Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Off Topic > Off Topic Chat
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #11641  
Old 31-08-21, 01:11 PM
23RO_UK's Avatar
23RO_UK 23RO_UK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 234
Yes I'm having a bit of a spending spree lately...



I dropped on a Gigabyte M27Q Monitor, 170Hz IPS panel with built in KVM switch, it arrived literally as I'm just about to leave for work *eyes roll*, the monitor arm hopefully arrives tomorrow

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11642  
Old 31-08-21, 07:54 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 15,124
I did it, I finally did it, I went all out on this one.... RDR2


__________________
= Steam/Origin/Uplay - Dicehunter =
Reply With Quote
  #11643  
Old 31-08-21, 11:12 PM
Greenback's Avatar
Greenback Greenback is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,481
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
I did it, I finally did it, I went all out on this one.... RDR2


Spend more time looking at the scenery than playing the game

Addition to my life changes



first time riding in 12 years or so, took it easy and went for a couple of miles at a steady pace
__________________
CASE: NZXT H440 white
CPU: RYZEN7 3700x, H100i GTX
MB: Gigabyte x570
RAM: 2x 8GB CORSAIR VENGENCE LED
GPU: Gigabyte white 2070
OS: CRUCIAL MX100 250GB
PSU: Corsair Rm850x
Reply With Quote
  #11644  
Old 02-09-21, 12:52 PM
23RO_UK's Avatar
23RO_UK 23RO_UK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by 23RO_UK View Post
Yes I'm having a bit of a spending spree lately...



I dropped on a Gigabyte M27Q Monitor, 170Hz IPS panel with built in KVM switch, it arrived literally as I'm just about to leave for work *eyes roll*, the monitor arm hopefully arrives tomorrow
And now installed, I dropped on a new lamp to (pictured).



Plus some new padding for the derrière

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11645  
Old 02-09-21, 02:33 PM
Damien c Damien c is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North West UK
Posts: 1,669
Quote:
Originally Posted by 23RO_UK View Post
Yes I'm having a bit of a spending spree lately...



I dropped on a Gigabyte M27Q Monitor, 170Hz IPS panel with built in KVM switch, it arrived literally as I'm just about to leave for work *eyes roll*, the monitor arm hopefully arrives tomorrow
Still trying to figure out if I want a new monitor myself or not.

I have a 32" Acer 1440p 165Hz G-Sync but it's not HDR and people keep telling me I am missing out because "It's the best thing to ever happen to gaming" problem is I am not willing to pay the Asus tax for a monitor that probably will only last 1 or 2 years before the panel fails or psu fails as per my experience with Asus monitors.

Most monitor's that I can find that are 32" 1440p, G-Sync or Freesync and 144Hz or above are either not HDR or HDR10 which apparently is not even HDR.

It's a minefield.

I wouldn't mind a 32" 1440p or 4K 144Hz or 165Hz G-Sync or G-Sync Compatable HDR 600 or HDR 1000 monitor but apparently they don't exist unless you pay Asus I believe nearly £2k unless I have missed a monitor or two.
__________________
Gaming PC: AMD 5950X, 32GB Corsiar DDR4, EVGA 3080Ti, Samsung 980 Pro 1TB NVME

Server PC: 2700x, 16GB Corsair DDR4, MSI GTX 1660Ti, Gigabyte 120Gb M.2, Crucial 240Gb SSD, WD Blue 500Gb SSD, 2x Seagate 6Tb HDD's

Reply With Quote
  #11646  
Old 02-09-21, 03:33 PM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,103
You shouldn't buy into something because of peer pressure, at the very least get to experience a demo somewhere or at a friend and only then decide if you want that or not.


I don't think HDR is really worth the added costs, not yet anyway, it should get cheaper before i would invest in it, just like IPS technology back in the day.
__________________
Rig: Cpu: AMD R7 3700X. Mobo: Gigabyte X470 Aorus Gaming 7 wifi. Ram: Gskill Royal Silver 3200mhz cl16: Gpu: Msi RTX2070 Armor. Asus Xonar STX II.
Reply With Quote
  #11647  
Old 02-09-21, 03:46 PM
Damien c Damien c is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North West UK
Posts: 1,669
I have a 4k "HDR10" tv and whilst some HDR content looks good, other HDR content looks garbage, but then I see it on a friends LG tv and it looks amazing.

The main issue is I don't want to spend a lot on a monitor if I get a new one because I am looking at possibly going for a new car at the end of November or January and I am still trying to decide between a BMW 330D, M3, 530D, M5, 335D or 535D or Mustang.

So if I decide on a new monitor and it's "Expensive" then I will have less to put down as a deposit for the car, since I won't be trading my current car in since I will only get about £800 to £1k as trade in but will get between £3k to £4k as a private sale.
__________________
Gaming PC: AMD 5950X, 32GB Corsiar DDR4, EVGA 3080Ti, Samsung 980 Pro 1TB NVME

Server PC: 2700x, 16GB Corsair DDR4, MSI GTX 1660Ti, Gigabyte 120Gb M.2, Crucial 240Gb SSD, WD Blue 500Gb SSD, 2x Seagate 6Tb HDD's

Reply With Quote
  #11648  
Old 02-09-21, 05:51 PM
23RO_UK's Avatar
23RO_UK 23RO_UK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 234
@Damien c @Dark NighT

My principal reasons for buying the M27Q were -
  • It's price (at the time of purchase), I paid £259.98 for it.
  • It's 170Hz refresh rate.
  • It's response time (in reviews it's around the 4.5ms mark as opposed to the advertised 1ms).
  • The panel itself punches well above it's price tag (if I recall correctly it's a Sharp).
  • The built in KVM switch.

To be honest, it's HDR credentials didn't even enter the equation on my part as they are strictly entry level.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11649  
Old 04-09-21, 09:47 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 15,124
Corsair 5000D Airflow in white, Replacing my 680X, Nice looking case but non existent airflow at the front and a little too small internally, Also whoever designed the front dust filter on the 680X did a terrible job considering you need to half disassemble your build to get at the filter to clean it.



__________________
= Steam/Origin/Uplay - Dicehunter =
Reply With Quote
  #11650  
Old 05-09-21, 02:44 PM
trawetSluaP's Avatar
trawetSluaP trawetSluaP is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 893
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Corsair 5000D Airflow in white, Replacing my 680X, Nice looking case but non existent airflow at the front and a little too small internally, Also whoever designed the front dust filter on the 680X did a terrible job considering you need to half disassemble your build to get at the filter to clean it.



Having switched to a 5000D recently I can confirm it's a VERY nice case with plenty of airflow which leads to great temps.
__________________
5000D | R7-5800X | X570 Tomahawk | Dominator Platinum 32GB | RTX 2080 FE | 960 Pro 512GB | EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2 | ViewSonic XG270QG| Custom Watercooling Loop + Aquaero 6 XT

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 11:59 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.