Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 28-07-16, 01:28 PM
Gorminator Gorminator is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Denmark Silkeborg
Posts: 50
motherboard vendor

Hello

I have been an asus man for about 4 years now, i have been really happy about there motherboards all around.
But i always find that one bug that is irritating, so thinking about trying something new.
The one feature i like about Asus mobo is Fanxpert and i dont know if any other vendor has as good fan control as the one found on an asus board.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28-07-16, 10:13 PM
Kilbane's Avatar
Kilbane Kilbane is offline
Hagrid Look-A-Like
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Abergavenny, S.Wales
Posts: 1,247
What issue do you find with the Asus boards?
__________________
I'm not a Geek! ..... I'm an intellectual BADASS!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-07-16, 07:03 AM
Gorminator Gorminator is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Denmark Silkeborg
Posts: 50
My rampage V extreme, had some problems with boot, tried 2 set of ram and 2 cpus, and found out it was an usb issue with the chipset.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-07-16, 09:36 AM
Excalabur50's Avatar
Excalabur50 Excalabur50 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,521
Have a look at the MSI X99 Pro Carbon or if you want something a bit different the MSI X99 Titanium if you want a change
__________________
DRAGON'S MIST
Coolermaster H500P White ARGB=AMD Ryzen 5950X=MSI Prestige X570 Creation=Intel Optane SSD 9 480GB PCIE=32gig 3600Mhz White Dom Plats RGB= MSI 6800XT Gaming X Trio=Coolermaster ML360R ARGB=MSI Optix MPG341CQR=Roccat AIMO 122=Corsair Force LS 960GB=Roccat Kone AIMO White=EVGA Supernova 850 G2=White Sennheiser Game One=NZXT Hue+ with RBG strip=Windows 10 Pro=Thrustmaster T16000M HOTAS=MSI Agility GD60 RGB Mousepad=Chasepower Pure Sinewave UPS
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-08-16, 08:15 AM
Gorminator Gorminator is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Denmark Silkeborg
Posts: 50
To update on this, i tried an Asus strix X99 with an 6850k did not work at all got alot of Bios error codes, so now i am trying an X99A pro gaming Carbon

it can be the procosser there is something wrong with but its rare to be that
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-08-16, 11:13 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 21,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gorminator View Post
To update on this, i tried an Asus strix X99 with an 6850k did not work at all got alot of Bios error codes, so now i am trying an X99A pro gaming Carbon

it can be the procosser there is something wrong with but its rare to be that

Update the BIOS.

In all honesty the Asus X99 stuff is by far the best right now. If you find stuff that annoys you with asus you find more with the other brands.
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-08-16, 11:47 AM
Gorminator Gorminator is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Denmark Silkeborg
Posts: 50
I did update the bios to the newste version did not work, but i think the board was doa, i tried with the MSI board yester day, worked just fine.

So I think that asus board had worked just aswell, but i must say that the msi board did surprice me, it´s fast and works great, the only thing im gonna miss is Fanxpert, but i am trying to use Fanspeed right now and its harder to use but works.

So i will try to have this MSI board for some time
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:12 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.