-18, 10:29 AM
Daiyus's Avatar
Daiyus Daiyus is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 518
Spare 60/120GB SSD - Worth using as a cache?

I'll be upgrading one of my boot drives soon so I'll be reshuffling the remaining disks around my various systems leaving me a spare 60GB or 120GB 2.5" SSD depending on what I decide.


Is it worth using this as a cache for my 3TB HDD in my gaming rig? I've already got a decent SSD in there as dedicated gaming SSD storage so it's not like I need it for traditional storage purposes.

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-05-18, 10:57 AM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,134
Probably not, unless your on Ryzen+ with Store MI
__________________
ASUS Prime x370 Pro | Ryzen 5 1600 | Antec 240 AIO | Corsair Vengance RGB 3000 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-05-18, 11:01 AM
Daiyus's Avatar
Daiyus Daiyus is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 518
Ryzen 1600 on X370 unfortunately, but thank you. Oh well. Not like I've lost anything. Spare boot drives are never a bad thing. I had a situation last year where one drive died and I was running my HTPC on a 5400RPM 2.5" HDD. It was a painful couple of weeks (hence grabbing a dirt cheap 60GB SSD). It's surprising how quickly we have started to take SSD speeds for granted.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:30 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.